Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-03, 02:19 AM   #1
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default MDK 9.1 + GF4 4800 SE, cannot startx

Hi, I've successfully installed the latest nvidia driver (1.0-4496 for IA32) but failed to get X started.
Im using Mandrake 9.1 and My sys info is:
- P4 2G on ECS P4S5A/DX+
- GeForce4 4800 SE

I've changed 'nv' to 'nvidia' in XF86Config-4 and have checked that there's a "Load glx" line. There're no "Load dri" and "Load GLcore".

When I typed 'startx' it failed with something "/dev/nvidia0 (Input/Output Error)" . And when I did a 'more /dev/nvidia0' it said the same message.
I've tried to uninstall and re-install and reboot many times but still ended up with the same error.
I've been fooling with this for the whole day and hope someone would give me a hand. Thanks much!

PS: I've attached the XFree86 log file.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (13.2 KB, 110 views)
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 09:18 AM   #2
XoD
Registered User
 
XoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 101
Default linux kernel gateway module...

Your log file says it didn't find or initialize properly you linux kernel gateway module.
You must load this linux module before you start X with the nvidia drivers. Usually you do so with the following command line:
"modprobe nvidia" if everything was installed properly.
XoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 10:35 AM   #3
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Thx for the reply. I did the 'mobprobe nvidia'. It only warned about the driver is no-GPL and it installed. I used 'lsmod' and nvidia is there.
However, when I 'startx' again I got the same error on screen:

============================

XFree86 Version 4.3.0
Release Date: 27 February 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.21-0.13mdksmp i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 12 March 2003
Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Tue Aug 26 11:27:48 2003
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config-4"
Using vt 7
NV: could not open device /dev/nvidia0 (Input/output error)
NV: couldn't map fb (0xd0000000, 134217728M) on /dev/nvidia0 (No such device)
hint: there may be a ulimit restricting the amount of
virtual memory available to XFree86. It may be a good
idea to check your startup scripts for something like

ulimit -v <number>

and either boost this value or remove the line.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

When reporting a problem related to a server crash, please send
the full server output, not just the last messages.
This can be found in the log file "/var/log/XFree86.0.log".
Please report problems to xfree86@xfree86.org.

XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

============================

I've also checked that '/dev/nvidia0' and '/dev/nvidiactl' exist. I attached the XF86Config-4 just in case it's helpful.
Thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (2.7 KB, 115 views)
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 10:37 AM   #4
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Oh. I forgot to mention that I tried 'ulimit' and it said unlimited.

Thanks.
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 10:44 AM   #5
Thorsten Lange
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 6
Default

Are the r/w-permissions on /dev/nvidia* correct?
Thorsten Lange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 11:11 AM   #6
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I dont know if it's correct but I typed 'll /dev/nvidia0' which gave me the follows:

crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 195, 0 Dec 31 1969 /dev/nvidia0
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 11:18 AM   #7
XoD
Registered User
 
XoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 101
Default Indeed...

Indeed, check out the existence/access rights of /dev/nvidia*.
If they do not exist, extract the files from the nvidia drivers package with the following command:
"NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run --extract-only"
Then goes in NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2/usr/src/nv and as root, run makedevices.sh
In theory, it will create the needed entries in /dev.
XoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 11:44 AM   #8
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Unhappy

I did what you suggested but still the same error message and couldnt startx.
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-03, 12:04 PM   #9
XoD
Registered User
 
XoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 101
Default root

Try to run everything as root, even when starting X
XoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 12:29 PM   #10
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default

Oh yes. I forgot to mention above that I login as root and did everything as root.

I've tried to install the MDK9.1 again (several times too) and then install the nvidia driver. I tried the .run package from nvidia and the rpm packaged by the mandrake folks. They gave me the same error. But when I tried to change back to use 'nv' and I could start the KDE.

Does it mean the current nvidia driver is not compatible with GF4 4800 SE and MDK9.1? Or Im just out of luck



Thank you.
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 12:50 PM   #11
XoD
Registered User
 
XoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 101
Default AGP kernel module?

Did you load the linux agp kernel module?
XoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 12:55 PM   #12
delta_fermat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 12
Default What is AGP kernal module?

How do I check if I've loaded the AGP kernal module?
And if I havent , how do I load it?

Thanks!
delta_fermat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.