Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-11, 07:44 PM   #13
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Rollo,

This thread is about CPUs. Why are you bashing AMD cards? AMD GPUs are great, NVIDIA GPUs are great. I'm glad they both exist and I'm glad I have choices.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-11, 08:50 PM   #14
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
Nah, you just posted FUD as usual, Ninja Slime.

More choices at more price points and configurations that match user's actual needs trumps "Here are our two options for anyone who wants more than 1GB" by a long shot. And let's not forget the 3GB GTX580s are the fastest single GPU cards on the planet and best suited forhigh end gaming in all forms.
Actually if you want to get into the ridiculous high end water cooled, phase change cooled, and LN2 cooled market, 6970s obliterate 580s because they can handle high overclocks. Just sayin'.

I think 3x2560x1600 panels is the only setup that uses more than 2gb in some games. Slawter is the only person I know of that has one of those setups. The standard ATI high end card can cover everything below that. NVs standard high end card can't.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-11, 11:30 PM   #15
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

580s OC fine.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=268984&page=9

I see them from 960-1060 all the time on air or water. An HD 6970 @ 1000 on the core is slower than the 580 @ 915 never mind 960.

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/..._card_review/9

AMD GPUs are excelling in some benches recently because end users are lowering or even disabling tessellation from the CCC. They have a slider for that now. The user may select the factor.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-11, 11:31 PM   #16
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

**EDITED BY DD**

Last edited by DiscipleDOC; 06-06-11 at 10:48 AM.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-11, 03:17 AM   #17
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
Can they handle PhysX? Can they handle 3d on computer monitors? 3d on 3 monitors? Forcing ambient occlusion?
Yeah, they can do Physx, hell the 3870 could. NV just doesn't allow it. Yeah on 3d, and yeah on 3 monitors. Theoretically if they bothered to add a crappy feature like forced AO in games that are not designed for it, they could. Nothing really stops ATI from it, they just don't see the value, and neither do I.

Quote:
So what you're saying is ATi's highest end cards can't handle the highest end display solutions? Are you sure there aren't 57X12 settings with high AA that don't exceed the 2GB limitation?
Yep. Niether can a standard high end NV card. Of course that assumes the highest settings in high memory useage games. NVs 3GB aftermarket cards can claim that tiny 0.000001% of the market. Grats.

Quote:
Like most ATi fanATics, your only point is "Gee, ATi makes a couple cards with 2GB of VRAM. We're not going to compare them to the NVIDIA cards with 2 or 3GB of VRAM, we're just going to point out that if you compare them to the 1.5GB cards, and use fairly rare 57X12 display sets with the AA cranked up there are some games where you'll exceed the 1.5GB!"
Yep, pro fanatic here, with my 570 GTX. Ok, lets compare ATIs 2GB cards to NVs 2GB cards, oh, NVs 2GB cards are all lower end, guess ATI wins. Lets bring in those 3GB cards, oh, they are twice the price of a 2GB ATI card, hmm...

Quote:
All the while totally ignoring you could use 2 X 2GB GTX560Tis like I do to get a better gaming experience than two 2GB 6950s,
No you wouldn't. 6950s would be faster.

Quote:
or 2 X 3GB GTX580s to get a better experience than 2 X 2GB 6970s.
Yep, for the low price of about twice what the 6970s would cost, you could in fact be slightly faster and have enough ram for those one in a million 3x2560x1600 setups. Twice the money, tiny bit faster, grats.

Quote:
Why don't you two just have sex and be done with it?

Seriously, you're both ****ing idiots and are ruining yet another thread.
I know you have your panties in a twist about me brah! but if you look above you'll see that Trollo here was the one that wandered off on a "ATI cards are bad!!111oneone" tangent.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-11, 04:11 AM   #18
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

I'm hoping Bulldozer is all that some people believe it will be. But in reality. I honestly thing Sandybridge-E will be faster.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-11, 06:33 AM   #19
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
I'm hoping Bulldozer is all that some people believe it will be. But in reality. I honestly thing Sandybridge-E will be faster.
I honestly think my 990X will be faster. However, I think AMD can still compete by being close and pricing appropriately.

Back in the Athlon days I bought AMD and put up with strange motherboards just to support competition in direct response to Intel's pricing on PIIs.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-11, 09:03 PM   #20
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Wow, I kind of expected to see Gulftown v.s. Zambezi stuff in a thread titled Gulftown v.s. Zambezi, not another idiotic thread.

I'll go look in the 480/580 thread for Gulftown v.s. Zambezi, maybe it's there.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-05-11, 09:05 PM   #21
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
Yet another ridiculous thread derailment.

Hopefully this BD delay doesn't mean another Barcelona, I'm itching to see some competition again.
Yep, me too. I'll be getting at least an 1155 setup, but I'm holding off until I see everything that's coming soon and what it can do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-11, 10:20 AM   #22
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Guess who's fault was that, again?
Yeah, that wasn't clear in my post. I agree - and this is getting ridiculous.

Rollo - people are going to like and are going to use what they like regardless of how hard you push any other product. I've chatted with numerous other people who don't even want to bother with gfx or other forums you get going in. Do the math.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-11, 10:49 AM   #23
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Yet another thread that I have to play babysitter. This is getting really old, really fast.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-11, 10:51 AM   #24
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Place your bets: Sandy Bridge/Gulftown v.s. Zambezi

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
Yet another thread that I have to play babysitter. This is getting really old, really fast.
Sorry DD - I'll back out.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.