Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-11, 08:19 PM   #1
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

I am getting stuttering within 2 mp games with this modem. Anyone can help out? Maybe some network utility that i can show to tech support? bandwidth is fine and always works well. I also couldn't find any firmware updates.

Thanks very much.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 12:04 AM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

You're probably experiencing an ID 10T error.

Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 01:02 AM   #3
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
You're probably experiencing an ID 10T error.

Why even reply?

Bob - Open up the cmd prompt and type "ping -t google.com"

Let that run and see if you get random ping spikes. Try to keep your bandwidth usage to a min while doing so.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 01:45 AM   #4
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Thanks roadhog. This is what i got for google. i think the pings are generally ok except there are some random 50s and 60s in there, but maybe this is normal.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/pingbr.jpg/

what i need to do is do the same but to to the server when i am experiencing lag. interesting this is that it becomes much much smoother when i cap my fps at 60, but even then sometimes i get stuttering, but much less. BC2 seems to stutter less, but it is still there.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 02:27 AM   #5
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
Why even reply?

Bob - Open up the cmd prompt and type "ping -t google.com"

Let that run and see if you get random ping spikes. Try to keep your bandwidth usage to a min while doing so.
Get over yourself, princess. If that is all it takes to offend Bob then maybe he shouldn't be exposed to the general public.

If it makes you feel better I'll contribute something appropriate to this topic- Bob, as this is relating to networking you posted this in the wrong forum.

Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 12:18 PM   #6
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
Thanks roadhog. This is what i got for google. i think the pings are generally ok except there are some random 50s and 60s in there, but maybe this is normal.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/14/pingbr.jpg/

what i need to do is do the same but to to the server when i am experiencing lag. interesting this is that it becomes much much smoother when i cap my fps at 60, but even then sometimes i get stuttering, but much less. BC2 seems to stutter less, but it is still there.
Try to do the same to your router IP. Should be 192.168.X.X. Just do ipconfig in the cmd prompt. It will be your default gateway. Ping it for a while and see if you get the same spikes you did with google.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 02:56 PM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
Try to do the same to your router IP. Should be 192.168.X.X. Just do ipconfig in the cmd prompt. It will be your default gateway. Ping it for a while and see if you get the same spikes you did with google.
in that case it was all <1ms time. i tried google again and there were some 70ms times in there.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-11, 03:00 PM   #8
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
in that case it was all <1ms time. i tried google again and there were some 70ms times in there.
So if they were all <1ms you can rule out your internal network causing your lag.

The recent patch did introduce a huge memory leak into the game, so who knows if that has anything to do with it.

Have you monitored your FPS while playing?
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-26-11, 04:05 PM   #9
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Issue with Cisco DPC 3825

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
So if they were all <1ms you can rule out your internal network causing your lag.

The recent patch did introduce a huge memory leak into the game, so who knows if that has anything to do with it.

Have you monitored your FPS while playing?
yes, and actually even when it stutters the fps is shown to be fine. i think it MAY be related to the patch because i dont remember it always being the case.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.