Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-11, 11:27 PM   #1
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default remote loging via the internet

Hey everybody,

I have a buisness doing video editing/ promo videos for camps and other places. for this summer Im doing several camps that are not local and i like to set up a server so I can get there files with out driving all they out to them and getting them.

that being said, i have no clue about networking. I set up the computer i would like to use for the server and connected it to the internet. how would I set the computer up so the clients could loging to it via the internet and drag and drop there files onto it. they should be able to loging from any computer and also be able to view preview files i could leave for them. another part of it is that for each orginization there may be more then one user. each user would have the same privilagis and be able to view other users (but not other clients) files.

I understand that I have to make a website for this, and host it on the server. so bacicly, where do i start?

thanks in advance,
-yitz-
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 12:46 AM   #2
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

I suppose you could use wikimedia or wordpress to do something like that.

Another (possibly easier) way would be to setup an FTP server where the clients would upload the files, and just use Apache authentication for the clients directories. Then of course you would need a central username/password database to contain the accounts used by the FTP server and Apache. You could accomplish both using a MySQL database or LDAP.

Good luck!
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-11, 01:14 PM   #3
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

what about gotomy pc or something to that extent? or get a web provider with FTP access and create an account for your client against the FTP server directory that you want to give them access to?
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-11, 06:22 PM   #4
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

ok. thanks for the reponces you two. im starting the google to learn session now.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-11, 06:23 PM   #5
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

can i do both? FTP and a Web server on one computer?
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-11, 06:30 PM   #6
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
can i do both? FTP and a Web server on one computer?
Yep. IIS will do both out of the box quite easily. Or you could just run two or more products to meet your needs.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-11, 06:02 PM   #7
DansFace
Registered User
 
DansFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

*nevermind*
__________________
Now Playing: Skyrim & BF3

i5 2500k @ 5.0 GHZ cooled with a H70, ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3, CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) , Radeon 6970 2GB, X-Fi Music, and Corsair 650w
DansFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-11, 12:12 PM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
can i do both? FTP and a Web server on one computer?
Don't use Windows. Set up a Linux box. Start with something easy like Ubuntu. Run SSH on the box and create usernames/passwords for each user. Then they can use WinSCP to login and transfer files to the machine (create a directory with permissions for everyone). Then as root you can access all their files.

If you want to get fancy, you could setup up a VPN (e.g. OpenVPN) on your local network, then use Windows sharing to share a drive. Then users could VPN into your network and transfer their files to the windows machine.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-11, 01:29 PM   #9
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

iis wont start. when i go to enable it in the control panal it gives me an error message that says some components were unalbe to start. nothing in the internet section will start/ bee allowed to be enabled.
@vin, im goinf to try to use windows. if just because i know where everything is and I dont have tome to learn a new OS
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-11, 05:24 PM   #10
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

Download FileZilla server.

http://filezilla-project.org/

It's a free and easy to setup FTP solution for Windows with a nice GUI.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-11, 05:40 PM   #11
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
iis wont start. when i go to enable it in the control panal it gives me an error message that says some components were unalbe to start. nothing in the internet section will start/ bee allowed to be enabled.
@vin, im goinf to try to use windows. if just because i know where everything is and I dont have tome to learn a new OS
What Operating System?
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-11, 10:39 PM   #12
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: remote loging via the internet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
What Operating System?
vista ultamate x64 it havent activated it yet if that helps.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.