Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Vote!
Yes 30 83.33%
No 6 16.67%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-11, 02:05 PM   #1
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Do you use an SSD?

Do you have an SSD installed in your computer?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-11, 02:40 PM   #2
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

I do, and I will not go back to HDD.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-11, 06:00 PM   #3
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

yep, quite a few
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-11, 06:25 PM   #4
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

Not yet but planning on getting one soon. I could never justify the price/performance/storage space up untill now.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-11, 08:50 PM   #5
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

No it not worth get one if you are heavy user.

I thought about buy one months ago but after read on Overclockers UK forum with horrible reports from customers with many failed SSDs occured after weekly backups, heavy gaming usage or use lots of apps daily so current SSDs are not very reliable with heavy multitasking usage.

SSDs with MLC Flash use upto 10,000 write cycles per sector and SLC use upto 100,000 write cycles per sector, these are suitable to light usage on tablets and laptops.

HP, Hynix, Samsung and others are now developing Flash NAND successor called ReRAM that are 10 times faster than 22nm NAND, able to double the memory space cheaper than NAND, use half power consumption than NAND and can write more than 1 trillion write cycles per sector. SSDs with ReRAM will launch in 2013, it will replace both Flash NAND SSDs and HDDs as ReRAM now far more reliable than either MLC and SLC Flash NAND and it finally can be use for very heavy users.

Cant wait to buy maybe 3x 2TB ReRAM SSDs to get rid of noisy HDDs in 2013.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-11, 10:39 PM   #6
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,865
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800 View Post
No it not worth get one if you are heavy user.

I thought about buy one months ago but after read on Overclockers UK forum with horrible reports from customers with many failed SSDs occured after weekly backups, heavy gaming usage or use lots of apps daily so current SSDs are not very reliable with heavy multitasking usage.

SSDs with MLC Flash use upto 10,000 write cycles per sector and SLC use upto 100,000 write cycles per sector, these are suitable to light usage on tablets and laptops.

HP, Hynix, Samsung and others are now developing Flash NAND successor called ReRAM that are 10 times faster than 22nm NAND, able to double the memory space cheaper than NAND, use half power consumption than NAND and can write more than 1 trillion write cycles per sector. SSDs with ReRAM will launch in 2013, it will replace both Flash NAND SSDs and HDDs as ReRAM now far more reliable than either MLC and SLC Flash NAND and it finally can be use for very heavy users.

Cant wait to buy maybe 3x 2TB ReRAM SSDs to get rid of noisy HDDs in 2013.
Honestly most SSD users are heavy users. I am and I've been using SSD's for years.

If you're really worried about short MTBF, just get 8GB of ram (anything more is a waste) and then disable your paging file. That will reduce the number of writes by a huge margin.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-11, 01:31 PM   #7
ICE2K
AMAZON LUVA
 
ICE2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: BKLYN
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to ICE2K
Lightbulb Re: Do you use an SSD?

__________________
WINS ICE XP V6 SP3
INTEL CORE I7 870 CPU
INTEL DP55KG OC 4.3GHZ
8GB RAM
EVGA GTX 560 TI 1GB
DUAL 17" MONITORS
320,2X 1.5 TB SATA HD'S
CORSAIR CARBIDE SERIES 300R
COOLER MASTER EXTREME 500W PSU

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/picture.php?albumid=34&pictureid=342
ICE2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 09:35 PM   #8
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

hell ya, pc and laptop...
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-11, 10:55 PM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

Nope...

1st time I went to buy 1 I came home with a new Nike Driver

2nd time I went to buy 1 I traded in the Nike Driver and came home with an R11 Driver

3rd time I went to buy 1 I came home with new TaylorMade Burner 2.0 set of irons

Still need an R11 3 wood and 5 wood at about $250 a piece... it could be awhile
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-11, 08:28 AM   #10
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,054
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

SSD = best money ever spent.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-11, 10:28 AM   #11
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

Well I had on OCZ vertex fail on me after a year but I RMA'ed it and got my M4. When I got the Vertex back it went straight into my laptop. I don't think I could go back to a mechanical drive as my main drive again.
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-11, 10:41 AM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Do you use an SSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcolbourn View Post
Well I had on OCZ vertex fail on me after a year but I RMA'ed it and got my M4. When I got the Vertex back it went straight into my laptop. I don't think I could go back to a mechanical drive as my main drive again.
This
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.