Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-06-11, 04:00 PM   #1
jma

Default Status of RT-patch?

What is the current status of the nvidia module regarding the RT-patch? Will it support patch-2.6.33.7.2-rt30?

Could we have a sticky or some mentioning about this somewhere?
jma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 06:52 AM   #2
coin-op-console

Default Re: Status of RT-patch?

The 256.52 driver from this ppa:

https://launchpad.net/~falk-t-j/+archive/lucid

Works very well with the 2.6.33-6-rt kernel once published in this ppa:

https://launchpad.net/~bojo42/+archive/rt/+packages

I've no knowledge on the 2.6.33-7-rt status though. My setup for realtime audio is:

2.6.38-rc2-lowlatency kernel, nvidia 270 beta drivers. No problems and extra xruns so far.
I hope I've been of some help. Cheers!
coin-op-console is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 10:31 AM   #3
zander
NVIDIA Corporation

On a related note: although NVIDIA does not currently support real-time kernels, I can offer some related advice.

If your application is latency-sensitive (which it presumably is), then you may want to load the NVIDIA kernel module with the NVreg_UpdateMemoryTypes kernel module parameter set to 0 in future driver releases. This will force the driver to use write-back cacheable system memory allocations only, and avoid heavy-weight cache flushes at allocation time. The option is accepted by shipping drivers, but due to a missing optimization, they perform the offending cache flushes anyway. I can provide a patch, if you're interested. You may also want to request use of the highest p-state via the control panel.

I've used a combination of these two settings with good success using 195.36.xx at home (on a system controlling a high-precision CNC router via emc2).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 11:37 AM   #4
jma

coin-op-console,