Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-11, 01:01 AM   #1
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll helps

Hi,

I very often have problems with resume from suspend to ram with 275.19. It goes back to text mode but keyboard is not usable. Hard reboot is the only available option.

If I add idle=poll to the boot options, there are no problems resuming any longer. That's not an option in the long run though because it seems to eat my battery...

Latest stable release that works for me is 260.19.44.

My setup:
Acer Extensa 5635ZG
Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
Nvidia G98M [GeForce G 105M]
openSUSE 11.4 64 bit
Linux 2.6.37.6-0.5-desktop x86_64


I have earlier reported same behaviour with other drivers here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=162760
I thought that I open another thread because I have now tested successfully with idle=poll.

The nvidia-bug-report has been taken rigth after a hard reboot to runlevel 3. Don't know if it includes anything good though.

/Anders
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report_2011-07-15_275_19.log.gz (56.5 KB, 88 views)
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-11, 06:56 AM   #2
sandipt
NVIDIA Corporation
 
sandipt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 260
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Please do network login with tools like 'Putty' , SSH , Telnet and try to get nvidia logs It will help to understand issue.
sandipt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-11, 08:08 AM   #3
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandipt View Post
Please do network login with tools like 'Putty' , SSH , Telnet and try to get nvidia logs It will help to understand issue.
Ok, I will try to do that.

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-11, 03:07 PM   #4
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Here's a debug report taken when the problem occurs. Also included the Xorg log file.

What else could be of interest?

/Anders
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report_2011-07-18_275_19.log.gz (65.1 KB, 71 views)
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (29.3 KB, 71 views)
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 06:44 AM   #5
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Were the two last log files sufficient or is more information needed?

Another thing I have seen is that Xorg is running at 100% when the problem happens.

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-11, 01:10 AM   #6
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Any progress on this issue?

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-11, 01:46 AM   #7
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Here's a log file from when it happens with 285.03.

Any thoughts on when it can be fixed?

/Anders
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report_285_03.log.gz (62.0 KB, 60 views)
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-11, 02:14 PM   #8
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Same happens with 275.28.

Didn't have possibility to take a log this time though.

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-11, 04:26 AM   #9
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

I have now tested with 285.05.09 with the same result.

Have you found anything in the logs that I have provided?

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-11, 08:37 AM   #10
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

Now tested 290.03 with the same result.

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-11, 03:45 AM   #11
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

BUMP!
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-11, 03:22 AM   #12
falolaf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: [bug] doesn't always resume from suspend to ram with 275.19 on G105M. idle=poll h

Hi,

You can stop investigating this now. I have upgraded to openSUSE 12.1 and after that I haven't seen the problem at all. I'm currently at 290.10.

/Anders
falolaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.