Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-11, 10:16 PM   #1
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default had a question about raid arrays

1. I am using raid 0, 64kb stripe on my lsi megaraid sas 9260-4i. What is the max stripe size that windows 7 64 bit recognizes? Because my controller can go all the way up to 1mb. But at that size, win 7 says it can't partition when installing windows.

2. What is the fastest RAID configuration, 0,1,5,6,10,50. I am not worried about losing drive space, more about speed.

Please help as I would like to take full advantage of the new controller I have.
__________________
gigabyte f2a78m-d3h mb, 32gb ddr3-2400 mhz ram in dual channel,amd a10-7850k 3.7 ghz quad core cpu, zotac amp extreme gtx 970 4gb vc,OCZ vector 150 240 gb ssd,antec 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,corsair carbide 500r white case,lg 16x bluray writer, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,insignia 24' 1080p tv, logitech g502s 12000 dpi mouse ,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,visiontek usb 3.0 120gb ssd flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sound blaster z pci-e sc,logitech z506 5.1 speakers

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-11, 05:14 PM   #2
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: had a question about raid arrays

Your post show you do not really understand the goal or mechanism of RAID.

RAID has 2 separate goals:
- reliability
- speed
The different RAID levels give EITHER of those those, to different degrees.

check the descriptions here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_RAID_levels

TLDR: RAID0 is for speed and risky, RAID1 is for safety, raid5 is safety and less wasted space, raid10/01/50/05 are compound or raid0 and another level.
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-11, 07:33 PM   #3
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,204
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: had a question about raid arrays

thanks for the info,seriously. But I need to know the max raid 0 stripe size for ocz vertex 3 drives and/or windows 7? Because as stated earlier my hw raid controller can stripe up to 1mb stripes in raid 0. But Windows 7 won't allow partition creation (even one overall partition) at that stripe size. You see, I normally use motherboard (amd 890fx and intel ich10r) raid controllers and their max stripe size is 128kb normally. So, naturally I know from experience the higher the stripe size, the faster the raid 0 array, correct?
__________________
gigabyte f2a78m-d3h mb, 32gb ddr3-2400 mhz ram in dual channel,amd a10-7850k 3.7 ghz quad core cpu, zotac amp extreme gtx 970 4gb vc,OCZ vector 150 240 gb ssd,antec 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,corsair carbide 500r white case,lg 16x bluray writer, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,insignia 24' 1080p tv, logitech g502s 12000 dpi mouse ,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,visiontek usb 3.0 120gb ssd flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sound blaster z pci-e sc,logitech z506 5.1 speakers

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.