Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-02, 07:39 PM   #25
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Talking Play America's Army.....

And then you'll know how your machine will do in UT2003. Of course, wait a day or 2 and you'll know anyway

My system plays America's Army very FAST. I am running a GF3 Ti200, oc'ed to beyond GF3 Ti500 levels. How many people with GF3 Ti200s do you think run the card at STOCK SPEED! DUH!

The worst of the Ti200s clock at regular GF3 levels. Most go well beyond that perfectly stable. I'm sure there are some people who don't overclock their Ti200s, but not doing so just throws a good deal of performance out the window.

I don't plan on using AA, but I will use ansio (or -LOD patch) as it has very little impact on my setup. I run America's Army at 1024 x 768, in 32 bit color, all details maxed and I never have any slow ups. 50 to 100 fps seems pretty good to me.

A GF3 cannot run at the higher res's or really use AA, but otherwise if you have a 1.2ghz cpu or above with a GF3 of some kind your not gonna have many problems.

I won't upgrade my video card till XMas time or early next year, maybe even later than that. I just cannot see a need to.

Besides, I want to see how the NV30 compares to the Radeon 9700

And I'm getting kindof mad at every GF4 owner saying how friggen great their damn card is and how everything else is s**t!

The term "Bite Me" comes to mind
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 08:10 PM   #26
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Good man.

I can't play the Army game, cause its multiplayer and I'm not really into that on mer 56k

Oh and that's 'phrase'
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 08:33 PM   #27
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Im yet to play a game (except BF1942), that I can't run on my GF3 @1280*1024. I found AA wasn't that fast and that UT2003 will be faster IMO
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 10:22 PM   #28
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Smile Well, I really only played America's Army....

To see how well my computer did running it because it used the UT2003 engine (Or a similar build).

I play BF1942 demo at 1024 x 768, 32 bit, 4x ansio (Or -LOD patch if its DX instead of OGL) without any problems at all. Of course I am using patched 30.30 drivers with RivaTuner, but hey RT is awesome. Anyway, playing BF1942 online is a blast. I do pretty good. Kindof like spending time 4Wheeling in the Jeeps trying to get em stuck

When the new 40 series Win98 drivers come out, they should boost performance in both GF3 and GF4 cards, since both support pixel and vertex shaders. That will only make UT2003 run better no matter which card you have
Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 11:44 PM   #29
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

of course AFAIK there aren't that many places in UT2003 where pixel shaders are used, and i'm not certain if vertex shaders are used at all. i think the answer is no.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 11:48 PM   #30
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

They said shaders are used in a very minor way. I can't imagine what, but hey, there you have it.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 06:39 AM   #31
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
They said shaders are used in a very minor way. I can't imagine what, but hey, there you have it.
so does that mean vertex shaders are used? because that answer really isn't clear. i thought i remember hearing Sweeney say that VS would not be used, and that PS would be used very lightly, in accordance to what you said. i only know that they will be used for water effects for sure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 07:22 AM   #32
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

That sounds about right.
iirc Rein said the same
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-13-02, 09:18 AM   #33
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk


so does that mean vertex shaders are used? because that answer really isn't clear. i thought i remember hearing Sweeney say that VS would not be used, and that PS would be used very lightly, in accordance to what you said. i only know that they will be used for water effects for sure.
Most likely it means this: Vertex shaders were not part of the design, but hardware with them can be used to make a particular effect more efficient. One problem with fixed function shaders is that they don't know what the programmer was actually trying to achieve and often do more work than necessary, for example when a texture is scrolled across a polygon such as in a water effect, the fixed function shader may do a full 4x4 matrix multiply to calculate new texture coordinates, but a hand coded shader can simply do something like v = v + moveValue saving a few clocks per vertex.

So in summary, I think those with the hardware will get even greater performance, but those without will still get identical looking results.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 11:40 AM   #34
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

5 HOURS!!!!!!!! I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 11:41 AM   #35
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

5+
I cant wait either....too bad im going to my friends house at 6PM bahhh. He only has G2 MX
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 11:53 AM   #36
Spectral
DJ Spectral
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Detroit
Posts: 99
Default

I dont have DSL AT HOME ANYMORE BLAH! They cant release it yet! Wait for my connection to start again!

/me is selfish
__________________
AthlonXP1900+@2100+, Abit KR7A-Raid, Radeon 9700 Pro (core370/mem666), 256Megs PC2100, 2x 40gig WD7200, Soundblaster Audigy Platinum, KDS VS 19" CRT, Klipsch ProMedia 5.1s, Creative 12x DVD, TDK 24x CDRW, 500Watt PSU, Win2kSP3.
Spectral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impressions: Forced Demo News Archived News Items 0 11-12-12 06:20 PM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 10:30 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
UT2003 Demo Benchmark info Gargr Gaming Central 28 09-21-02 07:48 PM
Conflict Desert Storm demo impressions cricket Gaming Central 7 09-18-02 09:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.