Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-11, 01:22 AM   #1
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Hi all,

My PC is hard freezing, its totally random. So far it hasn't happened in gaming but probably just luck, it has happened while web browsing, listening to mp3 etc. It is totally random, my PC might be fine for 3 hours or it might happen after 30mins. Anyway things I have tried are running the Western Digital HD check, and all ok. I also ran Memtest and its checked out ok also. My Soundcard, PSU and HD's etc were all in my last build and they were ok so it has to be either mobo or ram or CPU as they are all new, doubt the videocard/CPU is the issue. I am thinking its the Motherboard at this stage as if you google it others are having hard freeze issues. Anyway my motherboard is a non B3 board so I have asked for an RMA. Apparently others have fixed by increasing the voltage on the RAM slightly but I should not have to do things like this as my system is all stock and that RAM is on Corsairs website and states its 100% compatible with the P8P67 Deluxe.

Has anyone else had troubles? man these sort of problems do my head in and are so frustrating.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 01:26 AM   #2
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

I had issues like that in the past. It turned out to be my Corsair Dominator Ram. It was a well known problem on the X58 chipset and 2000mhz CL7 Ram. Have you tried running one stick at a time. That is one way you can rule out if it is the Ram or not.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 01:46 AM   #3
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
I had issues like that in the past. It turned out to be my Corsair Dominator Ram. It was a well known problem on the X58 chipset and 2000mhz CL7 Ram. Have you tried running one stick at a time. That is one way you can rule out if it is the Ram or not.
No i didn't try that, i spoke with the store I got the parts from and they told me to bring in the PC and it looks like they are going to RMA the board to the a B3 revision. Apparently others have had the same problems and the B3 fixes the issues.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 01:49 AM   #4
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

That is good then. I didn't realize you still had the original revision. What you have described is one of the symptoms of the early boards.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 02:36 AM   #5
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
That is good then. I didn't realize you still had the original revision. What you have described is one of the symptoms of the early boards.
Yeah can't wait to get it back!!! no gaming for me for approx a week

Next time I upgrade to new tech I think I will wait a bit, new tech always seem to have issues
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 11:47 AM   #6
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Are you overclocking at all? Its been a common issue with SB to have strange freeze/BSOD while idle. Apparently it's rumored they are working on a bios update that will cure this. I've had that as well. After running LinX, Prime stable for hours I will be surfing and it will bsod or freeze.

Oh and b3 doesn't matter, it happens on B3 boards too. I don't know if it matters if you are overclocking or not to be honest, I mention this because I know 110% my setup is stable but I've still had a couple of crashes while it was sitting idle or just surfing. Never had a crash while loaded or in a game. Some of the boards have really bad vdroop too which can cause a crash. My b2 Asrock was awful for voltage regulation, it would swing and drop anywhere from 1.38v to 1.29v just idle on the desktop with 1.35v selected in the bios. Keep an eye on that too.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 02:34 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennyboy View Post
Hi all,

My PC is hard freezing, its totally random. So far it hasn't happened in gaming but probably just luck, it has happened while web browsing, listening to mp3 etc. It is totally random, my PC might be fine for 3 hours or it might happen after 30mins. Anyway things I have tried are running the Western Digital HD check, and all ok. I also ran Memtest and its checked out ok also. My Soundcard, PSU and HD's etc were all in my last build and they were ok so it has to be either mobo or ram or CPU as they are all new, doubt the videocard/CPU is the issue. I am thinking its the Motherboard at this stage as if you google it others are having hard freeze issues. Anyway my motherboard is a non B3 board so I have asked for an RMA. Apparently others have fixed by increasing the voltage on the RAM slightly but I should not have to do things like this as my system is all stock and that RAM is on Corsairs website and states its 100% compatible with the P8P67 Deluxe.

Has anyone else had troubles? man these sort of problems do my head in and are so frustrating.
Try manually setting the DRAM voltage and as many of the timings as possible. Motherboards do a terrible job with guessing the proper timings.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 05:16 PM   #8
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Are you overclocking at all? Its been a common issue with SB to have strange freeze/BSOD while idle. Apparently it's rumored they are working on a bios update that will cure this. I've had that as well. After running LinX, Prime stable for hours I will be surfing and it will bsod or freeze.

Oh and b3 doesn't matter, it happens on B3 boards too. I don't know if it matters if you are overclocking or not to be honest, I mention this because I know 110% my setup is stable but I've still had a couple of crashes while it was sitting idle or just surfing. Never had a crash while loaded or in a game. Some of the boards have really bad vdroop too which can cause a crash. My b2 Asrock was awful for voltage regulation, it would swing and drop anywhere from 1.38v to 1.29v just idle on the desktop with 1.35v selected in the bios. Keep an eye on that too.
No I am not overclocking anything. Oh no, I was hoping the B3 would do the trick. I am going to get the B3 board anyways because I don't want the SATA issue to crop up later on. They are going to install it for me, when I get the PC back and if it still freezes then I will set the memory timings. I was running that on Auto. It pretty bad huh, you would have thought they would have picked up on these issues and fixed especially considering the Corsair Vengance memory has been 'certified to work' in the P8P67 deluxe boards!

And yes, that is the same symptoms as me, it has only happened while web surfing/listening to audio in Itunes etc. but has not happened while encoding videos or gaming.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-12-11, 05:29 PM   #9
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

I had this but it was my crucial C300 256 ssd. I put it on the non 6 gig sata intel chipset and all is find. it would just sit ther for 45 seconds or more then go back to normal. this is all over the crucial ssd forums for the C300 SSD. Anyway I only had it on the sata 3 gig for a day, better knock on wood.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 07:19 PM   #10
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasedww View Post
I had this but it was my crucial C300 256 ssd. I put it on the non 6 gig sata intel chipset and all is find. it would just sit ther for 45 seconds or more then go back to normal. this is all over the crucial ssd forums for the C300 SSD. Anyway I only had it on the sata 3 gig for a day, better knock on wood.
My PC is hard freezing and never comes back. All you can do is completley power off the PC and then power back on. (not sure if reset would work as my case does not have a reset switch). But yeah its a hard freeze (not bluescreen) and only power off and on works, as the PC never recovers from it on its own. Its pretty serious as I could potentially lose data, I am pretty annoyed by it.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 07:21 PM   #11
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Others are having the same issue, check this link out.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1037084190
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-11, 08:26 PM   #12
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: My PC is Hard freezing!!!!!!! arghh!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennyboy View Post
Others are having the same issue, check this link out.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1037084190
In case you overlooked my post, did you set all of your timings and voltages on your RAM? There should be about 7 timings to set.

I assume it's this set?
http://www.corsair.com/memory/intel-...m2a1600c8.html

I know it's tested at 8-8-8-24, but the SPD says it's 9-9-9-24, try those timings. There are 3 other timings you need to set as well.

Also try running it at 1.55V, if that fails try 1.6V. Do not go above 1.65V.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.