Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-11, 02:24 PM   #37
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Netflix Rant

You want convenience get a real os and an HDMI cable and it works without all these heartaches.

Some would say things like Magical, or Innovative.. Oh wait thats the stupid sh!t mac cult members say...
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 02:50 PM   #38
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Netflix Rant

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
It's kind of a stupid process IMO. Why have a device that is "Netflix Capable" or whatever, but can't browser the instant playable movies/TV shows? Not well thought out.

Plus, I need something easy for my wife to just hit "Watch Movies" on the Harmony remote, pick a movie or TV show, then watch it. Something EASY. Yes, going on my laptop and picking something out is easy for me, but not for her.
you do realize that by having a pc of any kind hooked up to the TV, it will always be complicated?
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 02:52 PM   #39
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Netflix Rant

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon12 View Post
You want convenience get a real os and an HDMI cable and it works without all these heartaches.

Some would say things like Magical, or Innovative.. Oh wait thats the stupid sh!t mac cult members say...
I do have HDMI on my HTPC and I use it. I'm going back to my Win7 build and just use MCE for the meantime.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942 View Post
you do realize that by having a pc of any kind hooked up to the TV, it will always be complicated?
But using anything else I have is a crap option, aka Nintendo Wii or BR Player.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 02:55 PM   #40
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Netflix Rant

that's quite the pickle....
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 03:00 PM   #41
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Netflix Rant

For anyone who has Windows MC on Win7, can you just browse the Netflix library or do you have to use the "Instant Queue" from your PC or laptop first?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 03:01 PM   #42
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Netflix Rant

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
For anyone who has Windows MC on Win7, can you just browse the Netflix library or do you have to use the "Instant Queue" from your PC or laptop first?
cant you test that with windows in boot camp?
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-11, 06:38 PM   #43
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Netflix Rant

Just tried Netflix with Win 7 MC and yes you can search and everything with it, no need to add anything to the queue. Works pretty well too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 12:37 AM   #44
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Netflix Rant

I stream netflix through my 360, works like charm. I've yet to try it on my ps3, and probably will not as I've got it going through my 360 already.

I've heard there is netflix for wii (or it is coming soon).
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-11, 07:36 AM   #45
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Netflix Rant

You might want to check it out on your PS3 just for the 1080P and 5.1 on some movies. It's supposed to be coming to other devices eventually, hopefully the 360 will get it soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 09:07 AM   #46
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
I stream netflix through my 360, works like charm. I've yet to try it on my ps3, and probably will not as I've got it going through my 360 already.

I've heard there is netflix for wii (or it is coming soon).
I use it on my wii all the time.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-11, 08:40 AM   #47
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Netflix Rant

I put my Win7 HDD back into my HTPC, fired up and ran some updates. Now that I'm using Boxee, Netflix works like a charm! Wifey and I watched "Up" last night and it did very well, didnt stutter or jump once. Boxee FTW.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-11, 09:29 AM   #48
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Netflix Rant

So after a weekend of actually having some free time, I've found that Netflix streaming selection is EXTREMELY poor. I'm also NOT willing to pay $10/month to wait on ONE DVD in the freakin snail mail. I'm highly disappointed in Netflix. Don't see why it's so popular, especially when I have a Redbox in town. $1 rentals and it's a decent selection. Yeah, there's no TV show stuff, but I can deal.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.