Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-11, 10:15 PM   #1
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

I've got a file server that is using Realtek 8111C GB onboard LAN. Accessing files is a bit laggy, especially from XP machines. The worst instance is when opening files in a particular CAD program, if you go back to the computer or workgroup (rather than staying in a folder on the shared drive) it will lag for around 10 seconds. In general it usually lags around 1-2 seconds for browsing in the folders and at other times it seems fast enough.

So as in the title, will an Intel PCIe NIC fix this? I'm going PCIe because the PC only has 2 PCI slots next to each other down the bottom but 3 PCIe 1x slots and 2 x16 slots and uses on board video. If there is an improvement I'm going to buy a couple more to use in an identical machine that is used as a print server so I like the idea of being able to space the cards a bit which I can't do with the 2 PCI slots nor could I add a third card if needed.

This is what I'm looking at:
http://www.ota.com.au/Networking/Net...ter-16414.html
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-11, 10:34 PM   #2
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
I've got a file server that is using Realtek 8111C GB onboard LAN. Accessing files is a bit laggy, especially from XP machines. The worst instance is when opening files in a particular CAD program, if you go back to the computer or workgroup (rather than staying in a folder on the shared drive) it will lag for around 10 seconds. In general it usually lags around 1-2 seconds for browsing in the folders and at other times it seems fast enough.

So as in the title, will an Intel PCIe NIC fix this? I'm going PCIe because the PC only has 2 PCI slots next to each other down the bottom but 3 PCIe 1x slots and 2 x16 slots and uses on board video. If there is an improvement I'm going to buy a couple more to use in an identical machine that is used as a print server so I like the idea of being able to space the cards a bit which I can't do with the 2 PCI slots nor could I add a third card if needed.

This is what I'm looking at:
http://www.ota.com.au/Networking/Net...ter-16414.html
I don't know if it will fix it, but I do know that onboard Realtek NIC is terrible. The pings fluctuate and the CPU usage can quite high about 10%. Go for an Intel NIC, they're $38 on Amazon.

I decided to get a Killer NIC, which is about 20 bucks more.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-11, 10:46 PM   #3
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

Stick with the intel nic and you should be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-11, 12:55 AM   #4
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

Would it be worth 'upgrading' to an Intel NIC for standard PC use (Browse web / Play games online etc).

Current motherboard has onboard Realtek 8111C NIC.

I havent had any issues I can think of related to the NIC but if its using more CPU than it should might be worth it.
__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-11, 08:10 AM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

I really like Intel NIC's so I'd say go for it, Mathesar. It's a drop in the bucket compared to the cost of a normal gaming system and should make general computing a bit nicer.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-11, 10:49 AM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

I had same program on my media server, disabled realtek and installed Intel ProLan gigabit and problem solved.

Just don't do something silly like waste money on "killer" nic.
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-11, 12:11 PM   #7
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
I had same program on my media server, disabled realtek and installed Intel ProLan gigabit and problem solved.

Just don't do something silly like waste money on "killer" nic.
I have no regrets with my Killer NIC purchase.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-11, 12:34 PM   #8
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

I can do this all day, but my utilization never jumps over 1~2% when copying files from my server to my ssd array. What kind of utilization are you seeing Viral?

  Reply With Quote

Old 04-14-11, 07:27 PM   #9
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Problems with Realtec LAN, will an Intel NIC fix this?

I did monitor it when first getting the print server, but only when printing to the large format printers we have. I'll have a look soon and see what result I get transferring files to and from the server. I think the transfer speeds are good, though it's only a 100mbit network due to old switch and cat 5 cables routed through the walls - besides two printers which have a direct 1Gb connection. It's more the lag I get when browsing for files, not so much in explorer mind you, but more so when using the "open" mini explorer window when opening files in design programs.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.