Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-11, 03:41 PM   #1
more_hops
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default SLI broken on linux

I have an ASUS P6T7 WS motherboard which SLI zone says is SLI certified. I have tried 2 gtx 580 and 2 quadro 6000 video cards at separate times. Iíve tried older drivers and the most current ones. Every time I get the same result. SLI appears to be non functional and I get

(**) Mar 29 13:40:00 NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(**) Mar 29 13:40:00 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA SLI Mosaic mode selected.
(**) Mar 29 13:40:00 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA Multi-GPU auto-select rendering option.
(II) Mar 29 13:40:00 NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) Mar 29 13:40:00 NVIDIA(0): enabled.
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Both the "MultiGPU" and "SLI" X configuration options were
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): specified. The "SLI" option will take precedence. Please
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): see Chapter 25: Configuring SLI and Multi-GPU
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): FrameRendering for more information.
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Failed to find a valid SLI configuration.
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Invalid SLI configuration 1 of 1:
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): GPUs:
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): 1) NVIDIA GPU at PCI:4:0:0
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): 2) NVIDIA GPU at PCI:8:0:0
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Errors:
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): - Chipset not approved for SLI
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Failed to find a valid SLI configuration for the NVIDIA
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): graphics device PCI:4:0:0. Please see Chapter 25:
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Configuring SLI and Multi-GPU FrameRendering in the README
(WW) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): for troubleshooting suggestions.
(EE) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): Only one GPU will be used for this X screen.
(II) Mar 29 13:40:03 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU Quadro 6000 (GF100GL) at PCI:4:0:0 (GPU-0)


Iím using Centos 5.5 x64. Any idea why this doesnít work.

Thanks,
more_hops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-11, 07:57 PM   #2
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

Not like it would work worth a damn even if you could get it enabled. Fermi SLI in Linux is a huge letdown.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-11, 09:03 PM   #3
RAMChYLD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 95
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

I'm just trying out a pair of GTX260s on Linux. Upon installation of the drivers, things will work out fine. However, upon rebooting, the system will fail to boot init 5 and drop to init 3. Last two error messages generated by the drivers are "Could not allocate 2D engine" and "Could not allocate 2D objects". However, if I reinstall the drivers again, it would work again, until the next reboot. Could not figure out what the heck is the problem. Using the latest 260 series driver on OpenSUSE factory.
__________________
Rigs:
  • "Edison" - Phenom II X4 925 AM3 (Deneb), M4N98TD-EVO (nForce980a SLI), ENGTS450 DirectCU 1GB (GeForce GTS450) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, 8GB DDR3-1600
  • "Sally" - Athlon64 x2 5000+ AM2 (Brisbane), M4N72-E (nForce750a SLI), ENGTS250 Dark Knight 1GB (GeForce GTS250) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro, 4GB DDR2-1066
  • "Dongwa" - Phenom II X4 945 AM3 (Deneb), M4N75TD (nForce750a SLI), ENGTX260-216SP 896MB (GeForce GTX260 216SP) x2 (SLI), integrated GeForce8200, SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion, 8GB DDR3-1600
  • "Helen" - Athlon64 x2 6400+ AM2 (Windsor), M4N78 Pro (GeForce8300), ENGT520 1GB (GeForce GT520), integrated GeForce8300, AuzenTech Prelude X-Fi, 4GB DDR2-1066.
  • "Clementine" - Athlon64 x2 3800+ AM2 (Windsor), TF560A2+ (nForce560), V8402GL26 (GeForce 8400GS), SoundBlaster Live! 5.1, Sonnet Allegro FW400 PCIe, 2GB DDR2-800
RAMChYLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-11, 11:06 PM   #4
cheechr1
Registered User
 
cheechr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

I wish they would fix this as well. Without SLI, it is impossible to change the fan speeds on the cards not attached to the X server, allowing them to sit at 90 degrees C at 80% auto set fan speed that does not ramp up nearly aggressively enough, in my opinion. Also it would be nice to finally see unigine Heaven powered by all 3 GTX480's with all settings maxed! BTW I just set this computer up with water cooling, no more uncontrollable high temps ;-) went from 90 -95 to 60 at full load.
cheechr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-11, 08:21 AM   #5
more_hops
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

Does anyone out there actually have a working linux fermi SLI configuration? If so which distribution are you using? Which motherboard are you using? Did you have to recompile the kernel? How well does it work?

Thanks
more_hops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-11, 05:48 PM   #6
cheechr1
Registered User
 
cheechr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

I seriously doubt it. Search the forums. No one that I have seen has gotten SLI with fermi cards to work well. It works sometimes for a bit, but at reduced frame rates than if you were using one card.
cheechr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-11, 11:08 AM   #7
mdanial6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: SLI broken on linux

NO . SLI doesn't really work all that well in windows, in linux it's a complete waste. Here are a sample of benchmark scores single card 35 fps, 2 sli'd cards 40 fps. Maybe Ati does multiple cards better but SLI is not worth the added cost and power requirements. Instead of buying 2 $100 cards buy 1 $200 card. for example... my next purchase will be for 1 card and one card only
mdanial6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.