Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-11, 03:36 PM   #37
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

Quote:
For our benchmark we ran through Crysis 2's "Battery Park" single-player level on a near-finished build of the game, using in-game scripting to keep the benchmark uniform and repeatable.

Unlike the first game, Crysis 2 doesn't have any graphical sliders or checkboxes to enable. Instead, there are three preset modes: Gamer, Advanced, and Hardcore.
http://www.geforce.com/#/Optimize/Gu...s-2-benchmarks

So they are serious?
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-11, 03:42 PM   #38
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logical View Post
Lack of fps experience is obvious if you truly think that Crysis 2 has better multiplayer gameplay than 'ANY' cod game. But each to their own i guess.
soooo this. lol @ crytek thinking they could possibly do cod better than the people who created it.....
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-11, 03:48 PM   #39
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

I don't think there's anything particularly wrong with that. The thought, that we need another FPS like that on the other hand...
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 05:19 AM   #40
YodaStar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 165
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
Keep this in mind though from article..

Quote:
As Crysis 2 is still in development Electronic Arts and Crytek have asked that we hold off on posting comparative screenshots between the three detail levels,
Quote:
In general, enabling a higher detail level increases shader quality, water detail, motion blur, particle effects, particle effect density, lighting effects, and texture quality, and on Hardcore, dust effects are richer, giving the battlefield an overall grittier feel.
In multiplayer demo most of shading, motionblur, particle effects/density, texture quality is same at any setting.
YodaStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 05:44 AM   #41
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

This is not about graphics, it's about no graphical sliders or checkboxes whatsoever. And they even tried to dodge the question, when asked directly. Apparently, they are considering our reactions to this decision...
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 05:44 PM   #42
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

What the hell did they think ? Maybe someone wants high shaders and motion blur totally off, from what ive seen on forums people think its the worst thing made that u cannot custom set what settings u want its like developers decided what u gonna play and u dont even get info what is applied or not..
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-11, 11:05 PM   #43
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,201
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

Come on guys, Lets simplify. Crytek is a console sell out. And probably EA was all or nothing for a multiplatform release and decided on crytek's behalf to make crysis 2 dx9 on release to speed things up. I have preordered the game and shelving it until dx 11 support comes to light. Would be a nice surprise if it were a day one patch meaning they were working on it since the game went gold or before. Must piss off Nvidia PR because they have been using crysis as a ad campaign for dx 11 based cards mainly the gtx 560 ti.
__________________
gigabyte g1.sniper 5 mb, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel core i7 4790k 4.0 ghz quad core cpu, asus gtx 780 3gb vc,OCZ vector 150 240 gb ssd x 2 in raid 0 (intel raid),antec hcg-850 850 watt 80 plus bronze psu,corsair carbide 500r white case,pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,seiki 39 inch 4k tv, logitech g502 mouse ,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,kingston 8gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sound blaster zxr pci-e sc,logitech s120 2.0 speakers

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-11, 11:27 PM   #44
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

I don't see the big shock here. Crytek didn't mention DX11 this whole time, and was pretty mum about the graphical settings/quality on PC.

That being said, I don't see a problem with using DX9. The API isn't that important -- it's the shader programs these guys are writing. And you can do pretty much anything with DX9 shaders.

The graphical slider thing is BS though. Ugh. Crysis 2 better be one of the most fun games ever made or I won't drop $60 on it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-11, 11:36 PM   #45
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

I didn't play it myself but I did get to see the leaked version of this game in person tonight...

Either Crytek has a whole lot of PC goodness that didn't get leaked or this game is absolute crap. The sh*t sandwich hold the bun kind of Epic fail I would have never thought Crytek capable of upon the release of the first Crysis game.

I for one will not be touching this game until I see for myself that the game is more than what was leaked. In all honesty... the actual in game graphics on the leaked version don't look a whole lot different from the BS MP demo and the game play is horrible. Another game where the controls are completely ****ed thanks to them being designed for the rrod_360 little kiddie box.

Yeah, you can use the editor to do neat stuff and make great screen shots... I don't want to play with an editor, I want to play a game. So disappointing
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-11, 12:11 AM   #46
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

tbf the control sucks on the 360 version too. thats just cryteks fault. other console ports control just fine on a mouse
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-11, 02:57 AM   #47
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
tbf the control sucks on the 360 version too. thats just cryteks fault. other console ports control just fine on a mouse
Same here. The controls with a mouse and keyboard just feels weird. Either they intended the game to feel this way on all platforms or they just couldnt be arsed to fine tune it, but the latter more likely. I heard the X360 controls feel heavy and stiff and not anywhere near as good as COD or halo's. Then again, so do many FPS's on consoles imo.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-11, 09:33 AM   #48
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later"

So much for Crysis 2.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.