Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-11, 05:34 PM   #1
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Could use some computer help

So my 2nd computer, use it for backing stuff up, d/ling, ripping ..etc crashed a few months ago (No POST just blank screen). I don't use it a whole lot but would like to get it going again for minimal $$, and time to fix is not an issue. Tried a new PSU same thing, fans turn but no BIOS on the screen when taking a feed from the onboard mobo VGA port. Any ideas how I can narrow it down to CPU or motherboard or even memory?

Some Q's:
Should a mobo POST without a CPU?
Should a mobo POST without memory?

I'm thinking of grabbing a cheap CPU (mobo is LGA775):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...=1ed2prs32lwbl

Thoughts?

Vanz

System:
Q9550 = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115041
mem = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231311
mobo = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130556
PSU = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341018
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-11, 06:10 PM   #2
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanzagar View Post
Some Q's:
Should a mobo POST without a CPU?
Should a mobo POST without memory?

I'm thinking of grabbing a cheap CPU (mobo is LGA775):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...=1ed2prs32lwbl

Thoughts?
No on both of those questions. You won't get a post without either of those crucial components.

The way I'd approach this would be to test every component one at a time in a known good motherboard. If each part works one at a time in there I'd bet your motherboard is dead.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-11, 08:45 PM   #3
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Could use some computer help

My bet would be on the motherboard.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-11, 11:29 PM   #4
dukenukemz
duKe_+
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 38
Send a message via MSN to dukenukemz
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Pull out one ram stick and test the second one if you have two. that will narrow out memory. CPU's almost never fail so id bet its probably 75% Memory issue 24% motherboard 1%cpu.
__________________
CPU - I7 2600K 4.5 GHZ
RAM - 8 GB DDR3 1600mhz
GPU - GTX 570 Classified
dukenukemz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-11, 01:49 AM   #5
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Definitely MSI motherboard, it happened to me before with 2 MSI motherboards died with fans and PSU running.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-11, 02:26 PM   #6
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Re: Could use some computer help

One more quick question, should this mem work in this mobo?

mem = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=ttd1a79tfn2i
mobo = http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=hcs0c4bc8p29

The * by the 1333 in the mobo spec is what has me tentative...
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-11, 08:27 PM   #7
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Yes it should work because even if you don't want to overclock the board to get 1333 speed on the ram, the ram should easily run at a lower speed like 1066.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-11, 10:10 PM   #8
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Thanks -^
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-01-11, 11:32 AM   #9
ryoohki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 72
Default Re: Could use some computer help

Do you have a PC speaker connected onto the MB? that way you could hear if it do a MB Beep and check the code. If it doesn't do any.. great chance it's the MB
ryoohki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.