Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: what should i buy
6970 15 55.56%
560 11 40.74%
edited by dd 1 3.70%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-11, 02:40 PM   #1
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 6970 or 560....

Ordering next friday, 6970 or 560 (xfire/sli) I play everything at 2560x1600 and I have the screens for nv surround or eyefinity.
discuss
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 02:49 PM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

as a single card, 6970 seems very slightly faster

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-review-9.html

this is crossfire/sli

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1488/15/

bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 02:54 PM   #3
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Well, I've heard so many bad things about CrossFire. Single card for AMD seems fine, but CrossFire seems 50/50. Some folk like Roadhog don't have any major issues. Other's have problems left and right. I know many of the problems are likely ignorance/user error. Some, however, are legitimate. And I've never used CrossFire myself but have used SLi quite a bit. So I voted for dual 560s.

HOWEVER, I'd imagine the 6970s would offer greater performance. So if you aren't opposed to CrossFire I'd say 6970s. Honestly, if I had the money to spend I'd do 6970s just to give it a go. If they worked well and didn't give me any issues I'd keep the setup. If they did give me issues I'd sell 'em and go 560 SLi.

So I guess in short this isn't much help. I'd say 6970 CrossFire would offer better performance, and potentially run cooler while consuming less power. But YMMV with CrossFire is what I'd say. SLi seems to be a more solid, refined multi-card solution so you'd probably encounter less issues.

Eh, don't think I helped any.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 02:57 PM   #4
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

lol
thanks though!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 03:02 PM   #5
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Why slawter?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 03:09 PM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath View Post
Why slawter?
Drivers. That's what I was referrin' to. Some people such as Roadhog don't have any issues, others encounter them left and right. I think if you only play mainstream and newer games you'll probably not encounter any problems. Usually it's the less popular or older titles that encounter issues.

I myself ran into a rather frustrating problem. CoD (the original) and MoH:AA won't play on any drivers other than the Cat 10.4s- any newer version and the game errors out when I go to play 'em. Only two titles I've encountered an issue with. I actually started playing many older DOS based games via DOSBox and they all play fine, even older one that support 3D accelleration.

Granted I'm only running single card, and that seems to be on par with nVidia in most cases regarding drivers.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 04:06 PM   #7
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Dual GTX 560's will cost less, and you'll probably have less issues with them as well. The HD 6970's would be faster and last longer though (once they work right). There's no doubt about that.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 04:28 PM   #8
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default

stop talking about me behind my back guys...

I pre-order most of my games, and even play betas... So to say I never play any games right when they are released is just wrong. Lol. All of my cards before my 5870s were nvidia, except for a 9700 pro so I can't say that I ever tried any if those games people have claimed not to work with ati. All I do know is that they do work currently. So there is no need to bring up old issues like that.

yeah, ati drivers used to be ****, key word, used to. Right now you get whql divers monthly, hotfixes when needed, and regular app profiles.

Look at the one person who just bought sli 570s, and is already having issues. Yet just before that they were having issues with ati too. Obviously it want an ati problem. LOL And it probably isn't an nvidia issue either.

Also, I find it hilarious you guys are recommending a 1gb card over a 2gb card for 2560x1600 multi monitors... Fanboys much?
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-11, 04:32 PM   #9
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

My qualms with SLI are this, when I have all 4 screens hooked up (three 2007's and one single 2560) the driver itself will crash or cause a bsod at times depending on what i'm doing graphically. Hence why I want to go to ATI or at least may go ATI to see how well they handle multimonitor setups.
I could go into detail, but can't at the moment as i'm getting ready for work.
Keep in mind before you respond, my rig is stable as hell when using the single 30inch dell; its only when I have the 2007's enabled when I see any sort of trouble and its rare, but it does happen.

EDIT: Also I don't like that I am limited to 3 screens in tri-sli which leaves my setup useless because I have to run one gpu as phsx to power the other two screens. (285 SLI powers a 30in and 20in dell, 1x 285 powers two 20in dells.)
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 04:51 PM   #10
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
as a single card, 6970 seems very slightly faster

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-review-9.html

this is crossfire/sli

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1488/15/

Dude, that Unigine game is the dogs bollocks
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 07:20 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Wish I could get my hands on another 560, then I'd let you know how they do.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-11, 07:45 PM   #12
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Dude, that Unigine game is the dogs bollocks
i just picked a random graph so much hate...
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.