Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-11, 08:10 PM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Gigabit NAS?

are there any decent not really expensive 2-bay NAS units?

I found a interesting LG unit, but with max transfer speed of about 30mb/s, and Netgear with 25mb/s. Why can't NAS units be faster, this is very slow for gigabit network.
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-11, 09:54 PM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

I honestly don't know of any. Problem is they use cheaper hardware and usually run a stripped down linux samba server. I've never seen samba work all that fast. If you got a micro atx board with an atom processor you could probably throw Windows 7 on that and push 50MBps+.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-11, 11:03 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

that might be a better solution, will look into it
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 01:13 PM   #4
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

Yea, something like this has the cpu and board. Just need some cheap laptop memory and a small PSU. Only thing I'm not seeing is I don't think this board would support RAID. So you could only plug two individual drives into it.


Actually for $90 gigabyte has a board with RAID 0, 1, and JBOD support and 4 SATA headers. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-452-_-Product

Hmm... That gigabyte board is quite tempting. Since it only requires a 20 pin power supply I practically have all of the other parts just laying around to build a pc from it.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 02:04 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

looking for ITX case that would support 4 hard drives, so far nothing on the egg.
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 02:20 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

Quote:
Mini-ITX is a 17 x 17 cm (or 6.7 x 6.7 inches) low-power motherboard form factor developed by VIA Technologies.[1] Mini-ITX is slightly smaller than microATX. Mini-ITX boards can often be passively cooled due to their low power consumption architecture, which makes them useful for home theater PC systems, where fan noise can detract from the cinema experience. Beside that specific application, they are commonly used in small form factor (SFF) computer systems. The four mounting holes in a Mini-ITX board line up with four of the holes in ATX-specification motherboards, and the locations of the backplate and expansion slot are the same (though one of the holes used was optional in earlier versions of the ATX spec). Mini-ITX boards can therefore often be used in cases designed for ATX, micro-ATX and other ATX variants if desired.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mini-ITX

According to wiki you should be able to just throw it into any ATX case you have laying around. If it's something that is just going to sit in the closet out of sight then you don't need to worry about aesthetics.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 11:05 PM   #7
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

nice, might just buy microATX case then
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-11, 02:06 PM   #8
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

http://www.netgear.com/home/products...y/RND4000.aspx
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-11, 02:18 PM   #9
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Gigabit NAS?

I'm a big fan of full fledged file servers for the home. I run Windows and have Subsonic for streaming. It also acts as my bastion server for SSH and tunneled RDP.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.