Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-11, 01:47 PM   #13
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

I used the built in feature for returning windows to just before the chipset drivers are installed , whats that called?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 01:49 PM   #14
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

sysprep
Run sysprep with the switches /generalize and /shutdown. After the machine atomatically shuts down swap the motherboard.

rename drives to their previous designations then gravy
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 02:57 PM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
20 mins and up and gong.
then you have nothing installed, for me it would take atleast couple days, I have many applications and games installed on the PC.
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 04:52 PM   #16
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
sysprep
Run sysprep with the switches /generalize and /shutdown. After the machine atomatically shuts down swap the motherboard.

rename drives to their previous designations then gravy
Thanks danger, had no idea about this command. I think I am going to try this route.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 05:12 PM   #17
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
then you have nothing installed, for me it would take atleast couple days, I have many applications and games installed on the PC.
Well maybe nothing compared to youz guyz. What apps and games do you have installed?
I keep all of my games and apps backups on a 16GB thumb drive USB 3.0.

Office 07
firefox
adobe cs
steam
MSE
malewarebites
music
photos wallpapers & PSD grafix I made.
QTlite
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 07:42 PM   #18
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

188 programs/games (not including all the games on steam) installed
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 08:54 PM   #19
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

good grief. Make image send to NAS.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 09:55 PM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Changing motherboard w/out reinstalling Windows?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
good grief. Make image send to NAS.
I do, but changing boards would not be any different in that case.

I make a backup every month, if something gets screwed, I restore it, this way it never gets so bad that requires monthly reinstalls like some people.

oldest program/game on my system is Splinter Cell Double Agent installed 5/5/2007, that is around the time when I last time installed/reinstalled windows. with good maintance you won't have any performance penalties.
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.