Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-03, 11:47 PM   #1
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Benching Custom UT2K3 Demo

I created my own demo in UT2003 and am getting odd results when I benchmark it. Here are the details:

Graphics card: PowerColor ATI 9800Pro 128MB @ factory default clocks

System specs:
  • AMD Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1.825GHz
  • EPoX 8K3A+ motherboard
  • Samsung PC2700 DDR SDRAM (1) 512MB DIMM
  • VIA Hyperion 4in1 v4.49 drivers
  • 32-Bit Color / Onboard Sound / Vsync Disabled
  • Windows XP Professional w/ Service Pack 1 / DirectX 9b

Benchmark specs:
  • Created demo from console with "demorec mydemo.dem"
  • Map used is DM-Tokara Forest
  • Number of players: 16 (15 bots plus myself)
  • Duration: 5 minutes

For benchmarking I use FRAPS 2.0. I start UT2003, enter "demoplay mydemo.dem" and start logging FRAPS once playback begins.

Here are the results from FRAPS (I've noted the resolution and AA/AF settings for each):

2003-08-23 14:04:54 - UT2003 1600x1200 0AA0AF
Frames: 6450 - Time: 296947ms - Avg: 21.721 - Min: 17 - Max: 27

2003-08-23 14:12:38 - UT2003 1600x1200 6AA16AF
Frames: 6476 - Time: 311238ms - Avg: 20.807 - Min: 10 - Max: 27

2003-08-23 22:17:18 - UT2003 1024x768 6AA16AF
Frames: 6441 - Time: 296627ms - Avg: 21.714 - Min: 17 - Max: 27

2003-08-23 22:24:24 - UT2003 1024x768 0AA0AF
Frames: 6453 - Time: 297057ms - Avg: 21.723 - Min: 17 - Max: 28


These results can't be right. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:03 AM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Make a batch file that says this:

ut2003.exe -nosound -640x480 -exec=blah.txt ini=MaxDetail.ini userini=MaxDetailUser.ini

blah.txt should say this:

demoplay mydemo.dem?timedemo

That SHOULD fix it. If it doesn't, you'll have to set something in UT2003.ini.

Also, you'll have to copy MaxDetail.ini and MaxDetailUser.ini from UT2003\Benchmark\Stuff to UT2003\System.

You won't need to use Fraps either--it'll run the test for your demo, and then dump you back to the main menu. Hit tilde, check the last line of the console for your framerate.

And, change 640x480 to whatever resolution you want.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:05 AM   #3
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Make a batch file that says this:

ut2003.exe -nosound -640x480 -exec=blah.txt ini=MaxDetail.ini userini=MaxDetailUser.ini

blah.txt should say this:

demoplay mydemo.dem?timedemo

That SHOULD fix it. If it doesn't, you'll have to set something in UT2003.ini.

Also, you'll have to copy MaxDetail.ini and MaxDetailUser.ini from UT2003\Benchmark\Stuff to UT2003\System.

You won't need to use Fraps either--it'll run the test for your demo, and then dump you back to the main menu. Hit tilde, check the last line of the console for your framerate.

And, change 640x480 to whatever resolution you want.
Geez, looks like info I could have Googled to find. Thanks for your time man! I'll give this a shot.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:08 AM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually, it's DAMN HARD to find. I asked at B3D, they knew because they do it there, but I had looked for a while beforehand.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:10 AM   #5
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Actually, it's DAMN HARD to find. I asked at B3D, they knew because they do it there, but I had looked for a while beforehand.
Ah, okay. Well now I don't feel so stooopid.

Yeah, now I can tell a difference just watching it run since I added your stuff. Looks like I'm good to go now. Thanks again!
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:35 AM   #6
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Make a batch file that says this:

ut2003.exe -nosound -640x480 -exec=blah.txt ini=MaxDetail.ini userini=MaxDetailUser.ini

blah.txt should say this:

demoplay mydemo.dem?timedemo

That SHOULD fix it. If it doesn't, you'll have to set something in UT2003.ini.

Also, you'll have to copy MaxDetail.ini and MaxDetailUser.ini from UT2003\Benchmark\Stuff to UT2003\System.

You won't need to use Fraps either--it'll run the test for your demo, and then dump you back to the main menu. Hit tilde, check the last line of the console for your framerate.

And, change 640x480 to whatever resolution you want.
Dear gods! Whatever happened to the one-click wonder benchmarking tool including with UT2003?!?

I really never liked UT2k3 that much (I LOVE UT, but the sequel didn't do it for me), so I don't play/bench it much...but I thought the benchmarking tool was a cool idea, it doesn't work that hot in reality or do companies "optimize" for it? (I haven't been following ALL the optimization threads. )
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:39 AM   #7
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
Dear gods! Whatever happened to the one-click wonder benchmarking tool including with UT2003?!?

I really never liked UT2k3 that much (I LOVE UT, but the sequel didn't do it for me), so I don't play/bench it much...but I thought the benchmarking tool was a cool idea, it doesn't work that hot in reality or do companies "optimize" for it? (I haven't been following ALL the optimization threads. )
Yeah, that's there in the system directory but that's too easy now, come on! Seriously, I've *heard* that perhaps that could be optimized for as well...can't remember source now. Anyway, thought I'd create my own timedemo to bench against just in case.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-03, 01:44 AM   #8
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can't optimize for benchmark.exe--it just calls UT2003.exe.

However, Antalus and Asbestos are most certainly optimized.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-24-03, 01:47 AM   #9
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
Can't optimize for benchmark.exe--it just calls UT2003.exe.

However, Antalus and Asbestos are most certainly optimized.
Couldn't I just cheat and rename a few other maps to Antalus and Asbestos after moving/renaming those two? Or is UT2003 sensitive to maps being named right? (I intend to be a LAZY reviewer..... )
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lego Batman 2?s Dynamic Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 02:40 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 10:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.