Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Mobile Devices And Smartphones

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-11, 01:20 AM   #1
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Wifi at home question

I recently bought myself a Samsung galaxy S2, my first smartphone. The complete newb as i am to both wireless networks and smartphones i'm wondering what i need to do to have a working wifi at home that uses the same line i use for my pc ? I want to download a few games etc to it but they won't dl without a wifi connection and it's a drag trying to find free/open ones. I have a 100/100mbit connection 3 separate ip's an 3 wallsockets so i can use 3 pc's/consoles at the same time without the need for a router.

Need a simple sollution for this, any ideas ?
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 04:04 AM   #2
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Do you have a wireless router? That's all you need.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 08:28 AM   #3
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbrushkid View Post
Do you have a wireless router? That's all you need.
Nope, don't have one but i guess i'll have to get one .
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-11, 09:33 AM   #4
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Wifi is wireless. And you want to use wifi of the phone then yes you'll need a wireless router.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 09:03 AM   #5
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Wifi at home question

LOL sammy you are a prime candidate for a router.
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-11, 10:24 AM   #6
Hogrider
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Some people still don't have wireless routers in these times?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 05:30 PM   #7
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogrider View Post
Some people still don't have wireless routers in these times?
Why would you need one without wireless devices at home ? Never had one before that needed internet and now i basicly just want it for the android phone, for apps, games etc. I would never connect my pc through wireless, it's much easier just plugging the tp cable straight into the wall socket for the fibre connection. Can't get the full bandwith over wifi, 65% of the 100mbit available seems to be the limit.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 05:32 PM   #8
Hogrider
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Some people still don't have wireless devices to connect to a wireless router in these times?

We've got an ipad2, ipod touch4g, 2 android phones, printer and pc connected wirelessly
Wired we have a pc, blu ray player, HD DVR and XBOX 360
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-11, 05:50 PM   #9
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogrider View Post
Some people still don't have wireless devices to connect to a wireless router in these times?

We've got an ipad2, ipod touch4g, 2 android phones, printer and pc connected wirelessly
Wired we have a pc, blu ray player, HD DVR and XBOX 360
I have a wired PC, PS3, 360 and a printer. The galaxy S2 is the first smartphone i've owned and i never felt the need to add a wireless network just to surf the net on the smallass screen on my previous phones.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 06:05 PM   #10
Hogrider
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Wifi at home question

I don't like to surf on the phone either. I do like having my Android phone on my wifi network to make wifi calls though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 06:22 PM   #11
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogrider View Post
I don't like to surf on the phone either. I do like having my Android phone on my wifi network to make wifi calls though.
Yea sounds like a good idea that.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 10:14 PM   #12
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: Wifi at home question

Sammy how much do you pay for those additional IP addresses? NAT is your best friend.
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.