Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-11, 01:03 AM   #1
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Hey there fellow nvnewsers... I've been playing BC2 for a long time, and i always have struggled with the performance in this game. I upgraded from a E8400 to a Q9550 in order to get better framerates. I did not, and i've always been playing the game with 20 - 30 fps on maps like Arica, Panama, Atacama and Oasis... Today i took some time to check the CPU usage in the performance tab in Task manager, and i saw that my forth core was working at 90% while my other 3 cores were around 50 - 60% while playing. So i figured to try and disable the fourth core, said and done.. And back ingame and Baaah, what a difference, did 3 fast benchmarks on 3 minutes each in Arica with Fraps and the average fps was over 50 on all 3 benchmarks. . . So, if you like me got performance issues using the intel quad Q9 series, try it out. It might be a difference between night and day.

That's all i wanted to share. Thanks for reading
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 01:28 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

nice dude. keep up with the rape.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 01:34 AM   #3
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

I pwn hard with the SVU, but they keep calling me cheater on them european servers, especially germans , same when i go UMP rage. always ending on at least 2-3 K/DR with over 40 kills, and i never use to camp with the SVU, i use sensors and rush em butts along with my 2x Platina revolver. Gotta love teh revolver in this game.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 01:37 AM   #4
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

sensors are SO SO useful, especially when you are one of the few good players on a team, and you can't rely on people.

Set charge, put C4 on it, run away, and throw motion mine. as soon as people are running to diffuse, boom.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 01:48 AM   #5
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Weird I have the same CPU usage but get 30-60fps, more in Vietnam. My 4th core is always maxed out. I'll disable it trow just to see what happenS
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 05:29 AM   #6
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

I know its a dumb question but: How do you choose which core to disable? :O
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:00 AM   #7
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow_Nest View Post
I know its a dumb question but: How do you choose which core to disable? :O
in task manager within process tab.
right click on process, set affinity.
select threads you want to use.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 08:54 AM   #8
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret View Post
Hey there fellow nvnewsers... I've been playing BC2 for a long time, and i always have struggled with the performance in this game. I upgraded from a E8400 to a Q9550 in order to get better framerates. I did not, and i've always been playing the game with 20 - 30 fps on maps like Arica, Panama, Atacama and Oasis... Today i took some time to check the CPU usage in the performance tab in Task manager, and i saw that my forth core was working at 90% while my other 3 cores were around 50 - 60% while playing. So i figured to try and disable the fourth core, said and done.. And back ingame and Baaah, what a difference, did 3 fast benchmarks on 3 minutes each in Arica with Fraps and the average fps was over 50 on all 3 benchmarks. . . So, if you like me got performance issues using the intel quad Q9 series, try it out. It might be a difference between night and day.

That's all i wanted to share. Thanks for reading
This was the fix for the BF BC2 stutter way back before they confirmed and fixed it. I worked with Manuel from Nvidia on this for months before someone found it. The CPU multi-core optimizations were causing the issues in BF BC2 and MOH.

So... are you using old drivers?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-11, 09:08 AM   #9
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
nice dude. keep up with the rape.
Camporz?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 04:46 PM   #10
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

hmm I wonder if this would be a issue with a Q6600? Even with my 6970 I feel like my frames should be higher...
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:25 PM   #11
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

people still play Battlefield BC2? They haven't released BC 4 yet?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 07:10 PM   #12
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Bad FPS in BC2 with Intel's Q9xxx quads? Try THIS!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DansFace View Post
hmm I wonder if this would be a issue with a Q6600? Even with my 6970 I feel like my frames should be higher...
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.