Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-11, 03:33 PM   #1
jimmy burke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

I just killed my 8800 gt so I got this 550 to replace it. I have an OCZ 700watt power supply and an e8500 core 2 3.16 processor.

I already did upgrade to the newest one and it has issues. I'm going to try to "completely" remove the driver that came with it (266 I think) and upgrade to the newest one.

Gameplay is the same on any settings that I tweak in-game. Issues are CTD, extreme lag at game start, and my character not going where I direct it which resembles network lag. Is this hardware or software related? what else can i try?
jimmy burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-11, 10:48 PM   #2
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy burke View Post
I just killed my 8800 gt so I got this 550 to replace it. I have an OCZ 700watt power supply and an e8500 core 2 3.16 processor.

I already did upgrade to the newest one and it has issues. I'm going to try to "completely" remove the driver that came with it (266 I think) and upgrade to the newest one.

Gameplay is the same on any settings that I tweak in-game. Issues are CTD, extreme lag at game start, and my character not going where I direct it which resembles network lag. Is this hardware or software related? what else can i try?
if you didnt have issues with the 8800GT, I'd say start with uninstalling the nvidia drivers completely and install the newest WHQLs or reinstall Windows even.

Remember the 8800GT would have been playing in DX9 not DX11 like the 550 would, so you could try forcing that... also dual core pretty much gets maxed with physics in this game so that is another possible bottleneck that could be keeping the 5500 stretch it's legs.

Too many possibilities without troubleshooting it further.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 08:19 AM   #3
jimmy burke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

What is a WHQL? Also, I did do this on a fresh windows install. Maybe I'll overclock my CPU.
jimmy burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 10:45 PM   #4
jimmy burke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

This is really frustrating. I dont get why a better GPU suddenly causes issues. Even if my CPU was a bottleneck, why would the new card make the game crawl?? Performance is night and day WORSE than with the 8800gt.
jimmy burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 11:50 PM   #5
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

CPU is definitely a bottleneck, but that doesn't explain the issues you're having.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 12:39 PM   #6
jimmy burke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

Alright, did some more testing. In game (multiplayer) I'm getting about 30 fps on average. In single player its more like 40 for some reason. Temperature is around 60 Celsius.

I just cleaned out my CPU fan of debris and put down a new layer of Arctic Silver thermal paste between the chip and the heatsink. Both cores are 100 percent used when the game is on. I think I am going to try to overclock it with the stock fan to 3.6 ghz, I've read this is the max safe limit with the stock fan.

Strangle, single player runs very smooth but multiplayer still doesn't. I'm not sure if suddenly I have issues with my network??? I doubt it. If OC'ing doesnt work on my CPU I'm going to move the GPU to another slot and try that.

I still don't understand why the new card doesn't work as well as the old. It might be possible that the CPU is failing because it wasn't getting cooled (which is why the 8800 failed) but the CPU heatsink was relatively uncluttered.

Need to figure something out fast before I RMA this thing to Newegg
jimmy burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 06:18 PM   #7
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: Gigabyte GTX 550 TI laggy in Bad Company 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy burke View Post
Alright, did some more testing. In game (multiplayer) I'm getting about 30 fps on average. In single player its more like 40 for some reason. Temperature is around 60 Celsius.

I just cleaned out my CPU fan of debris and put down a new layer of Arctic Silver thermal paste between the chip and the heatsink. Both cores are 100 percent used when the game is on. I think I am going to try to overclock it with the stock fan to 3.6 ghz, I've read this is the max safe limit with the stock fan.

Strangle, single player runs very smooth but multiplayer still doesn't. I'm not sure if suddenly I have issues with my network??? I doubt it. If OC'ing doesnt work on my CPU I'm going to move the GPU to another slot and try that.

I still don't understand why the new card doesn't work as well as the old. It might be possible that the CPU is failing because it wasn't getting cooled (which is why the 8800 failed) but the CPU heatsink was relatively uncluttered.

Need to figure something out fast before I RMA this thing to Newegg
Hey Jimmy. Before my upgrade to a Sandybridge system I was running a Core 2 E8400 and a GTX280and the game was butter smooth maxed out @ 2xAA and 1680x1050 so your CPU should be fine to handle it. Is your 550ti ok in other games? have you tried 270.61?
WHQL is certified by MS hence not a BETA driver.

You don't need to OC your CPU, its fine @ stock to run BC2. Like I said my E8400 @ stock was running the game fine If you Comp runs other games fine and its running BC2 in single player campaign then it appears to be network related.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.