Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-11, 05:43 AM   #1
lapino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 194
Default Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Any idea which brand would be better/optimized for Crysis? nvidia?
lapino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:00 AM   #2
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lapino View Post
Any idea which brand would be better/optimized for Crysis? nvidia?
nvidia.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:05 AM   #3
LydianKnight
Registered Knight
 
LydianKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 977
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3 View Post
nvidia.
this.
LydianKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:27 AM   #4
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

nvidia 4sure..
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 06:35 AM   #5
lapino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 194
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Thinking about going to a gtx 570 from a 5850. Brand of any importance? Msi, asus, pov, club3d? Price is same for all brands here. Have an asus moainboard if that makes a diff.
lapino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 08:47 AM   #6
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

I seem to remember the guys @ Crytek getting "paid" to recode the game for Nvidia hardware.

For that reason, Nvidia cards will probably be the choice to go with for this game.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 09:20 AM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

I'd recommend Nvidia too, but I sure wouldn't base a video card purchase on one single game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 09:25 AM   #8
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

just to stir the pot....

ati
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-11, 10:21 AM   #9
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post
just to stir the pot....

ati


Your sig says that you have a GTX 470.

DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 10:31 AM   #10
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Learn to reaDD.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 10:52 AM   #11
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Nvidia. Didn't Crysis have Nvidia logo's plastered all over on start up?
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-11, 02:34 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

DX10 game so it shouldn't matter,

DX10 meaning pointless so DX9...

The whole point of Crysis 2 was squeezing Crysis into a crappy consoles specifications so any card made in the last 2 years should run it fine.

Crysis was at the pinnacle of PC graphics when it came out ,Crysis 2 will not be.

As long as it plays well I don't mind though.


Just to add.. The lowest common denominator of the 3 platforms would be the 360, Which is under"powered" by ATI
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)

Last edited by XDanger; 01-24-11 at 01:42 PM.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.