Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Is this an acceptable solution if it gets finetuned a little??
Yes!!!! finally 5 38.46%
No.. I need "real" optimus behavier 6 46.15%
Maybe.. I need to try it out for some days.. 2 15.38%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-11, 07:30 AM   #13
csdaniels
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

worked for me: ASUS u43jc however all of my icons in ubuntu are messed up, no transparency, any one else? Any ideas?

Very excited I now have working 3d in linux!! thank you!
csdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-11, 04:46 AM   #14
teox99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy - Rome
Posts: 56
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

there is a similar workaround here:
https://lists.launchpad.net/hybrid-g.../msg00920.html
teox99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-11, 05:23 AM   #15
rockob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by teox99 View Post
there is a similar workaround here:
https://lists.launchpad.net/hybrid-g.../msg00920.html
I would guess that that technique is not as cool as this one because VNC is probably a bit slow, whereas I assume this one isn't. Some performance figures comparing apps running on the intel vs the nvidia would be nice. The VNC technique might have an advantage if desktop effects work, though.

I think there should be another poll option. I think this is *almost* there, but still needs some tweaking so you can get desktop effects working. Ideally the intel would provide 3d by default so that desktop effects work, and nvidia would provide effects when you launch the app with vlgrun. That then would be very close to what optimus does in windoze - the only thing missing would be the ability to use TwinView for external monitors.
rockob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-11, 12:52 PM   #16
twyoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMEEE View Post
Hi rockob and twyoda..

My solution should work on your laptops as well...

twyoda.. first check that your BusID's for the intel and nvidia card are right:

falcon martin # lspci |grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT215 [GeForce GT 335M] (rev a2)

falcon martin # cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf |grep BusID
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"


If that is ok... try to change this in the top of the xorg.conf:

Screen "Screen0"
Screen "Screen1" Relative "Screen0" 0 0

to

Screen "Screen1"
Screen "Screen0" Relative "Screen1" 0 0
Wow, that's really cool, I will try and report, thanks a lot!!
twyoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-11, 05:04 PM   #17
MrMEEE
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

Prime-NG v.2.0 released.. now with automated installer and 3D support on both Intel and nVidia..

Hope to get some feedback so that I may improve the installer... I have tested it as good as I feel I can.. but the still might be some bugs..

https://github.com/MrMEEE/prime-ng
MrMEEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-11, 09:27 PM   #18
cgelgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

MY Notebook is dell 3700,intel+nvidia gt330m ,rhel4.8,using vgl don't work.
Could you help me?
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (19.9 KB, 80 views)
cgelgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-11, 04:03 PM   #19
LLStarks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 66
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

Nvidia has their priorities straight

http://twitter.com/#!/NvidiaOptimus/...00999102496768

Quote:
@shinzofrenia We hear you re: Optimus on Linux. Our OEM customers ship vast majority Win7 notebooks so that is where our focus is for now
LLStarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-11, 05:18 PM   #20
MrMEEE
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

prime-ng has been renamed to bumblebee and updated:

www.martin-juhl.dk
https://github.com/MrMEEE/bumblebee

http://twitter.com/martinjuhl
MrMEEE is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-11, 08:37 PM   #21
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLStarks View Post
Nvidia has their priorities straight
You absolutely 100% correct. ~90% market share vs ~1-2% market share.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-11, 01:04 AM   #22
rockob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

I tried installing bumblebee on an XPS 15 (L502x), but I get the following error when I run optirun64 or optirun32:

[VGL] ERROR: Could not open display :1.

I did get it working just once, after much playing around with nouveau and nvidia drivers, but when I tried a wine game the system crashed and after rebooting optirun64 no longer works, no matter how many times I reinstall bumblebee.

I see that the xorg.conf file no longer contain references to the nvidia driver. I guess the nvidia driver conflicted with the intel driver, which is why intel acceleration wasn't working before, and now bumblebee copies the bits it needs from the nvidia driver and then uninstalls it. Is that how it is supposed to be?

A small note on the installer: if you have manually commented out the nvidia line in /etc/modules and the nouveau line in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf, bumblebee's install.sh doesn't change these files, which presumably could cause problems.

Before I first ran bumblee's installer, my Ubuntu 11.04 installation had an nvidia 173 driver on it (Ubuntu installed it for some reason), and I had to manually uninstall this to get 3d working on the intel chip. Might this have caused the problem?

Anyway, how can I debug why I get the 'Could not open display :1' error?
rockob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-11, 02:37 AM   #23
rockob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

An update: I found the configuration in /etc/X11/xdm-optimus, which uses /etc/X11/xorg.conf.nvidia (which explains that file), and so now it makes sense why there is no nvidia section in xorg.conf - display 1 is being set up as a separate X session.

This led me to the corresponding /var/log/xdm-optimus.log file. The error in this file is:

(EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)

which I guess means it's trying to load something like xserver-xorg-video-nvidia, and not finding it. Something is failing to build properly...

Any suggestions on how I can fix this?
rockob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-11, 03:08 AM   #24
rockob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Optimus on Linux - Solved...

And the latest update from git seems to have fixed things. Thanks!
rockob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.