Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-11, 04:54 AM   #1
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Had some initial troubles with RAM and random freezing (as in hard freeze), i read up the asus forums, seems like it is common not just on asus boards.

Good news is, after digging around, disabling the c12/c3/c6, clear cmos/battery reset fixed it for me..

although for some odd reason its running at 3.5ghz...but temps are on 40C after 1hr of bc2/black ops...

BC2 runs so smooooooooooooth!....
black ops i get 150-200fps on nuke town now (they did release a patch today too)

overall its good.

the sound is amazing tho btw....i didn't expect it to be this good
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 05:03 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

change your sig and post pics

congrats!!!
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 05:26 AM   #3
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

ill try to get some pics...the cable management was fun to work with lol...the haf-x is great!..the one thing i did hate on the haf-x was those dam molex connectors for the fans....man i hate molex connectors...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 05:36 AM   #4
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

really? the fans on the 932 had regular connections...
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 05:46 AM   #5
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

it has molex and power from motherboard as well, but i wanted the front of the case to look wire free ><!...

its just the molex connectors are not that tight..the pins inside it are all wobbly so it took sometime to align it and push it in.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 08:26 AM   #6
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
Had some initial troubles with RAM and random freezing (as in hard freeze), i read up the asus forums, seems like it is common not just on asus boards.

Good news is, after digging around, disabling the c12/c3/c6, clear cmos/battery reset fixed it for me..

although for some odd reason its running at 3.5ghz...but temps are on 40C after 1hr of bc2/black ops...

BC2 runs so smooooooooooooth!....
black ops i get 150-200fps on nuke town now (they did release a patch today too)

overall its good.

the sound is amazing tho btw....i didn't expect it to be this good
Now OC that puppy. Mine does 4.2 @ stock volts. And 4.8 with a bump.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 01:21 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 09:34 PM   #8
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
+1
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-08-11, 09:47 PM   #9
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
Had some initial troubles with RAM and random freezing (as in hard freeze), i read up the asus forums, seems like it is common not just on asus boards.

Good news is, after digging around, disabling the c12/c3/c6, clear cmos/battery reset fixed it for me..

although for some odd reason its running at 3.5ghz...but temps are on 40C after 1hr of bc2/black ops...

BC2 runs so smooooooooooooth!....
black ops i get 150-200fps on nuke town now (they did release a patch today too)

overall its good.

the sound is amazing tho btw....i didn't expect it to be this good
Would you happen to have a link? It seems like I'm having memory stability issues using the XMP profile with my ram. I've run P95 at 4.8ghz without issue, and 4.5ghz without issue, but it's had trouble posting even if the CPU was stock. Also had some random crashes so I'm not entirely sure what the issue was yet as obviously the ram should run those settings.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-11, 03:40 AM   #10
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
Would you happen to have a link? It seems like I'm having memory stability issues using the XMP profile with my ram. I've run P95 at 4.8ghz without issue, and 4.5ghz without issue, but it's had trouble posting even if the CPU was stock. Also had some random crashes so I'm not entirely sure what the issue was yet as obviously the ram should run those settings.
ill c if i can find it, i was looking this up during lunch at work lol.

Basically Clear your CMS/Reset Battery.
Set C1E off, c3/c6

Set XMP profile on your memory

Problems fixed for me.

Problems i had were random hardlock freezes in windows, not even under heavyload/etc.
Cold boot can't hold memory settings, keeps resetting to 1333mhz.

I also read on the forum which had a few posts from the asus guys that have a bios out soon that will resolve a lot of these issues.

Auto tune picked 4.1~ and my memory to 1866/c9. i am keeping it stock...well @ 3.5 for now, i want to wait for that bios update, also i need to make sure the system is stable.

Looking great so far tho . Once SSD becomes a good price/size ratio i will grab one...for now its just too much lol

absolutely loving the sound card tho.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-11, 08:48 AM   #11
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
+ Deux
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 01:04 AM   #12
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Computer Up and running :) i72600k

dude i am loving it!!!...

all the encoding stuff in AE/TMPG is sooooooooooo faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaast.

i am also able to fraps in black ops with 60fps with shadows/max quality/etc without a dip in frame rate.

at one point i had black ops running and i didn't even realise it because i had AE doing some encoding files....so glad i went with 8GB of ram!...

i am gonna stick with the 1203 bios from asus, so far i have had no issues with cold boot.

i think the memory cold boot issue is defiantly fixed by simply doing a cmos reset (via batter/jumper).

btw what the hell is c3/c6 states?...

K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.