Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-11, 02:27 AM   #49
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
There were some areas I saw under 30 fps.
I highly doubt you will have to worry about those sorts of frames with the triple card setup you have. That is unless you're running Eyefinity.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-11, 02:46 AM   #50
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
There were some areas I saw under 30 fps.
I saw that in the E3 live demo aswell but not in the other versions of that mission i've seen. Kinda hard to know what hardware they had it running on but it would be dumb to use a lower spec machine for such an important event, strange .
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-11, 07:00 AM   #51
Bowen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 207
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Hopefully! I doubt that nV will have new cards out this soon and I need to feed 12 MPixels.
That's gonna be though.
No probably not. I'll have to run BF3 with my current rig. I know I won't be running it on high but I should be able to run it on Medium with some things on high perhaps....maybe not but before I got the 465 from an upgrade from EVGA from a 2nd 275 card that went bad, I was running BFBC2 on medium and it looked very good. So I'll have to play that way until I upgrade next year...just something to look forward to.

I used to love Call of Duty but I started disliking it with MW2. They turned MW2 into an arcade shooter. The storyline of MW3 is cool but even so, it looks like the same 'ol thing. The graphics don't suck in MW3 but maybe instead of releasing a new COD game every year, take two or three years, update the engine or maybe take a page from Dice and write a whole new engine and add destruction to the game. I have a hard time playing a shooter now that doesn't have a destructible environment in it now! Having that along changes the nature of the game! It's not a shame to copy someone if what you're copying is good. I think MW4 should have vehicles in it too. You know BF4 won't be coming out next year because they take the time to make quality changes and make the game worth playing...just sayin'.
__________________
CM HAF 922 Case / MSI Z77A-G45 / Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8GHz / 16GB (4x4GB) G.SKILL PC3 12800 DDR3 RAM / eVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC / Seagate 500GB SATA / WD 1TB SATA / Optiarc AD-7240S Burner / Corsair HX850 PSU / Windows 7 HP x64
Bowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-11, 11:03 AM   #52
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3
OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
Graphics card memory: 512 MB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
RAM: 4GB
Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
Graphics card memory: 1 GB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

http://bf3blog.com/battlefield-3-system-requirements/
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-11, 04:31 AM   #53
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

whats the story with the 15gb retail/ 10gb online?...guessing steam will be 15gb.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-11, 06:36 PM   #54
Bowen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 207
Wink Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by de><ta View Post
Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3
OS: Windows Vista or Windows 7
Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
Graphics card memory: 512 MB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
RAM: 4GB
Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
Graphics card memory: 1 GB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

http://bf3blog.com/battlefield-3-system-requirements/
Thanks for posting the requirements! I'm surprised that the 'recommended' requirements are for a GeForce 460. I would have thought they would have put at least a 570. That's cool though so like I said, my 465 should be able to run it just fine....just on medium settings though.
__________________
CM HAF 922 Case / MSI Z77A-G45 / Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8GHz / 16GB (4x4GB) G.SKILL PC3 12800 DDR3 RAM / eVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC / Seagate 500GB SATA / WD 1TB SATA / Optiarc AD-7240S Burner / Corsair HX850 PSU / Windows 7 HP x64
Bowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-11, 06:41 PM   #55
Bowen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 207
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
whats the story with the 15gb retail/ 10gb online?...guessing steam will be 15gb.
Yeah, I'm gonna be getting the retail version. I like to have my software onhand in case I need to reinstall. I've got a fast connection at 25Mbps down / 25 Mbps up (fast by U.S. standards that is) but 10GB would still take what an hour and a half to a couple hours at maximum speed? Yes, I know I'm impatient but geez....that's too long for me. What if you had a slow DSL connection of something like 3Mbps down....that would take many hours to download.

Look....until U.S. standards in broadband connection prices drop and we have speeds like 100Mbps down for like $20 per month.....I'm sticking to buying retail games.
__________________
CM HAF 922 Case / MSI Z77A-G45 / Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8GHz / 16GB (4x4GB) G.SKILL PC3 12800 DDR3 RAM / eVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC / Seagate 500GB SATA / WD 1TB SATA / Optiarc AD-7240S Burner / Corsair HX850 PSU / Windows 7 HP x64
Bowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-11, 07:03 PM   #56
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Those have already been confirmed to have been fake. Sooo yeah....

  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-11, 01:06 AM   #57
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I can't remember where I saw it, but one of the people who saw the BF3 demo said that the system running it had two dual slot video cards running the game, but they didn't notice what brand. I'm willing to bet that they were the best single GPU cards you can buy regardless of which camp they were from.

Considering the fact that even during the demo, there was choppiness in some parts, I'm willing to bet you aren't going to play this game on full setting with any single video card.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-11, 01:07 AM   #58
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
I can't remember where I saw it, but one of the people who saw the BF3 demo said that the system running it had two dual slot video cards running the game, but they didn't notice what brand. I'm willing to bet that they were the best single GPU cards you can buy regardless of which camp they were from.

Considering the fact that even during the demo, there was choppiness in some parts, I'm willing to bet you aren't going to play this game on full setting with any single video card.
thats still pre-alpha version of the game.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-11, 06:38 AM   #59
Bowen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 207
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

I'm a little disappointed as to why the requirements haven't been given yet. It's not like they're gonna change now. We're only talking 5 more months to the game's release. I'd be pretty pissed if you needed two graphic cards to run the game on high. It may come to it but if it does (and I'm a die hard PC fan) but if that ever happens two things will happen...one, I'll be switching to consoles and two, they'll effectively be killing the PC off officially! Most people won't pay for friggin' TWO video cards in order to play a game on the best setting! You should never need more than one card! One 570 should be able to run the thing on it's best settings. I'm not saying it will, I'm saying it should.

It's the best looking game bar none, but if the price is dual cards, then it's too high! That said, I don't think they're gonna screw people like that. I think they know what that would do if they did that. Few people build high end systems like that anyway to run the top games with everything on and even fewer have two or more video cards. I think it's BS if you need two cards to run a game on high. Battlefield has always had cutting edge graphics, but BF3 not only looks great, it's Frostbite 2.0 engine is the leader in graphics from what I've seen so far. The only game that looks close to BF3 is Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim and even that doesn't look quite as good as BF3.
__________________
CM HAF 922 Case / MSI Z77A-G45 / Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8GHz / 16GB (4x4GB) G.SKILL PC3 12800 DDR3 RAM / eVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC / Seagate 500GB SATA / WD 1TB SATA / Optiarc AD-7240S Burner / Corsair HX850 PSU / Windows 7 HP x64
Bowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-11, 08:05 AM   #60
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Battlefield 3 System Requirements...

You're not going to need 2 graphics cards to run BF3 on high. The demos that we've been seeing have been running on an i7 920 and a GTX 580. The demo they played ran liquid smooth, too. I have no reason to believe that we'll need anything more than a GTX 560 Ti or HD 5870 to run this game perfectly. BC2 was the same way. The demo is also being shown before they've had time to optimize the game for various setups. If there's time

Stop freakin out guys. This game is not the end of the world.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.