Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-11, 03:32 PM   #1
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Threw together a sandy bridge system this morning. I changed my mobo/cpu/ram/Burner and added a 2TB Hitachi and said goodbye to PATA.. On the main system at any rate. Nothing like new hardware in the morning. No overclocking yet and I can still tell a lot of difference in several games that were cpu/memory limited in many areas.

I wasn't planning an upgrade until P68 or socket 2011 and I didn't expect that much of a difference to be honest. Going from a C2Q6600@3.6/wDDR2 PC4000 to a (stock) 2500K/wDDR3/1600.

Subjectively it doesn't feel much different than when I went from an Opteron 185 to the OC'ed C2Q6600 but that was quite an improvement. I had that C2Q as my main system for longer than any CPU I've ever owned, from mid 2007 (or whenever the good stepping came out) until today.

Liking it.
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-11, 04:00 PM   #2
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Congrats!
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-11, 07:52 PM   #3
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Nice, dude!
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-11, 10:53 PM   #4
Moshing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Enjoy!
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX580 Black Ops/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)
Moshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 12:46 AM   #5
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Good stuff dude, I came from a Core 2 Duo E8400 and I noticed quite a big difference, but to be honest it was hard to gauge because I also went from a GTX280 to a GTX580 when talking about gaming improvements. Encoding etc the i7 smashed my old E8400 but you would expect that the i7 is a quad core where the e8400 was a dual core CPU. Encoding times dropped by huge amounts.

The biggest single improvement I saw with my PC (apart from the videocard) was going from a WD Raptor to an SSD.

When are you going to OC that sucker? I got the K to overclock too but after some inital problems with my build I have decided not to bother now, my system is faster enough as it is, maybe I would notice it when encoding?
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 03:20 AM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

My upgrade from Q9550 ended up costing me just 30 of new money (so far)
Stick that in your pipe console "PC's are more expensive" fanboy's.

Going from Q6700 to Q9550 was also more or less a straight swap.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 09:39 AM   #7
Moshing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pennyboy View Post
Good stuff dude, I came from a Core 2 Duo E8400 and I noticed quite a big difference, but to be honest it was hard to gauge because I also went from a GTX280 to a GTX580 when talking about gaming improvements. Encoding etc the i7 smashed my old E8400 but you would expect that the i7 is a quad core where the e8400 was a dual core CPU. Encoding times dropped by huge amounts.

The biggest single improvement I saw with my PC (apart from the videocard) was going from a WD Raptor to an SSD.

When are you going to OC that sucker? I got the K to overclock too but after some inital problems with my build I have decided not to bother now, my system is faster enough as it is, maybe I would notice it when encoding?
The only real place I notice my 5Ghz overclock is in Civilization V, and it really stands out there. There's some minor hesitations during screen scrolling when your turn ends and the AI turns begin when running my CPU at stock speed that begin become more tolerable at 4.4Ghz, and almost non-existent at 5Ghz.

I have other CPU intensive games, I just haven't been playing them since I'm over 1000 rounds into a massive Civ V map made up like Earth with all the big countries represented properly. Suffice to say there's a LOT of CPU activity between each of my rounds.
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX580 Black Ops/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)
Moshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 11:05 AM   #8
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

I'll mess with overclocking a bit today. I transferred the C2Q to a different case and put the stock HS on it, so I'm using my thermalright ultra-120 extreme on the 2500K.

When I first checked the temp with core temp it freaked me out because the numbers were in the Upper sixties at idle. I shut down quickly, then cleaned/buffed/(meticulously) reapplied the thermal paste and reseated the heatsink only to boot into windows and find the numbers even higher. LOL

Not until then did I notice that the readout was (to TJ. Max) and not straight temp in C.

The laugh was worth it. IMO
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-13-11, 12:16 PM   #9
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

Nice, man! Show some pics!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 12:23 PM   #10
Moshing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

LOL, that's funny! I can see it happening though. It does look a little confusing at first. Are you using RealTemp?
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX580 Black Ops/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)
Moshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 01:15 PM   #11
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

When I realized how it was reading I just grabbed a newer core temp and the newest RealTemp. I like RealTemp better. I hadn't used it before. Another program new to me is EASEUS Todo Backup Home 2.5. It's free for personal use.

I'm still shuffling data atm.
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-11, 10:07 AM   #12
Gregor976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando
Posts: 183
Default Re: Another upgrade from C2Q6600 to 2500K

1st OC. I just set the ASRock Turbo OC to 4Ghz. Coming from C2Q6600 at 3.6 that 4Ghz is very satisfying.



Just because it was showing below 4Ghz I bumped the base clock up to 100.1

Check out the mem temp. 74C! It's at 48C idle. The CPU is still idling at 31C-34C. Ambient is 27C.

Thoughts? My memory is GSkill F3-12800CL9-4GBXL 2x4GB. Motherboard is ASRock P67 Pro3 SE.
Gregor976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.