Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-11, 12:09 PM   #241
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

still cant login, check connection error, this is splendid

http://www.mycrysis.com/forums/viewt...129156#p129156
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 01:25 PM   #242
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
we dont even know if POM exists in crysis 2 at this point. i wouldnt be surprised if they cut it out entirely
POM shader exists in shader cache and shader pack and textures are prepared for POM with height data. There exists also DX11 shader files. If you wonder how I got access to it I had them sent to me from person with leak since cache pak is small and a structure list for cache folder since it's big and some sample textures and map debug info dumped to logfile. DX11 shading has quite some to give.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 01:27 PM   #243
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio View Post
Does POM work with AF this time or do we need again Xzero to make a shader mod for it? Or is it not working with the demo even if you force it?
Doesnät work in demo as material shaders are locked to medium (1) despite cvar additions to shorcut. Lots of cvars are 'cheatprotected' so they wont work but LODs changes do. Also IIRC their POM should be ready to work with AF and their SSAO now works with mapping unlike previous Crysis games where it canceled out mapping layer.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 02:04 PM   #244
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

The demo is a joke. When you do get into a server, it won't start so you have a people just sitting there waiting.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 02:14 PM   #245
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YodaStar View Post
POM shader exists in shader cache and shader pack and textures are prepared for POM with height data. There exists also DX11 shader files. If you wonder how I got access to it I had them sent to me from person with leak since cache pak is small and a structure list for cache folder since it's big and some sample textures and map debug info dumped to logfile. DX11 shading has quite some to give.
doesnt mean it will be included in the game. crysis 1 had a lot of shaders that were disabled/experimental/not used
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 04:34 PM   #246
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
doesnt mean it will be included in the game. crysis 1 had a lot of shaders that were disabled/experimental/not used
Almost every shader in Crysis was used however some things where commented out. Most where legacy code aswell as replaced inferior rendering methods/shading. Ther though a few shading methods disabled due to unifinished code and perfomance reasons. A few shaders related to skin shading, ice shading, water wave rendering, GI indirect lighting system to that was unfinished. Basically very few things disabled that mather and where not legacy/outdated and inferior. Yes I parsed all shaders for commented sections and disabled code. I got programs for that.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 05:10 PM   #247
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

finally logged in! however the servers seem to be down as everyone is stuck in the lobbies
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 06:59 PM   #248
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

BTW, the game looks good in 3D. All options are locked but there isn't any ghosting at all. Convergence however is a bit low... if only it was a bit higher it would be way better
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-11, 07:15 PM   #249
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

is there anyway to remove mouse acceleration? its really really annoying
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-11, 08:26 PM   #250
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YodaStar View Post
Almost every shader in Crysis was used however some things where commented out. Most where legacy code aswell as replaced inferior rendering methods/shading. Ther though a few shading methods disabled due to unifinished code and perfomance reasons. A few shaders related to skin shading, ice shading, water wave rendering, GI indirect lighting system to that was unfinished. Basically very few things disabled that mather and where not legacy/outdated and inferior. Yes I parsed all shaders for commented sections and disabled code. I got programs for that.
dont expect crysis 2 to look dramatically better in very high mode. the biggest difference, like in crysis 1, will simply be increased lods since god rays are already available. for the most part what you see in the mp demo is what you get.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 04:34 AM   #251
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
dont expect crysis 2 to look dramatically better in very high mode. the biggest difference, like in crysis 1, will simply be increased lods since god rays are already available. for the most part what you see in the mp demo is what you get.
It's actually not. I cant post leaked shader code but the shading that goes by higher settings that are integrated and DX11 is quite step. Difference is big in shading quality. Game also sports settings categories but they are not visible in menu. Even the demo recognises the settings categories (except sys_spec_motionblur 1-4) and aknowledges 'very high' mode in log file but wont load them as they are in 'restricted list' for demo.

Ignoring shading part when talking about 'very high' mode it goes beyond LODs. Water tech used, reflections quality, shadowmap res, POM, amount of particles, lights, shadow casting lightsources, detail layers, PP buffer res and more. You can believe what you want and hope it wont look better in vain but I believe facts as is written in games own config/shader files and I explained some parts in this post.

That said the demo looks fantastic in most regards and then multiplayer looks quite a lot worse than singleplayer. Multiplayer has particle effects, shading, mapping layer use, water type use, light effects, LODs, animation precision quality type (EA 'ANT' for SP) and more scaled back significantly in multiplayer mode.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 04:46 AM   #252
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Crysis 2 demo?

As I remember, you needed DX10 in Crysis 1 to have destructible stuff in the MP. I'm sure SP will be better.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.