Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-02, 11:36 AM   #1
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default Anyone ever gotten an AthlonXP to work with their v1.0-1.2 KT7A?

I remember this big fiasco a while back about this, but some people were trying them anyway. Anyone gotten it to work? This 1Ghz is getting pretty slow and those 1600+'s are going for under 60 Bucks!
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 12:35 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I don't know of anyone who has gotten it to work but your best way to check may be to check out the forums at www.amdmb.com

Why not spend another $50 and pick up an ECS K7S5A board? It will work with your single data rate memory and the AthlonXP.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 12:38 PM   #3
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

I've got problems with ECS's boards... I've never owned one, but the horror stories have gotten to me... I also want something that can overclock. If memory serves, ECS was quite the opposite. If I can get a AthlonXP to work with my KT7A, I've already got the O/C options available. The ECS would have to have multiplier adjustments, if it did I would concider it.

Last edited by Switch; 09-10-02 at 01:25 PM.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 01:24 AM   #4
Renzo
The Terminator
 
Renzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Funland
Posts: 181
Default

My friend bought an Axp1900+ for KT7A RAID v1.0. He has had no problems so far. The bios is the latest from http://fae.abit.com.tw .
__________________
Desire is irrelevant, I am a machine
Renzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 10:40 AM   #5
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Renzo
My friend bought an Axp1900+ for KT7A RAID v1.0. He has had no problems so far. The bios is the latest from http://fae.abit.com.tw .
Yup, well the 1600+ from newegg for 53.99 was too much for me (I got this 900 Tbird for $160!!! ). I got one last night. I love their add a year to the warranty for only 5 bucks... I didn't know they had that.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.