Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-11, 11:23 AM   #1
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Hi,

Just updated to 290.06 on Ubuntu 11.04. Whenever I use the terminal or takes a screenshot, gnome-terminal and gnome-screenshot would not shut down even after the terminal is closed and the screenshot is taken. "gnome-terminal" or "gnome-screenshot" would still linger in the background and use up 100% of cpu. Downgraded the Nvidia driver to 285.05 and it is back to normal again. Found a posting about the same bug on the gentoo forum as well.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t...0-start-0.html

Please look into it, thanks.
john b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-11, 01:49 PM   #2
gonzo_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Please generate an nvidia-bug-report when the terminal is eating up your CPU and show us the output of strace when the problem occurs:

Quote:
strace -o strace_output.txt gnome-terminal
gonzo_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-11, 12:24 PM   #3
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Here is the trace for gnome-screenshot. After taking the screenshot it doesn't exit and uses up 100 cpu in the background

Edited: It seems that I can't upload the trace log or cut and paste it into the text box
john b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-11, 12:42 PM   #4
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Hi,

It seems that I can neither upload the trace log nor cut and paste it into the box (I did "go advance")??
john b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-11, 02:05 PM   #5
gonzo_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

You can. Go Advanced and press the Attachment button next to the Smile one (there will be a list of supported file extensions). Tar you logs (NVidia bug report and strace output) and attach here.
gonzo_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-11, 02:29 PM   #6
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Hi,

I did go advanced and attached the file but it didn't show up after I hit "save". I tried to cut and paste into the text box and but wrap codes around them but when I hit save the text disappeared!
john b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-11, 01:06 PM   #7
gonzo_s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 58
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Strange. Ok, then use pastebin.com
gonzo_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-11, 09:47 PM   #8
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Hi, it is here

http://pastebin.com/PMHGbsBA

This is the trace for gnome-screenshot. It seems that gnome-terminal's failure to exit is triggered by taking screenshots in the first place. After taking a screenshot "gnome-screenshot" would remain running in the background eating up 100% of cpu. If I tried to monitor that with the "top" command then the terminal doesn't shut down either. But if I just run the terminal (without taking screenshot first) then it seems to shut down ok.

I think the file is a bit too big. I got the time out error at pastebin. Even after editing out pages and pages of repeated "gettimeofday..","read" and "mprotect" it still exceeds the 500kb limit, soI have to edit out many more apparently repeated blocks to my untrained eyes. The one being pasted now is a greatly abridged version, I hoped I haven't edited out important information.

Thanks.
john b is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-11, 06:48 PM   #9
john b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: gnome-terminal doesn't shut down with 290.06

Upgraded to 290.10, the issue remains. After taking screenshots gnome-screenshot does not exit but is using 100% cpu in the background.
john b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.