Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-11, 08:00 PM   #1
redbalrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Post PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

Hi

Sorry if I have posted in the wrong board.

I'm just wondering if anyone can help me.

I have my PS3 and my desktop PC connected to my Monitor using an HDMI Switcher (as the monitor only has one HDMI Port). It all works fine, I get audio and video from both the PS3 and PC. (I have my speakers connected to the jack on my Monitor so I get sound)

However, randomly the signal will just cut out - the picture disappears and so does the sound. The signal is restored about 5-10 seconds later.

I returned the Switcher to the store thinking it could be faulty, but the new Switcher does exactly the same thing, and the store's tests concluded that the original Switcher was not faulty.

I am just wondering if anyone has any insight into this, could it be my setup is not compatible with the switcher? Or something else?

Thanks
redbalrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-11, 06:58 AM   #2
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

It could be one or more of your HDMI cables. I had exactly the same issue with my PS3 and TV. For 8 months, I thought there was something wrong with my AV amp as I was getting random dropouts as you describe.

It wasn't until I moved my PS3 upstairs to connect to my PC monitor and witnessed the same dropout, that I tried a different HDMI cable. It stopped the dropouts immediately.

I since ordered some better quality cables and have had no issues since.

Hope that helps
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-11, 06:34 PM   #3
redbalrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlakMagnet View Post
It could be one or more of your HDMI cables. I had exactly the same issue with my PS3 and TV. For 8 months, I thought there was something wrong with my AV amp as I was getting random dropouts as you describe.

It wasn't until I moved my PS3 upstairs to connect to my PC monitor and witnessed the same dropout, that I tried a different HDMI cable. It stopped the dropouts immediately.

I since ordered some better quality cables and have had no issues since.

Hope that helps
Thanks

I have no spare HDMI cables, so I will need to purchase some new ones. How much should I spend on one? I need 3metre ones I believe.
I currently have the cheapest ones the store was selling. Could it be that they are cheap and nasty?
redbalrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-11, 06:35 PM   #4
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

Go here for cables www.monoprice.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-11, 07:21 AM   #5
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
Go here for cables www.monoprice.com
And pick the HDMI cables that are rated for High Speed.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-11, 11:35 AM   #6
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

The cables I ordered are : here

These cables have been great and are a lot better quality than the ones I had.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-11, 01:12 PM   #7
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: PS3 + PC into Monitor via HDMI Switcher = Random Signal Drop

@redbalrog: Any luck? Would be good to know if that helped or not
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.