Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-12, 11:50 AM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Did'nt Know 4 sticks Of Memory on a EX58

I have a i7-920 on a Gigabyte EX58-UD5 and I was looking to get some more memory since it is so cheap at the moment.I was looking at the 12gig kits and the 16gig kit and they were about the same price $79 and $84 ,the 16gig kit was $5 more.I did not know that you could run 4 sticks and still be in 3 channel mode on a EX58 board..The kit said it was optimize for the new chips but it ran just fine in my old board. The G.Skill DDR 1333 7-7-7-21 1.5v,it will run at 1600mhz at 8-8-8-24 1.5v,It will even run at 1866Mhz at 10-10-10-30 1.5v.This is pretty good memory to be so cheap.I have alway ran it at 1200mhz anyway since 1600mhz did'nt really show no gain,Plus my CPU run a little cooler at 1.5v instead of 1.64v that my OCZ had to run at.It does load my desktop quicker ,I have ran any benchmarks ,but I doubt there will be any difference .I hope it makes decoding faster.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-12, 12:41 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Did'nt Know 4 sticks Of Memory on a EX58

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055 View Post
I have a i7-920 on a Gigabyte EX58-UD5 and I was looking to get some more memory since it is so cheap at the moment.I was looking at the 12gig kits and the 16gig kit and they were about the same price $79 and $84 ,the 16gig kit was $5 more.I did not know that you could run 4 sticks and still be in 3 channel mode on a EX58 board..The kit said it was optimize for the new chips but it ran just fine in my old board. The G.Skill DDR 1333 7-7-7-21 1.5v,it will run at 1600mhz at 8-8-8-24 1.5v,It will even run at 1866Mhz at 10-10-10-30 1.5v.This is pretty good memory to be so cheap.I have alway ran it at 1200mhz anyway since 1600mhz did'nt really show no gain,Plus my CPU run a little cooler at 1.5v instead of 1.64v that my OCZ had to run at.It does load my desktop quicker ,I have ran any benchmarks ,but I doubt there will be any difference .I hope it makes decoding faster.
My motherboard only has four DIMM slots. I believe what it does is a bit of a hybrid implementation. It'll run three sticks in tri-channel, and one in single. So that way you'll see a performance boost due to the tri-channel, but can still enjoy greater amounts of memory.

Not 100% certain on this my self, but I've got all four DIMM slots populated, all 16GB shows up correctly, but every where I look it is reported as running in Tri-channel. Can't say I've seen any real performance benefit from dual channel so maybe it is being reported wrong. Don't know.

Anyhow I've always valued quantity over dual vs tri-channel.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-12, 01:04 PM   #3
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: Did'nt Know 4 sticks Of Memory on a EX58

I have six slot and if I ran them in slots 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 it will run in dual channel .my book says if it is running in flex mode it will be posted when it boots up ,but I have'nt seen it say flex mode nowhere .I don't know how it really works either ,but my manual says it will run in Tri-mode with 3 ,4 or 6 modules.When windows boots up I can tell a difference ,have not tested it in any benchmarks yet .I wanted it so maybe my decodeing would be faster.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-12, 01:46 PM   #4
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: Did'nt Know 4 sticks Of Memory on a EX58

With this memory my WEI went up on the CPU and memory to 7.8 was 7.6. I guess it is doing something faster.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-12, 07:17 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Did'nt Know 4 sticks Of Memory on a EX58

nvm... read th op and thought you are putting 1.5V through your CPU
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.