Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-11, 09:24 AM   #13
TheTaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 621
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

If I were the "lemming" that you claim, I'd be buying every iMac refresh like a good little Jobsian cultist.

I actually work in a very large enterprise environment and it's 98% Microsoft. A Mac fanboi, I am not. (We do have a few Linux Server Appliances and a few Mac Workstations in our Multi-Media department)

That said, I do prefer OSX for my home tasks. I especially prefer Final Cut over Adobe Premiere, and I've used both extensively.

I don't want to pollute my gaming rig with a bunch of crap that has nothing to do with gaming. I don't even run security software on it (which is the main reason I don't surf with it). That way I can squeeze every frame per second possible. As for expense... I have WAY more invested in my gaming rig than my iMac.

As for making a "Hackintosh"... I suppose I could do that... but I didn't want to bother... especially since I wanted an "all-in-one" to save space. I also don't care for the all-in-ones offered by HP, Gateway, Asus, etc. Like I said... I don't feel any pressure to upgrade... and when I eventually do... it probably will be a 27" iMac.
TheTaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-11, 01:03 PM   #14
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
No not at all! You also get a very good display and the included software package is amazing (although not expensive to buy separately).

Not to mention the materials and build quality. Macs are worth their money and they're not overpriced. Only some of the BTO options are overpriced.
This. I've had my MBP for 6 months now and it's been the most enjoyable computer I've ever owned. Not only is it a physically awesome looking laptop and has an amazing keyboard, trackpad and screen, but OS X just rocks. Yes, you can't game on OS X that much, but that's why I have a Bootcamp install with Win7. Battery life is 6 hours, 5 with my VMs running.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-11, 07:27 PM   #15
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
What are you using the machine for?
Adobe CS5, pretty much only PS, Illustrator and InDesign. So I don't really need a great performer for what I'm doing, just want to be a bit future proof. It's fast enough, has a nice screen and eliminates compatibility problems with going to PC so it makes sense.

No GPU acceleration in PS is a concern, but I think for what we do the CPU will be fast enough.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-11, 04:35 AM   #16
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
No not at all! You also get a very good display and the included software package is amazing (although not expensive to buy separately).

Not to mention the materials and build quality. Macs are worth their money and they're not overpriced. Only some of the BTO options are overpriced.
i still had all my software from my previous upgrade....
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-11, 01:06 PM   #17
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

damn they get 6970m's now!?!?!
nice
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-11, 09:33 PM   #18
TheTaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 621
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
No not at all! You also get a very good display and the included software package is amazing (although not expensive to buy separately).

Not to mention the materials and build quality. Macs are worth their money and they're not overpriced. Only some of the BTO options are overpriced.
Actually... ANY additional options above "any base model"... are stupidly priced. That's why I bought the base $1200 iMac... then I bought extra RAM from Newegg. At the time... Apple wanted $800 go to from 1GB to 4GB... I bought the RAM on Newegg for $125, at that time (2007), which were 2 x 2GB SODIMMS.

The funny thing is... Dell used to do the same crap, a long time ago. But now there's so much competition between all of the other PC brands available... that they can't do it as much anymore. Dell's "option prices" are still dumb compared to Newegg... but not overly ridiculous like they used to be.

Apple can get away with it because they have no competition (as in Apple Clone Competition), which is precisely why Jobs killed Mac Clones when he came back to Apple.

So... the two things I've learned from my Apple purchases:

1. Never buy first gen stuff. Always wait for 2nd or 3rd for the features "they forgot"
2. Always buy the Bottom end model, then buy (if you can) "option parts" from anyone but Apple.
TheTaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-11, 11:39 PM   #19
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

They're limiting what you can upgrade to though. Only the top end can swap out the i5 for an i7. Only the top end can get the 6970M (upgradable to 2GB 6970M also). So if you want to get a feature which you can't swap yourself (CPU/graphics/monitor) then they force you to pay for it there.

RAM is an obvious one and no techy should be buying a RAM upgrade from apple, that's for sure. Very overpriced. Just keep in mind that it is so-DIMM RAM, not desktop stuff. Paying $600 for an SSD is also a bit retarded, they state it as 256GB so it wouldn't even be that good of an SSD. 1-2TB at $120 is also ridiculous.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-11, 08:39 PM   #20
TheTaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 621
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
They're limiting what you can upgrade to though. Only the top end can swap out the i5 for an i7. Only the top end can get the 6970M (upgradable to 2GB 6970M also). So if you want to get a feature which you can't swap yourself (CPU/graphics/monitor) then they force you to pay for it there.
I suppose it depends if you really need the extra horsepower or not.

But here's my view... since I run a separate gaming rig... I have no real need for the top end GPU option in an iMac.

The most intense stuff I do on my iMac is video editing and transcoding... and that's on a 2GHz core 2 Duo, right now. So even the bottom end 2.5GHz Core i5 would be quite an upgrade for me... especially if OSX applications take advantage of the Sandy-Bridge accelerated transcoding.... (Which no GPU can even come close to). As for Video Editing... it has more to do with hard drive speed for large clips, than the CPU or GPU.

IMO, Bootcamp to Windows 7 on a 27" iMac with the top end GPU is a waste. If you run at the native resolution of 2560x1440, you will find few modern games that will run great on "6970M 2GB" (And even less in the near future)... which means you have to drop the resolution to non-native... which probably looks like crap. It really is a waste of money and you are much better off running a separate Windows gaming rig.
TheTaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-11, 08:53 PM   #21
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default

I'm on my phone at the moment and I don't know if it's been posted yet in this thread but I saw a story the other day that you can upgrade your video card on the new iMacs. Is that something new or could you do it with the old ones?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-11, 09:52 PM   #22
TheTaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 621
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I'm on my phone at the moment and I don't know if it's been posted yet in this thread but I saw a story the other day that you can upgrade your video card on the new iMacs. Is that something new or could you do it with the old ones?
Couldn't do it on the old ones... GPU soldered into mainboard.

The new ones have MXM cards... basically laptop daughterboards... technically... yes you can upgrade... but I think you are limited to Apple parts unless some 3rd party OEM starts selling some that are "OSX driver compatible".

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/20...ght-sensor.ars

Pay attention to the "Updates" at the bottom of the Article:

UPDATE: As noted in the comments, the GPU is not on a proprietary daughter card as we first suspected, but on what appears to be an MXM (Mobile PCI Express Module) form factor card. Originally developed by NVIDIA, this form factor is also used in a number of larger Windows laptops to allow the GPU to be swapped for different parts. However, availability of MXM-based GPUs seems scarce, mostly relegating the MXM card to a repairman's convenience. Furthermore, GPUs destined for iMacs typically use incompatible firmware compared to parts used in Windows laptops, though evidence in recent Snow Leopard and Lion releases suggests Mac OS X can now support standard firmware AMD Radeon GPUs.

UPDATE 2: OWC confirmed that a firmware update for the latest iMacs released on May 5 enables 6Gbps SATA 3 capabilities on the two main SATA ports on the iMac logic board. The port reserved for the optical drive remains at 3Gbps.
TheTaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-11, 07:51 AM   #23
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: New Sandy Bridge iMacs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
They're limiting what you can upgrade to though. Only the top end can swap out the i5 for an i7. Only the top end can get the 6970M (upgradable to 2GB 6970M also). So if you want to get a feature which you can't swap yourself (CPU/graphics/monitor) then they force you to pay for it there.

RAM is an obvious one and no techy should be buying a RAM upgrade from apple, that's for sure. Very overpriced. Just keep in mind that it is so-DIMM RAM, not desktop stuff. Paying $600 for an SSD is also a bit retarded, they state it as 256GB so it wouldn't even be that good of an SSD. 1-2TB at $120 is also ridiculous.
this is why i dont like apple...they tell u what you can and what you can't do with your machine...simple or complex...doesnt matter....u do what apple says.

This is funny cause when apple first put out an add back in 84 they were saying how MS was being restrictive and similar to that 1984 book...

funny how times have changed....

and this is why i will never buy apple products.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-11, 11:59 AM   #24
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
But the 2GB card will come in very handy when you hook up two 27" ACD or other 30" screens! 1GB for almost 12MPixel is not enough, not even for desktop usage.
That's why I got two 5770s in my Mac Pro with 1GB each even though I could hook up the three 30" screens on a single 5770 that comes as a standard in the current Mac Pro.

Given the low price and new features, the new highend iMac will be used as a workstation by a lot of people so Apple needs to provide options for that market as well.
Damn I'm jealous of your awesome setups lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
this is why i dont like apple...they tell u what you can and what you can't do with your machine...simple or complex...doesnt matter....u do what apple says.

This is funny cause when apple first put out an add back in 84 they were saying how MS was being restrictive and similar to that 1984 book...

funny how times have changed....

and this is why i will never buy apple products.
From their perspective, their control is understandable. They started off as a hardware and software company. They bought the hardware designs, and wrote their own drivers and OS for their hardware. So that's why Apple products just "worked". Because all of their devices were controlled by Apple.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.