Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-02, 11:17 AM   #13
LaoTzuTao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to LaoTzuTao
Default

I was just thinking...if I set up these variables in .bashrc, will I have to start the apps from console? Or will it still work if I just click a link I already have to the app on my desktop?
LaoTzuTao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 12:04 PM   #14
Anthaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 197
Default

That's the beauty of the .bashrc file.
The settings are enabled before you launch your games. Therefore ALL your OpenGL apps will take advantage of the .bashrc settings automatically.

Don't forget to restart X after modifying the .bashrc file.
__________________
Use the source, Tux.
Anthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 12:22 PM   #15
LaoTzuTao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to LaoTzuTao
Default

Well it wasn't working at first, so I tried putting a space after export Then of course it worked beautifully. 125 fps in TuxRacer at 1024x768x16 with FSAAx4 WOOHOO! heh, I'll have to test it one some real games one of these days...anyone know any good ones? Once again thanks for all your help!
LaoTzuTao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 12:37 PM   #16
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Anthaus
Interesting!

So, maybe I could set an alias at the .bashrc file (set1, for example) and call the game from a launcher with the command:

set1;quake3

Is that right? How could I program that alias?
Yeah, it'd look like alias set1='export __GL_FSAA_MODE=2 ; export __GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO=3 ; export __GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=1' Then set1 ; quake3 would set the variables to these values and run Q3. Of course, they'd be set to these values until you changed them (perhaps with a set2 or something), but you'd have to figure out ways to do that.

Aliases are good for saving typing, or for nonstandard options to commands that you want to be the standard (like the "--color=auto -F" for ls). But they work well for this too.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 12:55 PM   #17
Anthaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 197
Default

bwkaz:
Thanks, man!
I'll try those as soon as possible.

LaoTzuTao:
Quake 3 is a fine game and it's pretty simple to make it run on linux. UT, without S3TC, is pretty simple as well. Return to Castle Wolfenstein is a bit tricky, but it runs flawless.

Don't forget about the upcoming:
Unreal Tournament 2003,
Neverwinter Nights.
Doom III.

See www.tuxgames.com for more details.
__________________
Use the source, Tux.
Anthaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishonored trailer returns to the sewer of questions, shows city of many murders News Archived News Items 0 09-18-12 10:40 AM
Arma 3 E3 hands-on preview: 8 important questions answered News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
FSAA not working with 2.4.18-10 and 1.0-3123 perryd NVIDIA Linux 5 09-20-02 10:22 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 08:03 AM
Can't see improved image quality with AA/AF imtim83 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 17 08-05-02 02:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.