Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 07-27-11, 01:32 PM   #1
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer

Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default New case and liquid cooling on the way

Well, I've decided to bite the bullet and go back to liquid cooling. the summer heat has my cpu load temps in the high 90's *C when video encoding and they're staying there for hours on end. No stability issues but I just don't like them that high for so long.

My Lian Li case right now isn't really the worlds best for liquid so I splurged and got the Obsidian 650D that I've been drooling over for the last 6 months.

After seeing some examples of liquid setups in this case, I decided to go with the XPSC Rasa 240 kit from frozen cpu

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11...ngqk&mv_pc=582

I considered the one with the larger radiator but decided against it due to possible clearance issues in the top of the case and the fact that it could very well be perfectly fine for keeping my 920 cooled. I can always add another 120mm rad in the back port or one in the front but I doubt it will come to that.

everything will hopefully be here by this weekend so I'll update this thread once the stuff shows up.

4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 01:52 PM   #2
Roadhog
Resident Alien