Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-03, 12:11 PM   #1
Yuri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default Install nVidia driver for RedHat 9 Desktop Edition

The problem is i cant update my linux nVidea driver cause the RedHat 9 Desktop variant always tries to start in graphic mode. : ((
I have Grub boot loader , but it seems it can not help me to start linux in text mode ?
Does anybody have an idea how to sovle this problem without reinstalling linux in Server variant ,which allows to launch it in both text and graphic modes ?

Thanks in advance
Yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-03, 09:51 PM   #2
Kyloe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brisbane-AU
Posts: 1
Default

Hey there,

I think, Yuri, you need to edit your, "etc/inittab" file, to adjust the "runlevel"*Risk*. I only say this because I do not know the Syntax of GRUB or any other boot loader, but I assume the commands exist for their efficiency as such.
I have read that there's different types of "runlevels" that are dependant on your Unix or Unix-Like OS. I haven't had time to look into this as I have problem priorities(somewhat similar) of my own to sort through, but this is something I stumbled upon and I hope It's a good guide at least:

http://rowa.giso.de/english/runlevel.html.

Best reguards,
Kyloe*9140322201*
Kyloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-03, 11:17 PM   #3
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

what u could do is:
1. boot from redhat CD
2. select the repair option (or something similiar)
3. open the inittab of ur linux, usually it is mounted on a directory.
4. Edit as Kyloe said. (change run level from 5 to 3)
5. reboot
6. fix the VGA driver
7. good luck
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-03, 02:07 AM   #4
AgentOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Smile RedHat 9 desktop edition and NVidia card

The solution to go into runlevel 3 with GRUB is really very simple.

1) Boot into you rnormal graphics mode
2) Login as root
3) Open /etc/inittab with vi or emacs (or your favorite text editor) - must be as root!
4) Edit sysinit default to 3 instead of 5
5) Save the file with the change
6) logout and restart the system
7) it will restart to runlevel 3
8) Loing as root again
9) Run the NVidia driver setup as specified from their site
10) Run the redhat-config-xfree86 tool as root to esnure everything is working
10) you will probably have to check the /etc/X11/XF86Config file to modify it in a text editor as well
11) want to ensure that you are using the proper drivers if you need 3D acceleration under Linux as specified in their readme file
12) That should do it for you.

Good luck!
__________________
Man does not plan to fail, he simply fails to plan.
AgentOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-03, 01:11 PM   #5
JamieDi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default

How would i change the runlevel back/switch into graphical mode once i have installed the driver and am in text mode?

Hope you can help

::JamieDi::
JamieDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-03, 02:09 PM   #6
AgentOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Wink

"How would i change the runlevel back/switch into graphical mode once i have installed the driver and am in text mode?

Hope you can help

::JamieDi::"

Sure, no problem.

To change your runlevel back to Runlevel 5 (Graphical mode), all you need to do is the following:

1) Login as root or use

su - root
(it will ask for your root password)

2) type in the following:

vi /etc/inittab

3) Use your cursor to go to where ther init default level is set to 3 currently, and then press the "INSERT" key

4) This puts you into editing mode in vi

5) type in 5 to replace the 3, be sure not to set it to 53 as that could make a mess of things for you. Delete the 3 if you have to.

6) press the ESCAPE key "ESC". This will end editing in vi

7) type either SHIFT+ZZ or :wq to end vi editing

8) exit from root prompt by typing in exit

9) reboot the machine to verify that everything is now working in runlevel 5

10) If you need help - post a reply and I will get back to you again.
__________________
Man does not plan to fail, he simply fails to plan.
AgentOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-03, 05:36 PM   #7
JamieDi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default

One slight problem...(Thanks for the help so far by the way)

I logged in as root and tyed in vi /etc/inittab yet when the file opened all that was visible was a column of blue '~' filling the page, a bit like this below:
Quote:
~
~
~
~
~
~
(I hope you get the picture)

Whenever i press a cursor key to move down i get a 'system beep', i've looked through the help menu and have found no other help.

Any suggestions? Or any other editors i could try (i'm not sure of the command to launch them).

Hope you can help

::JamieDi::
JamieDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-03, 08:38 PM   #8
AgentOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Default That is strange

Hi Jamie,

that is strange.

try this:

1) cd to the /etc directory

2) type:

ls | more

that is, ls with the pipe (shift + \ key) symbol, then the word more. What this does is list the files in alphabetical order under the /etc directory structure

3) You SHOULD see a file called inittab

spelling and case are important there are two "t"'s in the middle there.

so again, it should be:

vi /etc/inittab

unless you are using something that doesn't have an inittab file, but Red Hat 9 uses inittab as do all previous versions of Red Hat and Mandrake and SuSE and just about any Linux I have run (cannot say for SlackWare or Stampede or many others - there are about 300 distributions out there). Not sure if Gentoo does, but I would imagine it did.

The specific thing you are looking for is the section that is under the default runlevel:

id:3:initdefault:

you need to change the 3 to 5.

I suspect from the picture it wa a typo, but I could be wrong. mis-typed vi sessions will often give you a blank screen like that with the nice little blue tildes that you describe.

No problem for the help - I just hope this does work for you.

Of course, if you have Emacs or jed or Joe or GEdit or pico (though vi should be the one you learn) you could use them too.
__________________
Man does not plan to fail, he simply fails to plan.
AgentOrange is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-07-03, 05:37 AM   #9
JamieDi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Success!

Yes finally, i cd'd into the etc directory and typed vi inittab and it worked, i have a funny feeling i may have mispelt it 'innittab' before which was a little stupid of me!

Thanks for the help

::JamieDi::
JamieDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-03, 10:32 AM   #10
AgentOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Talking Hey! Glad that worked...

Hi Jamie!

Glad to see that it worked for you. That is the thing about Linux, you have to spell things just right or it just gives you something else (like empty files).

I have done that so many times before myself.

Keep learning, it can be a very fun thing. Since you are Using Red Hat (?), you might want to check out:

http://freshrpms.net/

from Matthias Saou, especially apt-rpm and synaptic. There are some great packages there. Matthias does some very nice coding and when you have synaptic running (needs apt-rpm, apt-devel and synaptic rpms) yoou can get some nice extras for your system.

Have fun!
__________________
Man does not plan to fail, he simply fails to plan.
AgentOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-03, 08:07 AM   #11
sphincter
Registered User
 
sphincter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 154
Default

Just a FYI, the easiest way to do this is to logout, switch to a text console, and login as root. Then do:

init 3
rmmod nvidia
update drivers via your preferred method (for me it's nvidia-installer --update)
init 5

Switch back to the GUI and login. No reboot needed.
__________________
It never gets easier, you just go faster. - Greg Lemond
sphincter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-03, 10:28 AM   #12
AgentOrange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Default Easy way doesn't always work

That way does not always work reliably, as RH usually wants you to log out for the changes to take effect with your X server.

The advantage of the reboot is that it avoids the nasty surprise that may occur if you did not accurately make the change via the method you describe. In other words, if you only *think* the change truly occured, then the next reboot may surprise you with a non-working X-server.

Not a knock, it is jut better to learn the underlying system so that you can debug things when they go *wrong* due to a typo or other errors.

Personal preference - not necessarily supported by all.
__________________
Man does not plan to fail, he simply fails to plan.
AgentOrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 08:09 PM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 09:49 AM
Red Hat null(limbo beta 3), guide to install Nvidia Drivers utiel NVIDIA Linux 21 09-30-02 06:32 PM
NVIDIA driver doesn't install successfully on RH 7.3 Sunni NVIDIA Linux 3 08-28-02 03:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.