Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-11, 09:18 AM   #1
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Alot of us whine about console ports and what not, but Assassin's Creed Brotherhood has set a new standard in my opinion.

Created a profile, used nVidia inspector to enable SLI in it.

Turned the AA upto x8 ,game running at 120-180fps now, the scaling is incredible in this.

What an amazing port.

Took a screenshot before when I was only running it with x4 AA and no SLI, still getting a minimum of 65fps during fighting, all the way into the 100s. Astounding.

__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 10:18 AM   #2
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

I agree, less pop in textures (AC2) too. Looks amazing, runs amazing... love these AC games!!
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 10:27 AM   #3
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Tried it in 3D, woooow. Looks great, just a few shadows that don't look right. Can't wait for nVidia to release a true profile for it.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 10:32 AM   #4
Mangler
DRM is your friend
 
Mangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent View Post
Tried it in 3D, woooow. Looks great, just a few shadows that don't look right. Can't wait for nVidia to release a true profile for it.
Imo, it should already have a profile, since it's 3d ready, but nvidia has been slow lately when it comes to that.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 11:13 AM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

First thing I notice is the gamepad controls... How are the controls with a KB and mouse?
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 11:19 AM   #6
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
Imo, it should already have a profile, since it's 3d ready, but nvidia has been slow lately when it comes to that.
Nah, there isn't even an SLI profile in the latest beta drivers.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 11:36 AM   #7
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
First thing I notice is the gamepad controls... How are the controls with a KB and mouse?
never even try with a gamepad. Works great for me with m/k but so did AC2.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 12:26 PM   #8
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

DX9 only ??
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-11, 01:07 PM   #9
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Indeed. I played all AC on PC with KB & Mouse. Works great.
Played the first one on 360 with a pad and that was ok as well though.

Peoples-Agent, did you use the AC2 SLI profile (HEX value)?
Yeah, that's the one. Tons of other games appear to use it too. Dragon Age Origins, Homefront etc
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 01:59 PM   #10
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Ok thanks.

Well, the Steam release just got pushed back another day. I won't be able to play this with SLI and in Surround for the next month. By then nV will have a profile anyway
I'm betting the 22nd March drivers will have one to coincide with the 590 launch.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 02:12 PM   #11
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

nice screenshot but I think I'll pass on this as well as AC2. I still feel burned out after forcing myself to beat AC1, the most boring game of all time
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-11, 02:32 PM   #12
Mangler
DRM is your friend
 
Mangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default Re: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood PC - This is how you do a port!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
nice screenshot but I think I'll pass on this as well as AC2. I still feel burned out after forcing myself to beat AC1, the most boring game of all time
It's your loss, ac2 and this standalone expansions are much better games than the flawed ac1.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.