Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-11, 05:55 PM   #1
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

http://m.gizmodo.com/5781519/att-to-...starting-may-2

No one likes caps but the DSL one is 150GB. Uverse is 250GB.

Only thought is how this affects gaming. Who here has a monthly cap? You ever come close to it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 06:11 PM   #2
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Do you use AT&T DSL?
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 07:55 PM   #3
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

I use Uverse DSL. This is a bunch of BS. I pay at the very least $130 a month for the Uverse TV package + "12mb" DSL connection.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 07:55 PM   #4
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

To be fair AT&T DSL is so slow it's probably hard to reach that cap
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 09:18 PM   #5
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

I'll be switching over to Comcast this summer so I'm not concerned. Plus, I don't download "stuff" anymore.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 09:51 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I'll be switching over to Comcast this summer so I'm not concerned. Plus, I don't download "stuff" anymore.
comcast's soft cap is 250GB FYI. 250GB for uverse is probably enough for most of their users. I think there are very few people it's going to affect other than those who don't care or don't know how to limit their torrent downloaders so they don't run wide open 24 / 7.

I'd have to agree that 150GB on a dsl connection is going to be hard to even reach.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 09:54 PM   #7
bobkn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CT USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I'll be switching over to Comcast this summer so I'm not concerned. Plus, I don't download "stuff" anymore.
Are you aware of the 250GB/month Comcast limit?

http://www.comcast.net/terms/network/amendment/
__________________
Intel I7-3930k, Asus P9X79 Pro, nVidia GTX680, Asus PA246Q monitor, 4 X 4 GB g.skill DDR3-2133, Creative X-Fi Titanium, Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD, WD Caviar Black 1.5TB, Win7 X64 Pro
bobkn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-11, 10:15 PM   #8
scout2of3
"Live Long And Prosper"
 
scout2of3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Having a cap would blow, luckly for me I use Qwest DSL and as far as I know I don't have a cap or at least have never gone over if I do.
__________________
Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Monitor: 19" Viewsonic G90fb CRT
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5 w/NH-D14 HSF
Graphics: EVGA GTX 570 SC HD
Main HDD: WD 750GB
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengance
PSU: Corsair CX600 Watt
OS: Win 7 Home Premium 64Bit
scout2of3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-11, 04:41 AM   #9
batterbrain101
"TAZ LIKE!"
 
batterbrain101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA
Posts: 191
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

I have Comcast and yes they have a 250 GB limit but that is harder than hell to hit. I've tried and the closest i ever got was 113 GB according to my router and my bill. I have the router set to clamp down with an alert and email if it hits 225 GB but like I said even trying I couldn't get to close.
__________________
] My village called, their Idiot is missing!

My rig:
Asus Maximus VI Hero
Intel i7 4770K@ 4.2 GHz
16GB G-Skill Trident X DDR3 2400 Ram
Corsair 750HX "Silver Certified" PSU
Corsair H70 Hydro CPU Cooler
2x PNY GTX 770 OC2 4GB in SLI
180 GB Intel 520 SSD
2 TB Barracuda HD, 2 TB WD Caviar Green
Logitech G-510 Keyboard
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
3 Samsung 24" LED SyncMaster Monitors

batterbrain101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-11, 07:00 AM   #10
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkn View Post
Are you aware of the 250GB/month Comcast limit?

http://www.comcast.net/terms/network/amendment/
Yes, but I'm not concerned since I don't download "stuff" anymore. Get what I'm saying?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-11, 07:05 AM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

I have a 400Gb cap and never once came close to using it and I download 10gb movie rentals off PSN and Zune.

As six hinted. Legitimate gamers will rarely hit a cap. Multiplayer doesn't use much, Steam is the only issue, but here in AU most decent ISPs do not include Steam, Live and select gaming sites as metered downloads.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-11, 11:09 AM   #12
johnkeel105
Registered User
 
johnkeel105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 454
Default Re: AT&T to limit DSL and U-Verse bandwidth

Greed and more Greed. Perhaps they should take some of the precious cash their company makes and use it to improve their service. I use this service and while it may take a while to download 150GB at 600Kbps. It can be done if your a user of large amounts of video. I just calculated it up and downloading say 15 Steam games when reformatting a computer could easily easily render you over the cap in 72 hours
__________________

Gaming Computer:
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2GHz | GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 | OCZ Reaper HPC (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 | 1024MB Nvidia Geforce 550Ti | Western Digital 750 GB SATA HD | Western Digital 500GB SATA HD | Visiontek Killer 2100 | Creative Xi Fi Fata1ity | Ultra X3 600 Watt ATX Power Supply | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Windows 8 Rig:
AMD Phenom 9750 | 2x1024MB PC-6400 DDR2 | Nvidia GeForce 9800GTX+ | Seagate 80GB ATA HD |17" Samsung | Windows 8 Preview 32-bit

Gaming Laptop:
AMD Phenom II X4 N970 | 2x4096MB DDR3 | AMD Radeon HD 6650M 1GB DDR3 VRAM | OCZ Solid State HardDrive | Killer 2100 Wireless N | 15.6 HD LED LCD | Blu-ray Drive | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Ubuntu 11.04



|DOS| Clan Recruiting for COD:BO, FH2, World of Tanks, & KF http://dosclan.us
johnkeel105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.