Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-11, 05:03 PM   #1
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Can't overclock 2500k

I've read every guide and forum i can find. But i can't even get it stable at 3.7ghz. Auto voltage gives me 1.34v. I can run Prime95 for 12+ hours. But Skyrim / BF3 Ctd after just a few minutes. Its a Gigabyte z68 board btw. Surely thats enough voltage for 3.7ghz? 4ghz is just the same. Should i increase the voltage more?
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-11, 07:57 PM   #2
dukenukemz
duKe_+
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 38
Send a message via MSN to dukenukemz
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

Are you 100% sure its your CPU? have u tried any other games. BF3 and Skyrim are new games which have many driver issues causing it to crash. There's a few known problems with BF3 that many people cant even boot up the game due to driver problems. i would update ur nvidia drivers to the latest beta ones and try those. other than that revert ur OC to stock and see if it works the performance boost ur going to get in the games is about 2-3 fps with a CPU overclock.
__________________
CPU - I7 2600K 4.5 GHZ
RAM - 8 GB DDR3 1600mhz
GPU - GTX 570 Classified
dukenukemz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-11, 12:41 AM   #3
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
I've read every guide and forum i can find. But i can't even get it stable at 3.7ghz. Auto voltage gives me 1.34v. I can run Prime95 for 12+ hours. But Skyrim / BF3 Ctd after just a few minutes. Its a Gigabyte z68 board btw. Surely thats enough voltage for 3.7ghz? 4ghz is just the same. Should i increase the voltage more?
That seems like waaaaay too much voltage for 3.7ghz.... Have you by chance run a memtest on your RAM? I had a system once that kept getting progressively less stable. First it wouldn't run at 4ghz any more, then 3.8, then 3.6 etc etc. until it would blue screen at stock speeds.

Happened to be a bad stick of RAM.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-11, 12:14 PM   #4
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

I second the notion that it's probably NOT your CPU.
Could be driver/graphic/RAM.
Had to down clock my video card to run skyrim, while it was stable with the other programs.
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-11, 04:50 PM   #5
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

Ok, well, I'm not having much luck tonight. First things, I have the latest Nvidia beta drivers. I can't say for sure that Skyrim / BF3 aren't the issue. All I can say is I'm level 22 in BF3... and at 4ghz it CTDs about 3 times an hour. At stock, its not done it yet. Same with Skyrim, no problems at stock, occasional CTD oced.

I've grabbed memtest86+ 4.20 but it doesn't do anything. I reboot and instead of getting the memtest blue screen with percentage bar as normal, it just sits at "loading operating system". I didn't see any mention of Z68 in the patch notes. I'm just grabbing OCCT to give that a try. I don't see how else I can test the ram. Any ideas?

As for GPUs, I bought factory OC'd GPUs but for the moment have reduced them to Nvidia stock speeds to eliminate them from being the issue.

EDITED: For some reason, the ISO seems to be Memtest 4.10, I'm using the USB one now which is 4.20 and its finally running. I passed all tests once... its on its second run now.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-11, 05:51 PM   #6
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

psu voltages ok ?
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-11, 04:25 PM   #7
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

They look good to me. I have 12.12 on the 12v, 3.34 on the 3.3v and 5.08 on the 5v. Under load they drop about 0.01 - 0.02.

Hmmm, I'm not being too hopeful but I've managed to play a couple of hours of BF3 at 4GHZ without a crash at 1.30v. I changed a setting in the bios labelled performance enchance. It was set to Turbo and I changed it to Standard. In the help text it says set to Standard for improved stability when overclocking. From what I've Googled, it tweaks the memory timings more aggressively.

Even with it set to Turbo, I made it through the night on OCCT (Linpack). So I can now add 5 passes of Memtest86+, a night of Prime95 and a night of OCCT.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-11, 04:50 PM   #8
caseking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can't overclock 2500k

Ram speed/ multiplier. Try the lowest ram speed first. Sandy bridge is VERY robust. I've gone through 4 sets of ram to get good stability at 4.9/ 2133mhz. Also, don't listen to scardycats about voltage being to high. I have had mine for 9 months at 1.45 to 1.50,as long as your temps are less than 80 degrees C, that chip will take it like a real man!!! After all, these things will be obsolete before you electromigrate 'em. Just for giggles, try running your base clock at 101, oddly, it seems to help with stability on some sandies.
caseking is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.