Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-11, 02:36 AM   #1
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default What voltage to use?

Ive got p5n-3 sli Asus motherboard, c2d e6300(1,86) and 2x1gb dual geil Ultra ddr2 800 44412.
I am running all my little oc on stock coolers and temps don'y go more than 70C most the time

BUT! I am experiementing to find a perfect high fsb, voltage, memory stable combination.
Most stable was fsb 1400(2,45ghz), memory 800 44412 1CL... but I want more.

The other highest combination that started was 2,97 (1700fsb)- but it freezes 30sec in windows.


As I moved along I found out that 1600fsb in combination with 800mhz memory, 44412 1CL makes for 2,8ghz, which is less than before but much more stable(now pc freezes only SOMETIMES... like during game or movie)


I am never adjusting voltages tho(leave em on auto). In bios there is Vcore, memory, nb adn offset(i guess these 2 are not important).
the HWmonitor shows vcore at 1,54v on that 2,8

Should I set v myself? what numbers?
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 02:57 PM   #2
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: What voltage to use?

uhh, max temp for that cpu is like 72c...
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 03:03 PM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: What voltage to use?

for 2.8 should be about 1.32 to 1.4 vcore but you shouldn't need to go over 1.47 for an OC under 3.5ghz

Apply a 40mm fan to your northbridge heatsink plugged into a controllable motherboard header or fan controller

once you have the cooling you can set your nb voltage to 1.4 (but check around first)

Start at 2.5ghz with 1.32 vcore and go from there raising the fsb till you don't boot into windows at which time you raise vcore by a notch.


Nothing should be set to manual, find the right setting for everything.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 03:05 PM   #4
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: What voltage to use?

yeah, over 1.5v is cpu killing territory.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-11, 03:41 PM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: What voltage to use?

this would be my 1st port of call if I had a p5n-e
http://www.overclock.net/intel-mothe...0i-thread.html

also can you confirm you are running the ram unlinked?

just checking
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 03:50 AM   #6
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: What voltage to use?

Offcourse. I have it set to unlinked and manually set fsb and memory to 1600, 800
Voltage is at 1,400v in bios. HW monitor shows 1,39-1,40 (But I should go with lowest possible working right? Currently I am trying out 1,32150v and it seems o be stable
Temp in windows 7 32bit desktop is 48-50Celcious per each core
Should I do anything specific with memory or just keep it as I have at 44412 1CL 800 2,085v ?(going to 900 doesnt give me anything else than bsod)

So in order to go higher than 2,8 I need to mount fan onto nb radiator in order to rise voltage to 1,4 ? How do I check what voltage is on nb currently?

and XDanger- Do I really need ZIPPIT's PENCIL MOD? The voltage is just as I set in in bios




Edit: Ive managed to run at 2,98. And before it froze, I could see that fps in 3dmark were actually a little bit lower than on 2,8...
So I think that efficent OC for me right now would be 2,8ghz.
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 06:06 AM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: What voltage to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
So in order to go higher than 2,8 I need to mount fan onto nb radiator in order to rise voltage to 1,4 ? How do I check what voltage is on nb currently?

and XDanger- Do I really need ZIPPIT's PENCIL MOD? The voltage is just as I set in in bios
Is the NB voltage not in the bios? Do some googling (or search that thread I linked) to find out the safe limit, could be 1.5 idk.
but I wouldn't do any more OCíng till you have a fan on there.

Have you looked for vdroop when the CPU is under load?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 09:39 AM   #8
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: What voltage to use?

what is vdroop?

You mean how vcore is chaning when under Load? Yes I did. Ive set it to bios to 1,35v with 2,8 and it goes 1,34-1,37 at max
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-11, 09:56 AM   #9
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: What voltage to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
what is vdroop?

You mean how vcore is chaning when under Load? Yes I did. Ive set it to bios to 1,35v with 2,8 and it goes 1,34-1,37 at max
Here is the technical understanding of it.

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=126

I've heard a variety of things about why it's there. Here is another nice litle discussion from XS.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/....php?p=1729388

I can't remember if it was Vdrop or Vdroop, but I've also heard discussion of needing to have the voltage lower under load so that when the CPU comes back out of load it doesn't overshoot the idle voltage. It looks like they are also talking about vdroop for that as well.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...ml#post4528099

After reading some of the comments in the 2nd link it sounds like in link #3 the issue is mainly caused by cheap components with low regulation. Guessing the issues present in the 3rd entry can be migitaged by having a high end PSU and motherboard. A good scenario I can think of it a cheap PSU that starts out at like 12.5V on the 12V rail and under load falls to 11.7V. Once that is unloaded again there will be a huge increase in voltage. Combine that with some cheap motherboard regulation and it could send the CPU voltage well above what it's set at until it settles back to the correct voltage. By using more vdroop you can cheat and lower the voltage enough so that when this happens it won't cause the current to go above the motherboard settings.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 11:39 AM   #10
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: What voltage to use?

I would get a after market cooler for the CPU,you can find them pretty cheap and that will let you overclock more and not have to worry about your temperture so much.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 12:35 PM   #11
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: What voltage to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
Here is the technical understanding of it.

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=126

I've heard a variety of things about why it's there. Here is another nice litle discussion from XS.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/....php?p=1729388

I can't remember if it was Vdrop or Vdroop, but I've also heard discussion of needing to have the voltage lower under load so that when the CPU comes back out of load it doesn't overshoot the idle voltage. It looks like they are also talking about vdroop for that as well.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...ml#post4528099

After reading some of the comments in the 2nd link it sounds like in link #3 the issue is mainly caused by cheap components with low regulation. Guessing the issues present in the 3rd entry can be migitaged by having a high end PSU and motherboard. A good scenario I can think of it a cheap PSU that starts out at like 12.5V on the 12V rail and under load falls to 11.7V. Once that is unloaded again there will be a huge increase in voltage. Combine that with some cheap motherboard regulation and it could send the CPU voltage well above what it's set at until it settles back to the correct voltage. By using more vdroop you can cheat and lower the voltage enough so that when this happens it won't cause the current to go above the motherboard settings.
Wow thanks. I am not sure if thats soo important with basic overclocking. Iam not doing anything extreme here... Btw. I have quite expensive 450w Chieftec psu.
So basicly I should be able to eliminate fluctuations of vcore ,making cpu more stable under load so It will not lower voltage during high stress?
Where to set this?

And I don't think I need other cooler for cpu. 70'C in stress isnt much. I gotta get 40mm for nb tho
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 01:13 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: What voltage to use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
70'C in stress isnt much
I think it is.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.