Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-02, 01:04 PM   #1
Megatron
Powered by 6800GT
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 239
Default 21,000+ 3DMarks on a 9700

Pretty impressive if your into the 3DMark thing.
Now how long will it be before they add this and the other 20,000+ score to the hall of fame and displace some of those Tis.


http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4449807
__________________
Athlon64 3200+
1Gb PC3200
BFG 6800GT
Windows XP
Megatron is offline  
Old 09-11-02, 01:21 PM   #2
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

FSB 9729 MHz

w0rd
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline  
Old 09-11-02, 07:52 PM   #3
ibGoodEnuf
 
ibGoodEnuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 46
Default

Dude,

You need to displace THIS ti before talking smack. It may also help for you to be able to recognize a phony score when you see it.
__________________
This should say it all: [URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6409718[/URL], but this says more:[URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=760228[/URL]
ibGoodEnuf is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 12:41 AM   #4
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

all scores are phony now, no one should be going by it...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 06:12 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
all scores are phony now, no one should be going by it...
this is true to some extent by people who overclock. The problem is 3dmark appears to be VERY senstitive to FSB being above 133. And there is some cheeziness to scores sometimes.

Case point: I get about 9600 in 3dmark. A guy I found on the forums got 8600 with an AMD Duron + fsb of 144mhz and a R8500 64ddr. Clearly his system is weaker than mine, yet he only fell a 1000 points behind. This has mostly to do with his FSB, and because he didnt even run half the tests. So I tried running only the tests he run, and behold I gained 200 points myself.

So are there "cheaters" out there, to some extent yes. Is it always intentional, in the case of overclockers no, unless they're knowingly messing with their FSB making their system only stable for a couple minutes so that they can get that 3dmark up just a little higher... LOL
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 08:01 AM   #6
Megatron
Powered by 6800GT
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ibGoodEnuf
Dude,
You need to displace THIS ti before talking smack. It may also help for you to be able to recognize a phony score when you see it.

LOL...ok..how bout dropping your rig to defaults, and Ill displace your score before you can finish typing a reply mr 147 Mhz Bus.

All you got was 12,000 points while jacking your bus that high..be silent please.I got 11,700 on strict defaults.Chances are that a VidCard core OC would put me at your score without even touching my FSB.

And i wasnt talking smack at all, just read at madonion that the record/barrier had been broken, the first at like 20,009 points then the one i posted above that. Thought it was impressive.

As for the phony score comment, im assuming you mean the FSB it noted? It may help you to realize that these kind of reports happen all the time,

Example here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=1470

,some people get wrong FSB reports, some get things that say "not run at defaults settings, etc etc"
Doesnt make the score fake.
__________________
Athlon64 3200+
1Gb PC3200
BFG 6800GT
Windows XP

Last edited by Megatron; 09-12-02 at 08:38 AM.
Megatron is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 08:10 AM   #7
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

That would be me.

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator


this is true to some extent by people who overclock. The problem is 3dmark appears to be VERY senstitive to FSB being above 133. And there is some cheeziness to scores sometimes.

Case point: I get about 9600 in 3dmark. A guy I found on the forums got 8600 with an AMD Duron + fsb of 144mhz and a R8500 64ddr. Clearly his system is weaker than mine, yet he only fell a 1000 points behind. This has mostly to do with his FSB, and because he didnt even run half the tests. So I tried running only the tests he run, and behold I gained 200 points myself.

So are there "cheaters" out there, to some extent yes. Is it always intentional, in the case of overclockers no, unless they're knowingly messing with their FSB making their system only stable for a couple minutes so that they can get that 3dmark up just a little higher... LOL
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 11:07 AM   #8
ibGoodEnuf
 
ibGoodEnuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 46
Default

I will be happy to run at stock speeds, even though that will give you an advantage in raw CPU speed as your proc is a 2000+ and mine is a 1900+. You obviously are going to need some advantage as your card aint one. I will post default score ASAP.

ps: When stating your score you say "11700", when stating mine you understate it by approx. 350 pts. I would love to see you on a good ctf q3 server so that I might show you just how well my ti works for me.
__________________
This should say it all: [URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6409718[/URL], but this says more:[URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=760228[/URL]
ibGoodEnuf is offline  

Old 09-12-02, 11:36 AM   #9
Megatron
Powered by 6800GT
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ibGoodEnuf
You obviously are going to need some advantage as your card aint one. I will post default score ASAP.
ROFL...you obviously need to wake up here. The 9700 isnt an advantage in 3DMark over a..Ti4600? Cmon man...i doubt ANYONE even on this board will concur with that.
Its obvious you are in denial here. Im sorry you paid the same price for your Ti and still want to believe its the fastest thing since Dale Earnheardt...but sorry...its not...

Quote:
I would love to see you on a good ctf q3 server so that I might show you just how well my ti works for me.
LOL again...Q3?? Gimme a break man..if you like team oriented gameplay or Capture the flag..just what the heck are you doing playing Quake3 for...just stop the nonsense.
When UT2k3 is out..Ill meet up with you and show you your Ti cant keep up.
Ill gladly play you in anything more current.
I dont play, or give a rats ass about Q3....and havent for 2+ years now.

lol...wasting new vidcards on Q3...gee even a GF3 gets 200+fps in that weak engine doesnt it? So if you killed me in Q3 thats supposed to be indicative of your cards performance?
__________________
Athlon64 3200+
1Gb PC3200
BFG 6800GT
Windows XP
Megatron is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 01:41 PM   #10
ibGoodEnuf
 
ibGoodEnuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
lol...wasting new vidcards on Q3...gee even a GF3 gets 200+fps in that weak engine doesnt it?
Weak engine? Hmmmm? Played RTCW?, Mohaa?, Jedi Knight?
I guess not since you are unable to recognize the supremacy of this engine at this point in time, there would be no point in trying to explain it to you.
__________________
This should say it all: [URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6409718[/URL], but this says more:[URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=760228[/URL]
ibGoodEnuf is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 02:06 PM   #11
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default

Why don't we test 3dmark 2k1 at setting you use in games like 16xAF and 4xAA and then lets see how your GF4 performs
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline  
Old 09-12-02, 03:38 PM   #12
ibGoodEnuf
 
ibGoodEnuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 46
Default

I can understand why you guys are so sandy: you both are scoring about 3000 points under what you should be. Unquestionably you both own a card that has shown a measure of supremacy over my current one, but you cant make them run for s**t. Put a 9700 in my machine and I score 14000+ guaranteed.
__________________
This should say it all: [URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6409718[/URL], but this says more:[URL]http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=760228[/URL]
ibGoodEnuf is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R9700 Oficially Announced druga runda Other Desktop Graphics Cards 20 04-25-08 10:28 PM
Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions nin_fragile14 Other Desktop Graphics Cards 58 11-01-02 01:38 PM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
To anyone who has an ati 9700 playing...... demonized Other Desktop Graphics Cards 1 10-12-02 01:33 PM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 07:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.