Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-11, 01:59 AM   #1
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Smooth internet connection needed...

I have been having issues with my internet connection not running smoothly. By that I mean every several minutes, or sometimes multiple times within a minute, my mp gaming stuff would freeze in spot, and then maybe 5 seconds later, everything would be back to normal, except obviously every other person in the game would keep playing in the time that i was frozen. Obviously in FPSs this means death. I thought it was a BFBC2 issue, but a friend of mine tried StarCraft 2, and it was happening in that game as well, but far less often. Maybe once every 20 minutes.

The modem is a motorolla SB5102.
The router is a Trendnet TEW431BRP.

My speedtest score is above 17mb most times, so I don't think it should be lagging like this.

Yes, I am a complete noob when it comes to network stuff

Thanks as always
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 03:24 AM   #2
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Try it without the router for a while and see how it does....

Also, go here and post your readouts: http://192.168.100.1
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 04:01 AM   #3
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

even 4mbits are smooth when not lagging.... so over 16 is efficent to 2mb/s so thats quite very much....
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 11:02 AM   #4
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
Try it without the router for a while and see how it does....

Also, go here and post your readouts: http://192.168.100.1
when i go to that site, this pops up, i guess as a result of noscript. any idea?

bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 12:37 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Bandwidth is not latency. Just because you have high bandwidth (e.g. 17Mbit) does not mean you will have low latency (e.g. 30-40 ms ping).

Try a tracert to the server you're trying to connect to and see if any of the hops have high latency.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 02:30 PM   #6
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Bandwidth is not latency. Just because you have high bandwidth (e.g. 17Mbit) does not mean you will have low latency (e.g. 30-40 ms ping).

Try a tracert to the server you're trying to connect to and see if any of the hops have high latency.
explain plz
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 04:47 PM   #7
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
when i go to that site, this pops up, i guess as a result of noscript. any idea?
I dont use noscript so no idea.


That IP address is your cable modem, you can trust it.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-11, 04:53 PM   #8
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

A traceroute.... (our local RDC)

Code:
Tracing route to ohiordc.rr.com [65.24.2.7]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Series [192.168.1.1]
  2     9 ms    11 ms    11 ms  ***********************************
  3    26 ms     9 ms     9 ms  gig1-5.kentoh1-swt401.neo.rr.com [24.164.109.246]
  4    10 ms    13 ms     9 ms  tge1-5.akrnoh1-swt401.neo.rr.com [24.164.117.110]
  5     9 ms     9 ms    11 ms  tge1-6.ncntoh1-swt402.neo.rr.com [24.164.117.78]
  6    25 ms     9 ms     9 ms  tge10-0.ncntoh1-rtr2.neo.rr.com [24.164.111.166]
  7    27 ms    17 ms    29 ms  gig14-0-0.ncntoh1-rtr1.neo.rr.com [24.164.104.169]
  8    17 ms    16 ms    14 ms  tge0-0-1.ar01.clmkohpe.mwrtn.rr.com [65.25.137.193]
  9    14 ms    14 ms    16 ms  ae1.clboh1-rtr0.mwrtn.rr.com [65.189.140.128]
 10    13 ms    50 ms    18 ms  tge0-2-0.clboh1-rtr01.ohiordc.rr.com [65.25.137.154]
 11    43 ms    23 ms    34 ms  gig2-1.clboh1-swt01.ohiordc.rr.com [65.24.14.130]
 12    31 ms    15 ms    14 ms  clboh-mgt7.ohiordc.rr.com [65.24.2.7]

Trace complete.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-11, 05:28 PM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
explain plz
Click start, search for cmd. Open command prompt, and type

Code:
tracert xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP of the address you're having connection issues with. The output will list the latency times between you and the server of interest, as well as list all the hops your connection goes through to reach the IP. Look for abnormally high numbers (they are in ms).
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-11, 01:41 AM   #10
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

so, bfbc2 is unplayable as usual. decided to try youtube. kind of similar. video would begin buffering fast. then suddenly stop until the "play" cursor reaches the end of the buffered zone, then it continues buffering again.

in the first tracert i did, there were many numbers in the 90s. i deleted that screenshot by accident. this is what i got the second time.



very frustrating....
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-11, 07:36 AM   #11
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

Bob the 192.168.100.1 is accessing the web flash in your cable modem itself. Allow the 192.168.100.1 and go to the status page and take a screenshot and post it here.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-11, 11:22 AM   #12
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Smooth internet connection needed...

i just get a blank white page when i enable scripts.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.