Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-03, 07:11 PM   #1
Asbel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Default TwinView help?

Okay, so I've tried everything in the ReadMe trying to get TwinView to work. I have a two-port GeForce 4 ti4600 (one VGA and one DVI adapted to VGA) with a CRT attached to the VGA and a LCD attached to the DVI. When I load up my edited XF86Config-4 I get an image on the second monitor, but nothing on the first. My XF86Config-4 is below, can anyone help me? Has anyone had this problem?
I've commented out the stuff I added, it's sort of a Xinerama/TwinView hybrid at the moment...


Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
#DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
#Option "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbCompat" ""
Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "BigOne"
VendorName "ViewSonic"
ModelName "ViewSonic PF795"
HorizSync 30-110
VertRefresh 50-180
EndSection

#Section "Monitor"
#Identifier "LittleOne"
#VendorName "Samsung"
#ModelName "SyncMaster 152B"
#HorizSync 30-60
#VertRefresh 50-75
#EndSection

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
# ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -v

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync # ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
# ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVidiaCard"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 (generic)"
Driver "nv"
Option "DPMS"
#Option "TwinView" "true"
#Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-61"
#Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-75"
#Option "MetaModes" "1024x768"
#Option "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "NVidiaCard"
Monitor "BigOne"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

#Section "Screen"
#Identifier "screen2"
#Device "NvidiaCard"
#Monitor "LittleOne"
#DefaultColorDepth 24

#Subsection "Display"
#Depth 24
#Modes "1024x768"#EndSubsection
#EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Simple Layout"
Screen "Screen1"
#Screen "Screen2" LeftOf "Screen1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
EndSection
Asbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 09:39 AM   #2
Bill Perkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default nvidia configuration problem

I think your problem may be that in your config file you identify the displays as CRT. The DVI flat panel display should be identified as DFP
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,DFP"

Hope this helps
Bill Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 02:23 PM   #3
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Use the nvidia driver, currently you have this which uses the xfree86 driver:
Driver "nv"

What Bill said is correct too.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 03:06 PM   #4
Asbel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Both are excellent advice, however I've tried both to no avail. Identifying the second monitor as DFP causes XFree86 to tell me that there are no monitors attached. Identifying the driver as "nvidia" also causes nothing to work....

--
Francis
Asbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 07:38 PM   #5
Bill Perkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

The X error log may give you some more detail on why this is failing. I recommend that you try configuring each screen alone first, then worry about setting up the twinview option. I personally do not recommend using Xinerama and twinview together - I would set Xinerama to off.
I also do not recommend that you have a second screen defined. The twinview setup implicitly identifies the second screen. Adding another separate screen definition may be part of the problem.
Bill Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 07:42 PM   #6
Bill Perkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Here is a copy of one of my config files if it helps. Look at the serverlayout and screen sections

# /

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/URW"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/PEX"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/kwintv"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/truetype"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/uni:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/xtest"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS0"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS1"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS2"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS3"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS4"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS5"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS6"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS7"
InputDevices "/dev/ttyS8"
InputDevices "/dev/psaux"
InputDevices "/dev/logibm"
InputDevices "/dev/sunmouse"
InputDevices "/dev/atibm"
InputDevices "/dev/amigamouse"
InputDevices "/dev/atarimouse"
InputDevices "/dev/inportbm"
InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
InputDevices "/dev/mouse"
InputDevices "/dev/usbmouse"
InputDevices "/dev/adbmouse"
InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
InputDevices "/dev/input/event0"
InputDevices "/dev/pointer0"
InputDevices "/dev/pointer1"
InputDevices "/dev/pointer2"
InputDevices "/dev/pointer3"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail"
Option "RandR" "on"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
Load "freetype"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "v4l"
Load "hyperpen"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "Keyboard"
Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
Option "MapName" "Standard Keyboard [ pc104 ]"
Option "Protocol" "Standard"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
Driver "mouse"
Identifier "Mouse[1]"
Option "ButtonNumber" "5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "Name" "Autodetection"
Option "Protocol" "imps/2"
Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "tablet"
Driver "hyperpen"
Option "Device" "/dev/ttyS1"
Option "Mode" "absolute"
Option "Cursor" "Puck"
Option "XSize" "600"
Option "YSize" "450"
Option "AlwaysCore"
Option "BaudRate" "9600"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
# DisplaySize 310 230
Identifier "Monitor[0]"
ModelName "1280X1024@60HZ"
Option "DPMS"
VendorName "--> VESA"
VertRefresh 50-160
HorizSync 28-64
EndSection



Section "Screen"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
Device "Device[0]"
Identifier "Screen[0]"
Monitor "Monitor[0]"
Option "TwinView" "On"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-54"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-150"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480 "
EndSection


Section "Device"
BoardName "GeForce4 MX 440"
BusID "1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
Option "Rotate" "off"
VendorName "NVidia"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Screen 0
EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout[all]"
InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "tablet"
Option "Clone" "off"
Option "Xinerama" "off"
Screen "Screen[0]"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group "video"
Mode 0660
EndSection
Bill Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-03, 10:05 PM   #7
Asbel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I got it working, thanks very much for everyone's help. I'm not sure exactly what was wrong because I just fiddled with things and all of a sudden I had a picture on both monitors... So I fiddled more with what made sense and got it to work perfectly. I'm really happpy with it and I'll post my config later so others can look at it.

--
Francis
Asbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-03, 11:08 AM   #8
wimberlye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Would you please post your working config file for twinview?

thanks
wimberlye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-03, 02:41 AM   #9
Zog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2
Default TwinView

I have the same Video card using two matching Hp CRTs. I can't enable Twinview. Does anyone see where I am going wrong?
Attached Files
File Type: txt test.txt (3.3 KB, 132 views)
Zog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-03, 02:47 AM   #10
Zog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2
Default Twinview (repost)

I have the same Video card (Ti4600) using two matching Hp CRTs. I can't enable Twinview. Does anyone see where I am going wrong?

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "HP A4576A (P1100) 21-inch Display"
HorizSync 30.0 - 107.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Visiontek"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600 0x0250"
Option "TwinView" "On"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 107.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50.0 - 160.0"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Zog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-03, 09:32 AM   #11
dougF
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Zog:

Just got my Quadro 400 NVS card this week & had the same problem. Looks like you need to specify a MetaMode for EACH monitor, like this:

Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200,1600x1200"

Otherwise, the second screen defaults to NULL. Hope that helps.


Doug
dougF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.