Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-02, 06:11 PM   #1
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions

I got sick of waiting around for NV30. I recently purchased a 1.6a P4, and clocked it up to 2.3 ghz, and my Geforce 3 wasn't giving me all the performance I wanted. (And that wasn't a surprise; a 1 1/2 year old card just doesn't cut it on new CPUs). I had planned on waiting for NV30 to see what kind of performance that offered compared to the 9700, but I just couldn't wait anymore. As soon as the 9700 OEM card was 335 at Newegg.com (and with no shipping), I placed my order.

It came in the early afternoon yesterday, around 1:00 PM. I uninstalled my Geforce 3 drivers using the add/remove progams, shut down, took out the old card, put in the Radeon (hooking up its power supply) and installed the leaked 6159 drivers from driver heaven. I heard it fixed a few of the problems the CD drivers had, so I didn't even bother with those.

Once the drivers and control panel were installed, I restarted, and everything appeared to work fine. However, I encountered one problem right away: My usual 1280x960 resolution ran in 60 hz. Even if I set it under "monitor settings" to 85 hz, it only runs at 60. Every other resolution is fine, but it still bugs me; 1280x1024 has a stretched look to it, and 1024 is too big. I've been using 1152x864 for now.

The first thing I tried was Quake 3. I don't think there is even a point to referring back to my Geforce 3 results because the 9700 demolishes it. I ran demo four at 1280x1024, max settings, and got 208 fps. At 1600, I got 170 fps.

I decided to check out it's anisotropic performance on Quake 3, and turned it up to 16x "quality" mode. At 1280x1024, I got 190 fps, only a 18 fps hit. I was taken back by that. I then turned on 4x antialiasing and got 134 fps in the same resolution with max anisotropic. Most impressive.

3dmark I got 13,000, but that is neglible. I'm sick of hearing about 3dmark results, and with all the optimizations that have seemingly been made to it (Detonator 40), the usefullness of it has decreased. Nevertheless, I got about 100 fps in the nature test, and 135 in the high detail dragon test. Since a few might be interested, here's the link: http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4435247

I've tried many games with it so far.

Medal of Honor: Allied Assualt (most dissapointing speed increase; snowy park runs about 45-55 fps with no aniso/aa at 1280...still runs much better than Geforce 3 and looks nicer)
Need For Speed: Porsche Unleashed-- 1280x1024, 4x AA, 16x aniso, constant 60 fps
Mafia--CPU limited, still runs poor, but I can use aniso now.
Unreal Tournament--CPU limited, but can crank details
No One Lives Forever 2 demo--runs very, very well
Madden 2003 demo--runs great
IL Sturv.--perfect

Battlefield 1942 -- I know there has been a lot of complaints about this on the 9700 at Rage3d, but with shadows and lightmaps off, it never crashes. (I didn't even bother trying it with lightmaps and shadows on). Runs at 100 fps constant with 4x anisoptropic on @ 1600x1200.
Asheron's Call 2--Wow, it actually runs. My Geforce 3 had control lag and bad framerates. Looks and runs amazingly well, even with aniso on.

Dungeon Siege--In the benchmark, I got 74 fps @ 1280x1024. My Geforce 3 got 51 fps.

Counterstrike--I run it at 1152x864, 6x AA, 16x aniso, and benchmarked it on de_dust, getting 135 fps. (I can't enable vsync though, hopefully that will be fixed).

NHL 2003 demo -- this is the only game that would not run.

Medieval Total War ran much faster, at least double the speed, of my Geforce 3.

That's about everything I've tried so far. It's come to the point where I play everything with at least 4x anisoptropic on, and some form of antialiasing as well. I've had zero problems, aside from the 60 hz glitch@1280x960, and it was well worth the 335 dollars.

Things I would fix? Get vsync working in Half-Life. The drivers have no option for v-sync to be "always on". Get 1280x960 working properly. Other than that, everything is great.

If anyone would like to see some screenshots, just point me in the direction of some good image hosting sites.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 06:30 PM   #2
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Thumbs up

To fix Refresh problem its easy use Refreshlock

HERE
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 06:49 PM   #3
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DVS
To fix Refresh problem its easy use Refreshlock

HERE
I already am using refresh lock. All the refresh rates seem to be fine, just the 1280x960, which I think previous Radeon's have had problems with in the past.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 08:11 PM   #4
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

I hope you didn't get stuck with one that doesn't work in agp 8x boards, if you upgrade to a new mobo down the line you could run into some big problems:

http://www.overclockers.com/tips00109/
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...0&pagenumber=1
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 10:08 PM   #5
Bigus Dickus
GF7 FX Ti 12800 SE Ultra
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 651
Default

Try this patch for BF 1942.

The ATI driver developers seem to be very serious about putting to rest the bad rap, as evidenced by their open acknowledgement and quick fixes for most of the early quirks and bugs.
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-02, 11:30 PM   #6
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
I'll host some nin, just no psycho amount...
matthyahuw@nvnews.com
I'll probably have them to you by tomorrow night. Hopefully UT2003 demo comes out and I can get some shots of those. (Like that will happen )
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 07:30 AM   #7
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

if you have any further issues on the R9700, I recommend you check out www.Rage3d.com they are dedicated to ATI users there.

I'm glad to hear the R9700 is working out for you And $335 isnt a bad price, especially from Newegg!

Unfortunetly I've heard of a few people that are having lots of issues. Mostly power supply related. Boy that card must pack a punch or something... LOL. If you have ANY weird results, don't hesitate to go out and buy the nicest and biggest PSU you can afford.

And ya, don't let 3dmark bother you too much, actually the results can get screwed up really easily by messing with your FSB. I've seen 1.1ghz Tbirds with 150fsb come close to 3dmarks of AthlonXP machines simply because of the higher FSB fouling things up. 3dmark is far from perfect
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 10:00 AM   #8
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

I also have a R9700. Nether my GF4 Ti4200 or my 8500 was fast enough to run with all the eye candy turned on.

OMG is all I have to say. Q3 x16 AF x4 AA, 16x12x32 all settings maxxed 151 fps on my 2100 xp.

SS:SE running the extreme quality script same settins (16x12x32 w/ x16 AF and 4 AA in driver pannel) yeild me FPS 76.1 in the Citidel demo.

Playing SOF2 mulitplayer is a new experince as 1280x1024 again all setting maks never dips below 80 fps. RtCW is the about the same as well as JK2 (go figure all Q3 based games).

I can finally play Tribes2

AVP2: no more flashing metal texutres. I played on line at 16x12x32 x4aa x16 AF and found it very fluid. Still does not let me out run them aliens

C&C:Renagade looks very nice in 1280x1024 x4 x16 fill iq. Turing up to 16x12 is ok, just hard to read all the text and I need text as I am a newbie in that game

CS: AF/AA max res? Pice of cake. however its using MSAA so railing/grates still not being AA-ed.

UT max settings at only 75 fps wiht high-res textures.

AA: here run at 1280x1024 max everything else. once again still need to ready everything as I am still new there...so going to 16x12 makes text too small to read. so I need better glasses

Only issues I have now is that all games that use OGL and when FSAA is on, it will corrupt screen shots. And in tribes2, the menus are all wacked with AA on.

No other issues. My price $338 at ENPC.
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-11-02, 01:18 PM   #9
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jbirney

AVP2: no more flashing metal texutres. I played on line at 16x12x32 x4aa x16 AF and found it very fluid. Still does not let me out run them aliens

UT max settings at only 75 fps wiht high-res textures.
AVP no problems with my former R8500, or my current TI4400 so I'm not sure what this flashing metal texture bug people talk about?

UT - I always got above 100fps with both R8500 and TI4400 with all high textures. Try both Direct3d and the latest OPENGL renderer to see which works better for you, 75 seems a little low to me.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 02:13 PM   #10
jbirney
Registered User
 
jbirney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,430
Default

Quote:
AVP no problems with my former R8500, or my current TI4400 so I'm not sure what this flashing metal texture bug people talk about?

UT - I always got above 100fps with both R8500 and TI4400 with all high textures. Try both Direct3d and the latest OPENGL renderer to see which works better for you, 75 seems a little low to me.

For the longest time I never saw this flashing texture thing. Untill one of the later sets of 8500 drivers. There is a work around that was posted in the rage3d forums (but can not remember). It was a rather irritating bug as the flashing changed as your POV changed.


For UT thats at 16x12x32 w/ x4FSAA and x16 AF on a large map
jbirney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 02:21 PM   #11
Megatron
Powered by 6800GT
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 239
Default Re: Former Nvidia user: 9700 impressions

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14
NHL 2003 demo -- this is the only game that would not run.
Same here man. This is the only demo I have downloaded that just will not work. The madden demo is perfect, kinda wierd since theyre both EA games.
Im sure it will be fixed.

Another demo you may like that has serious eye candy, and flys on the 9700 is Imperium Galactica 3.
Try this one out, the starships look so good, and the lighting effects are incredible.

Glad youre happy with that card man, I am as well. I didnt get the sweet price you got, I got retail from ATI for full price...but oh well.
__________________
Athlon64 3200+
1Gb PC3200
BFG 6800GT
Windows XP
Megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 07:41 PM   #12
Clevor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 220
Default

I have a Radeon 9700 Pro due in from Newegg.

I am using a Ti 4600 now and it is fast enough for most all the games at 1600x1200 - if you don't use aniso or FSAA. And that's the problem. I used to use aniso a lot with my Ti 500 but forget it with the Ti 4600. It's a broke subject and Nvidia sat on their ass since there was no competition until the next ATI card came out.

And I agree on 3DMark2001. There is so much cheating going on that you can't take scores seriously anymore. To me a valid score is running the bench under the same conditions you play your 3D games (no FSAA or aniso though): mipmap set to the default of best image quality, everything else in the Detonators set to default, and run it on a 1280x1024x32 desktop at 85 mhz with all your TSRs running in the background. Do you all go through the trouble of shutting everything down (including removing your desktop icons) whenever you play your 3D games?

If you run the usual cheats to all this you can get 300-400 more points, and I hear with the LOD cheat, you can get even more.

Anytime I see someone claiming a 14K+ score on an overclocked Ti 4600 with anything less than 3.1 gig and 180+ fsb, they be a cheat 'in. I know, as I got 3 rigs at 2.9 gigs or thereabouts, up to 177 fsb, and 3300-3800 bandwidth. The best I can do is around 13.5K under the conditions stated above.
Clevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Puts Tesla K20 GPU Coprocessor Through its Paces News Archived News Items 0 09-20-12 11:00 AM
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 11:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 06:10 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 08:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.