Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-11, 02:03 PM   #1
tux-gamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: indonesia
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to tux-gamer
Unhappy Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

Hi, I want to ask, what the best setting for GT 240 in Xorg.conf?

I just buy VGA Zotac GT 240 1Gb, and Install Mandriva 2010.2 32bit with Kde 4.4.
when i enable composite, it make KDE goes freeze sometimes.
so i disable composite effect from my kde control center.


but i still have some problem, when i logout from kde, after playing some game (Perfect World Online running with wine, Pcsx emulator, etc),
than i login again, it can make my x server freeze, it could freeze about 2-3 mnt

sometimes it freeze when i restart x server from KDM (KDE Login Manager)

here my Xorg.conf, is there something wrong?
Code:
# File generated by XFdrake (rev )

# **********************************************************************
# Refer to the xorg.conf man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "DontZap" "False" # disable <Ctrl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    #DontZoom # disable <Ctrl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Disable "dri"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "LG"
    ModelName "W1953"
    HorizSync 30-61
    VertRefresh 56-75
    Option "PreferredMode" "1360x768"
    
    # Monitor preferred modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 47.7 kHz hsync, ratio 16/9, 85 dpi)
    ModeLine "1360x768" 85.5 1360 1424 1536 1792 768 771 777 795 +hsync +vsync
    
    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
    
    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_120"  185.67  1368 1472 1624 1880  768 769 772 823  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_100"  151.73  1368 1464 1616 1864  768 769 772 814  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_85"  125.67  1368 1456 1600 1832  768 769 772 807  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_75"  110.19  1368 1456 1600 1832  768 769 772 802  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_60"  85.86  1368 1440 1584 1800  768 769 772 795  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1368x768_50"  69.92  1368 1424 1568 1768  768 769 772 791  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_120"  182.63  1360 1456 1608 1856  765 766 769 820  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_100"  149.22  1360 1456 1600 1840  765 766 769 811  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_85"  124.65  1360 1448 1592 1824  765 766 769 804  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_75"  108.34  1360 1440 1584 1808  765 766 769 799  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_60"  84.40  1360 1424 1568 1776  765 766 769 792  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1360x765_50"  69.34  1360 1416 1560 1760  765 766 769 788  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_120"  161.56  1280 1376 1512 1744  720 721 724 772  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_100"  131.85  1280 1368 1504 1728  720 721 724 763  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_85"  110.01  1280 1360 1496 1712  720 721 724 756  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_75"  95.65  1280 1352 1488 1696  720 721 724 752  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_60"  74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746  -HSync +Vsync
    
    # modeline generated by gtf(1) [handled by XFdrake]
    ModeLine "1280x720_50"  60.47  1280 1328 1456 1632  720 721 724 741  -HSync +Vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "ZOTAC"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce GT240 1GB DDR3"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Modes "1366x760" "1360x765" "1280x720"
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Modes "1366x760" "1360x765" "1280x720"
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Modes "1366x760" "1360x765" "1280x720"
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Modes "1366x760" "1360x765" "1280x720"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    Screen "screen1"
EndSection



My Specs:
- Proc Athlon II X2 260
- Memori DDR2 PC6400 2GB + 2GB
- Motherboard Biostar GF8100 M2+ TE
- Nvidia driver 260.19.36
- kernel 2.6.33.7-server-2mnb


i need advice here

thanks before.
sory for my bad english.
Attached Files
File Type: txt dmesg.txt (36.1 KB, 80 views)
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (12.4 KB, 58 views)
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (28.9 KB, 60 views)
tux-gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-11, 03:32 PM   #2
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

can you read http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 and generate a good report with the debug ( -logverbose 6 ) info as instructed after the issue appears ?
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 04:16 AM   #3
tux-gamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: indonesia
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to tux-gamer
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

thanks for the reply.

i just edited my xorg.conf, i disable line :
Code:
#    Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
#    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals"
then logout from KDE, then from KDM i choose console login.
login as root, and running `nvidia-bug-report.sh`
then login as another user, then run : startx -- -logverbose 6

wow, that awesome way to make X Server Hung, it's just showing Nvidia Logo with artifac error.
i cannot do anything, before when freeze i just wait, or just press Ctrl+Alt+Printscreen+B, it will reboot my sytem.

but Now it's completly Hung, i must press reset button.

i attached nvidia-bug-report.log and Xorg.0.log


Btw, so my Xorg.conf is fine?? thereis nothing to add or change?
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (43.6 KB, 58 views)
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (12.4 KB, 49 views)

Last edited by tux-gamer; 03-02-11 at 04:27 AM. Reason: add more info
tux-gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 04:43 AM   #4
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

I don't see anything wrong reported, when it's frozen you can't go to a VT via CTRL-ALT-F1 , F2, etc and run nvidia-bug-report ?

did you try the latest driver too? 270.29 ? 270.26 ? 270.18 ?
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 12:05 PM   #5
tux-gamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: indonesia
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to tux-gamer
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by Licaon View Post
I don't see anything wrong reported, when it's frozen you can't go to a VT via CTRL-ALT-F1 , F2, etc and run nvidia-bug-report ?

did you try the latest driver too? 270.29 ? 270.26 ? 270.18 ?
yes, its Hung, that command ( startx -- -logverbose 6 ) make my system completly Hung.
before, when i loggout from KDE too KDM then relogin to KDE ( or restart x server with KDM ), it could make Freeze, after 2-3mnt, i still can go to Ctrl+Alt+F1,
But this time, it Hung my system, and in my monitor just showing Nvidia Logo with artifac.

that's why i running first nvidia-bug-report in another virtual terminal, and then running command startx

I'am afraid of using Beta driver, afraid it can do hardware damage to my card.
because this problem not happening if I just stay in KDE or whatever Desktop Manager i use. ( Fyi, IceWM can couse Hung, not freeze like KDE, Gnome or Xfce )

*)NB: btw, if necessary, when my brother visit me, i will try take the video with my brother camcoder.
tux-gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 01:36 PM   #6
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by tux-gamer View Post
I'am afraid of using Beta driver, afraid it can do hardware damage to my card.
i are kidding, right? almost all posters here use or at least test with the latest beta too, and if a hardware problem arises it's not the drivers fault, it can't never be ( yep, not even when the card overheats cause the card cooler NEEDS to be enough to cool the card no matter what load, so if a card overheats and burns it's still a hardware issue and it's covered by the card maker from who you bought it )
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-11, 09:30 PM   #7
tux-gamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: indonesia
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to tux-gamer
Default Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by Licaon View Post
i are kidding, right? almost all posters here use or at least test with the latest beta too, and if a hardware problem arises it's not the drivers fault, it can't never be ( yep, not even when the card overheats cause the card cooler NEEDS to be enough to cool the card no matter what load, so if a card overheats and burns it's still a hardware issue and it's covered by the card maker from who you bought it )
Thanks for the reply.

okey, i will try it tonight, i'am still at workplace right now.
right now, i'am download 270.30 beta.

fyi, i have bad experience with Beta things, it's with Mandriva Beta release, i thinks it's beta 2008 release, it's cause my Sony DVDRW not working, when i press eject button,there's no respone from my DVDRW drive.
try to eject manual, and put disk into DVDRW Drive, it's cannot read it, no respone at all.

I have to update my DVDRW Bios, and i'am Glad, it can make My DVDRW Drive work again.
tux-gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-11, 09:18 AM   #8
tux-gamer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: indonesia
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to tux-gamer
Smile Re: Zotac GT240 1GB + Mandriva 2010.2 32bit , X sometimes freeze

i just got home.

then i change my system to init 3, reboot my system.
install 270.30 beta driver, and try running startx -- -logverbose 6
i don't see nvidia logo like before, just straight to kde.
then try playing game with pcsx2, running about 2 hour.
logout from kde, login again with startx -- -logverbose 6
no nvidia logo again, and i can login to kde just fine.

now i change my system to init 5 again, reboot.
login to kde, playing Game with Pcsx about 30mnt, then logout to KDM, Choose Console Login
login to kde with startx -- -logverbose 6, i don't see nvidia logo again, just straight to kde.
hmmm, looks like no problem.
so i logout again.
restart KDM, then login to kde.

hmm, it's seem no problem now.

i don't know about composite effect problem with kde, i not trying that, too tired of work, and i don't to like it either.

thanks for the help.
i will try composite effect tommorow when i have time.
tux-gamer is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.