Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-03, 06:28 PM   #25
deejaya
Monster 3d
 
deejaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Been waiting for this for a long time and I'm so glad I wasn't disappointed. Seriously hope there is an mp demo in the works cos it's too long to wait for the full game when it's this good.
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by vampireuk
bah pingu, that piece of clay has nothing on the walking talking death machine that is flibble

Folding for team nV News
deejaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-03, 06:46 PM   #26
Hunter32
Computer Junkie
 
Hunter32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 103
Default

I liked it so much the first time.
I had to play it again.
Hunter32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-03, 08:42 PM   #27
IGx89
Registered User
 
IGx89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 34
Send a message via MSN to IGx89
Default

I loved it; the gameplay is perfect, and really gets one into the game!
I have a XP2000+, Ti 4400 128mb, and 512mb ram, but it was accessing the hard drive a whole lot and was very jerky when I turned the world detail to high (probably meaning it ran out of videocard memory). But, if I turned world detail to medium (still outstanding) and had everything else maxed out (32bit, trilinear, EAX3, 1024x768, etc...) it ran very smoothly. The readme does say to only use the high world detail option on 256mb+ cards, but I find it surprising that a GF3 or GF4 would run at high, with everything else maxed out too. Oh well, I'll just have to wait until I get my AMD64/NV45 PCI Express computer until I use the high option
IGx89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 02:37 AM   #28
Yelapaboy
Bitboys Fanboi
 
Yelapaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Whoa, so good. I guess the Q3 engine has a lot of life in it, sure looked nice on my 9700Pro and it is great to hear that GF3 and 4's can run it at max detail. The action is simply fantastic, I can't wait for the full game, the demo is way too short.
Yelapaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 06:05 AM   #29
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

IGx89, I had everything on max too, and never noticed any harddrive access.. I have 128MB VRAM, and 512MB sys ram, the only difference to you is I only have EAX1 not 3.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 09:40 AM   #30
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default

Amazing game! Will definitely buy this game. Cant wait for a multi demo. If their even gonna release one.
__________________
Pentium 4 2.4ghz @ 3.6ghz
ABIT IC7
Maxtor 200gb IDE
2GB OCZ PC3200 EL platinum.
ATI X800XL
SB Audigy gamer
NEC 2500a 8x8x32
Liteon 52x24x52
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 10:54 AM   #31
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
IGx89, I had everything on max too, and never noticed any harddrive access.. I have 128MB VRAM, and 512MB sys ram, the only difference to you is I only have EAX1 not 3.
You can't run everything on max with a graphics card with 128 MB of Graphics Card RAM... It requires 256 MB to operate with Textures on High (Although I can run Character textures on High, but the other one on Normal).
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 11:08 AM   #32
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by surfhurleydude
You can't run everything on max with a graphics card with 128 MB of Graphics Card RAM... It requires 256 MB to operate with Textures on High (Although I can run Character textures on High, but the other one on Normal).
Um, well I've gone through the options several times, and cant find anything else to go higher. I'm only using 1024x768, so perhaps you ppl are using higher resolutions, and thus using more vram up.

Still runs perfectly here, after my 10th play so far.. (I cant help it, I love it.)
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-03, 11:13 AM   #33
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Ok, I'm totally hooked/psyched on this game!

It's the first game I can ever recall that I'm really looking forward to a game coming out so I can try the multi-player.

Fantastic game, and it runs with everything maxxed to the nuggers on Bubbles at stock speeds. (It's been hot, I've clocked back a bit 'til bloody fall gets here. )
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 12:02 PM   #34
surfhurleydude
Radeon 9900 Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nutty
Um, well I've gone through the options several times, and cant find anything else to go higher. I'm only using 1024x768, so perhaps you ppl are using higher resolutions, and thus using more vram up.

Still runs perfectly here, after my 10th play so far.. (I cant help it, I love it.)
I'm using 1024x768...

From the readme


4. Recommended Video Cards For General Textures Setting:



Video cards with 32MB of video RAM should only use the Low General Textures setting

Video cards with 64MB or 128 MB of video RAM are able to use the Medium General Textures setting.

Video cards with 256MB of video RAM are able to use the High General Textures setting.


Mine crashes instantly when I try to go into the game with High General Textures enabled... But then again, I have AA and Aniso on, so perhaps the AA eats up Memory... And if you ain't usin AA or Aniso, then you simply don't have max settings on
surfhurleydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 12:06 PM   #35
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

I have all the settings in game on max is what I meant. Runs fine with world detail on high. Recomendations in a readme aren't physical limits.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-03, 12:10 PM   #36
c4c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by surfhurleydude
You can't run everything on max with a graphics card with 128 MB of Graphics Card RAM... It requires 256 MB to operate with Textures on High (Although I can run Character textures on High, but the other one on Normal).
I played it with textures on Extra+High on a Ti4200 w/64MB RAM. It swapped twice during gameplay, so I would think 128 would be more than adequate. Tho I have no intention of turning the textures down on my card
c4c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Treyarch says Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Doesn't Need a New Engine to Advance Graphics News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 07:00 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.