Old 02-01-11, 10:34 AM   #1
WeReWoLf

Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Considering Watercooling

Looking to cool CPU + 2 480's with the following gear:

XSPC Rasa RX360 Water Cooling Kit

XSPC RX240 Radiator

EK-FC480 GTX Waterblocks x2

Bitspower G1/4 Black Diamond 1/2 ID Fittings x6 (For the GPU Waterblocks and extra Rad)

Spare Tubing 1/2 ID 1 metre

CoolerMaster 120mm SickleFlow (For the 2nd Rad)

Swiftech HydrX Coolant x2

Total Price with shipping: $521 AUD

Seeing as I'm new to this, and still doing my research at the moment, are there any suggestions or changes I can make? The price of the XSPC RX360 kit made me intrigued, and I'm after reducing fan noise over cooling at the moment. Also very limited in choices outside of paying for imports and import tax on computer hardware.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-11, 12:27 PM   #2
XDanger
Whaaat?

Default Re: Considering Watercooling

Buy quieter graphics cards (swap them for a GTX590) and quieter fans for your megahalems

unhelpful sorry but this is my feeling on water cooling, You'll still need fans for it and you have 2 unnecessarily hot graphics cards in one loop I think the tubing might melt.

If the block is 2011 compatible then you have a point there but the blocks for the 480's is just throwing money away.
Old 02-01-11, 12:48 PM   #3
Roadhog
Resident Alien

basically, You need at least a 360 rad for the gpus, and at least a 240 for cpu.

Id skip the kit though and buy a decent pump and res.

Also, distilled water with a silver kill coil makes the best coolant.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 08:01 AM   #4
WeReWoLf

Can't purchase Silver Coils in Australia from the looks of it, So importing it will be.

As to the 480 Blocks not being worth it? I can't see myself upgrading GPU's for another year at the very least.
Old 02-02-11, 08:28 AM   #5
grey_1

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf View Post