Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-11, 06:40 AM   #1
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Upgrading RAM

Hey nvnews, I'm new at this forum and also at all the hardware stuff. I have 2GB ram currently, and I was wondering, what specs do I need to know before buying more. This is what I know:
Technology: DDR2;
Max bandwith: 400MHz;
Module size: 1024Mbytes. (2 modules total)
I wanted to know if I need anything else to know before buying? Does manufacturer matters? Also, can you give me examples, of what RAM I'm supposed to buy? And If I got 2x 1Gb now, do I have to buy exactly 2x 1gb more? Thank's in advance Sorry for my bad english.
Adding a screenshot too, so you can see if I'm not mistaken:
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 09:43 AM   #2
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

how many un-used memory slots do you have?

What version of windows do you use x86 x64?

If you have 2 spare slots and are using a 64 bit OS then 2 more of the same will be the easiest option for you, If you are using 32 bit (x86) then just get 1 more, A 32bit OS cant see all of 4gb but x64 can.

Eastern European?
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 10:14 AM   #3
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
how many un-used memory slots do you have?

What version of windows do you use x86 x64?

If you have 2 spare slots and are using a 64 bit OS then 2 more of the same will be the easiest option for you, If you are using 32 bit (x86) then just get 1 more, A 32bit OS cant see all of 4gb but x64 can.

Eastern European?
I'm using x86 win, so I should get 1 more GB right? But I still want to know what type exactly I should buy, cause I got almost no clue.
And yes, Eastern Europe (Lithuania to be exact).
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 11:05 AM   #4
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

You should get the ram with the same ratings voltage ect. 6 5 5 18 23 @1.8v

The exact same ram module if available would be sure to work 100%

Goodram GR800D264L5/1G
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 11:57 AM   #5
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
You should get the ram with the same ratings voltage ect. 6 5 5 18 23 @1.8v

The exact same ram module if available would be sure to work 100%

Goodram GR800D264L5/1G
Wow thanks a lot, btw is it possible that the model you recommended only costs like 14$?..
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 12:07 PM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

I wouldn't know since they don't sell them where I live but that's about the right price for 1gb.
http://www.deze.lt/beta/PC-Komponent...9792;pi.178440
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 12:10 PM   #7
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
I wouldn't know since they don't sell them where I live but that's about the right price for 1gb.
Ok, thank's a lot dude.
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 12:12 PM   #8
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Oh, one more thing: can you name any other models? Because I can only find 2 shops around and both of them has sold out this model.
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-11, 12:18 PM   #9
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

What is the motherboard? There is usually a list of compatible ram from the maker of the motherboard.

Anything that says PC2-6400 5-5-5-18 1.8v should be ok though but its a gamble.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 12:23 PM   #10
Cesium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading RAM

Here's the list I managed to find: http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList...gm-s2h_4.0.pdf
Cesium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.