Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-03, 05:51 PM   #1
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default X take 5 minutes to start

Hi ,

I had install lastest nvidia driver 1.0.4496 , and X take 5 min. to start until the Nvidia logo , after it 's ok .

I saw on the FAQ :
Quote:
Q: X takes a long time to start (possibly several minutes). What can
I do?

A: Most of the startx delay problems we have found are caused by incorrect
data in video BIOSes about what display devices are possibly connected
or what i2c port should be used for detection. You can work around
these problems with the XF86Config option "IgnoreDisplayDevices"
(please see the description in (app-d) APPENDIX D: XF86CONFIG OPTIONS).
I had put in my /etc/X11/XF86config-4
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "tv , dfp , crt" but it doesn't change any thing .
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-03, 05:53 PM   #2
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

my XF86config-4
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (2.9 KB, 170 views)
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-03, 05:54 PM   #3
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

my /var/log/XFree86.log
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (25.2 KB, 128 views)
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 03:43 AM   #4
stasik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Lightbulb

Try
Option "IgnoreEDID"
stasik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 07:02 AM   #5
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stasik
Try
Option "IgnoreEDID"
I did it , but it don't work

thx for your help
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 08:22 AM   #6
dys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16
Default

What distro is it that you are using ???

I use Gentoo and and periodicallly I have to rebuild my font cache after updating certain things (kdelibs, Xfree etc etc) otherwise X takes along time to start.
Perhaps you should try doing this ??

The command i use is fc-cache (could be different in your distro) as root.

Give it a go, it cant hurt

dys
dys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 08:30 AM   #7
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

I use MDK 9.1 , I will try u're thing
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 08:40 AM   #8
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

it doesn't work
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-01-03, 08:49 AM   #9
dys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Has this only happened since 1.0.4496, does it take as long if your roll back to a previous version ???
dys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 10:08 AM   #10
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

It's like this until the 1.0.3123 , I always return to the 3123 because they work , but I try to play ET and Q3 on the 4496 , they are really better
ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-03, 07:40 PM   #11
ipnoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

ipnoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-03, 11:51 PM   #12
gristle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I'm also getting this problem. X takes 5-15 minutes to start.

My system:

dual AMD Athlon 1800MP
tyan tigerMPX MoBo
1GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 3 Ti 200
SB Audigy generic

OS:

Redhat 9

using latest nVidia drivers.
gristle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 09:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
Play Tera for 30 minutes in your browser for free News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 06:50 AM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:00 PM
Nero5.5.9.9 & "Empty Start Menu Entries" bug !!! cenkog General Software 2 09-21-02 12:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.