Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-11, 08:37 AM   #1
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Game booster

Anyone tried it out on win7 64bit? does it help performance or otherwise?
http://www.iobit.com/gamebooster.html

I normally dont use **** like this but seeing as my pc is 4yo I want to squeeze every bit of power I can of it. (It still runs quite nice)


Besides this(if it dont work) is there any way beyond OC that can improve performance? I have msconfig cleared and not needed software uninstalled If thats What You are going to suggest
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 09:12 AM   #2
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Game booster

I'd throw in another 2gb of ram in your pc and you should be good to go, this app can't compensate for a lack of memory. The cpu/gpu is still sufficient.
__________________
2500k/Asus P67-Pro/8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3/X25-M/p190
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 09:18 AM   #3
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Game booster

I am planning to make whole new setup after this summer with around 8gb of ram and best hardware possibly avaible to human... but thats in about 4 months so I still have to use this rig.

btw. Really any big difference ddr2 vs ddr3?
My mobo supports ddr2 up to 800mhz only. I could possibly throw ram right now into it if I wouldnt change mobo in upcoming upgrade.
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 10:55 AM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Game booster

I've tried it before. It's more for killing services and programs that aren't necessary to free up CPU cycles and some RAM. It can do some other things. I am sure it helps, but I don't know if the improvement is noticeable.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 11:24 AM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Game booster

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
I am planning to make whole new setup after this summer with around 8gb of ram and best hardware possibly avaible to human... but thats in about 4 months so I still have to use this rig.

btw. Really any big difference ddr2 vs ddr3?
My mobo supports ddr2 up to 800mhz only. I could possibly throw ram right now into it if I wouldnt change mobo in upcoming upgrade.
Not really worth bothering if you want to update everything else. There is going to be more bandwidth between DDR2 and DDR3, but it's more dependant upon the processor you upgrade it with. (Since the memory controller is on die) A sandy bridge i7 is going to be considerably faster clock for clock than anything you could put into your current board. On top of that you can get a higher OC.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 12:14 PM   #6
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Game booster

So You are saying that I should stay with this mobo, Get i7 on in and just add ram instead of changing whole mobo?
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 01:04 PM   #7
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Game booster

Your board doesn't support i7...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 01:27 PM   #8
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Game booster

HizCok, best for you is brand new setup with 2600k i think, with a single maybe 570
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-29-11, 02:49 PM   #9
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Game booster

Hell yeah. But I was thinking about 580-590..
There will be time to think about that. Then i will use a proper topic about this and You will all help me out then Just a few months more I hope
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-11, 05:43 PM   #10
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Game booster

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Your board doesn't support i7...
^^ THIS

I meant that even if you kept the board and got a high end quad, it will still be considerbly slower than a Sandy Bridge processor on an LGA1155 motherboard.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-11, 06:00 AM   #11
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Game booster

if u already have a clean system, (ie not have 30 unwated services starting up/programs)....then this is a pointless program.

and if ure using this...then maybe its better to learn what is going on ure startup instead of letting a program 'auto' boost stuff for u lol...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.